Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

gluten-free Cottage Cheese
0

19 posts in this topic

:D

Hi I would like to know what other gluten-free cottage cheeses are there besides Friendship?

PLMK! Thanks Terry N dumont NJ

Celiac for 10 years

diabetic 10years

IGA def

Interstisal cystitis

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I don't think you have to worry about cottage cheese containing gluten. With cheeses I think the only gluten worry is with soft cheese spreads and the stuff in aerosol cans and blue cheese, the latter often being cultured on a wheat substrate. Most hard cheeses are safe.

Steve

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't know of a cottage cheese that isn't gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So you don't see any problems when the cottage cheeses have mixed fruits in them either?? :unsure:

Thanks Terry

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You really need to call the company on this one. Most are gluten-free but not all, but when you get to the issue of the added fruit items you are getting into a higher risk. Your best, most nutritious and safest way to have added fruit is to add your own fresh fruit or gluten-free jam.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I can see where the concern comes from. Many reduced fat products have "something" added to compensate for texture and/or taste. Breakstone brand cottage cheese lists "modified food starch". They are a Kraft brand and the Kraft policy is to label the source of the food starch if it contains gluten. That puts this brand in a low risk category from my perspective but you have to decide how much risk to accept.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm sorry that this is an old thread but didn't want to start a new one...Organic Valley's cottage cheese contains gluten according to their website and so does their grated parmesan cheese of which I've bought 3 containers and used, aaargh! I don't know what I was thinking, I know to check every brand and every thing. I just thought it was the lactose thing. Just a reminder to all to be careful out there, it's like being in a land mine field.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you can get it, you can't go wrong with Daisy brand. I don't buy any of the cheaper or off brand ones like Walmart that have ingredients I can't pronounce. I CAN pronounce "Cultured Grade A Milk". It doesn't keep quite as well, but then again, it doesn't have all that extra crap in it. And the sour cream is divine, too!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been using Lactaid lowfat cottage cheese. I figured if I could drink the milk, then the cottage cheese is a safe bet.....Haven't had any problems...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So far, the only cottage cheese I have found without all the weird food starches, soy lecthin, etc would be daisy or friendship. I wish I could find an organic one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm sorry that this is an old thread but didn't want to start a new one...Organic Valley's cottage cheese contains gluten according to their website and so does their grated parmesan cheese of which I've bought 3 containers and used, aaargh! I don't know what I was thinking, I know to check every brand and every thing. I just thought it was the lactose thing. Just a reminder to all to be careful out there, it's like being in a land mine field.

http://www.organicvalley.coop/products/glu...products/#c5137

I sure would like to know what form of gluten is in their cottage cheese. :huh: Can't figure out where wheat, barley or rye would play a role here.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
http://www.organicvalley.coop/products/glu...products/#c5137

I sure would like to know what form of gluten is in their cottage cheese. :huh: Can't figure out where wheat, barley or rye would play a role here.

My best guess would be as a thickener or binder in the cottage cheese and with the shredded they may coat the shreds to keep them from sticking together. Many companies now use potato starch for that now but some may still use gluten flours.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only Cottage cheese's that are gluten free that I know of (that you can buy in a regular grocery store) are Friendship, and Daisy. (same with their sour cream). To answer the question about Cottage Cheese with added fruits, I too was concerned. I normally buy the Friendship Cottage Cheese for a certain recipe. However recently while shopping in a hurry, I accidentally grabbed the one with added pineapple. Reading the ingrediants, modified food starch is one of the ingredients, which is one of the questoinable ingredients that a Celiac should not eat unless the source can be confirmed. In this case, I called the company. My 20 month old daughter has celiacs (and was deathly ill until we found the diagnosis, a nobody else in the family has been diagnosed)and so I had to make sure it was ok. According to the company, ALL Friendship products are gluten free. In this case, the modified food starch is derived from corn. All of their products are also made in a gluten free facility. So this particular cottage cheese with fruit is ok. However MOST Cottage Cheese's are unsafe. These are the only 2 brands I stick with that aren't going to break my budget and I can find at Publix. You pick up a different brand like Breakstone's (the kind I used to get before the diagnosis) or even the Walmart brand like I think someone mentioned, and the ingredient list is 5 times as long. Also, the Walmart brand will even list wheat in the allergen section. Unfortunately not all manufacturers do this. They list questionable ingredients and won't label whether or not it is a gluten free product, making the consumer do the research as to where the ingredients were derived from. Anyway, hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only Cottage cheese's that are gluten free that I know of (that you can buy in a regular grocery store) are Friendship, and Daisy. (same with their sour cream). To answer the question about Cottage Cheese with added fruits, I too was concerned. I normally buy the Friendship Cottage Cheese for a certain recipe. However recently while shopping in a hurry, I accidentally grabbed the one with added pineapple. Reading the ingrediants, modified food starch is one of the ingredients, which is one of the questoinable ingredients that a Celiac should not eat unless the source can be confirmed. In this case, I called the company. My 20 month old daughter has celiacs (and was deathly ill until we found the diagnosis, a nobody else in the family has been diagnosed)and so I had to make sure it was ok. According to the company, ALL Friendship products are gluten free. In this case, the modified food starch is derived from corn. All of their products are also made in a gluten free facility. So this particular cottage cheese with fruit is ok. However MOST Cottage Cheese's are unsafe. These are the only 2 brands I stick with that aren't going to break my budget and I can find at Publix. You pick up a different brand like Breakstone's (the kind I used to get before the diagnosis) or even the Walmart brand like I think someone mentioned, and the ingredient list is 5 times as long. Also, the Walmart brand will even list wheat in the allergen section. Unfortunately not all manufacturers do this. They list questionable ingredients and won't label whether or not it is a gluten free product, making the consumer do the research as to where the ingredients were derived from. Anyway, hope this helps.

This was quite an old thread.

In the US modified food starch that is derived from wheat must say it is from wheat. Most are corn or tapioca derived. If it doesn't say 'modified food starch (wheat)' it is safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Old thread but our I emailed are local dairies and their cottage cheese are gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.zeer.com/Food-Products/Breakstones-Lowfat-Small-Curd-Cottage-Cheese/402880812164570101216467b3a74fec

Breakstone Cottage Cheese is owned by Kraft. Kraft's labeling policy is to disclose ALL forms of gluten to include wheat, rye, barley. If you don't see it on the label, it ain't in there. :)

I don't know of any common cottage cheese that contains gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US modified food starch that is derived from wheat must say it is from wheat. Most are corn or tapioca derived. If it doesn't say 'modified food starch (wheat)' it is safe.

I know this is an old thread, but I wanted to correct this based on my understanding.

For FDA regulated products, what you said is correct that "modified food starch" made from wheat must be labeled as such.

For USDA regulated products, "modified food starch" could be made from wheat.

Basically any product with more than 2% meat, poultry, or eggs is regulated by the USDA, not the FDA.

So for cottage cheese, "modified food starch" can contain gluten unless you contact the company and they say it is safe or the company has a policy of labeling wheat/gluten.

Here is an article with more information: http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/starch-in-usda-regulated-foods/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All that having been said, what Ravenwoodglass said was true then and remains true now. Modified food starch is almost always corn or tapioca. Although it theoretically could be wheat, I have never encountered such a case in North America in over eleven years on the gluten-free diet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was wondering why Organic Valley says that their cottage cheese isn't gluten-free even though there's no gluten ingredients listed. I found this on their website under the comments on their cottage cheese produce:

Question from consumer dated 4/16/10: "I am a celiac, trying to learn to discern gluten free or not on cottage cheese labels. I see your cottage cheese is listed in the NOT G.F. category. Can you tell me which of your ingredients puts it in the Non gluten free category, or does it have to do with cross contamination in your factory? How is one to know?"

Company's answer: "Cottage Cheese is not on the gluten free list due to the fact that we use a particular barley source as a fermentation nutrient in one of our cultures. During the manufacturing process, the culture is "used up" to form the curds and provide the lactic acid fermentation of the milk. It's quite possible that the OV cottage cheese you purchase is free from gluten, but we cannot guarantee that will be true 100% of the time. Thank you!"

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,666
    • Total Posts
      921,664
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • She (your PCP)  can order a celiac blood panel.  It might not be a complete panel, but it's a start.  Any medical doctor can order one.  A GI is needed for the endoscopy (ulcers, Celiac disease, h.pylori, etc.), HIDA scan (gallbladder)  or colonoscopy (IBS).   Since you just saw her, email/call/write a letter and ask her to order (lab) the celiac panel.  You could go to the lab before or after work.  Pretty easy!  
    • I just now saw the second reply and I see what you mean. Again, the issue is that I may have to go with the gluten until close to the end of the year.

      However, an idea did just come to mind, and that is, can my primary care doctor do such a test? I had normal blood work done, but they didn't really say anything about testing for celiacs. I can get an appointment with my primary care doctor much sooner than a GI.

      When I was talking to my PCP last, I asked her what I should expect as far as testing goes or what she may have been concerned about. Her reply was about a HIDA scan for the gallbladder but also any test needed in case of IBS or Celiacs. Just the way she threw that in there like an after thought and left me hanging kinda had me worried.
    • I am not a doctor that's for sure.  So, I can't even answer your questions.  If you know you have pre-diabetes, you probably are working with a doctor.  Can you email them and ask for a celiac blood panel?   You can work on the weight loss and diabetes -- that you can handle yourself now and take action.  I have diabetes and my glucose readings are fairly normal now without medication and I'm thin.  Being overweight does not cause diabetes.  It's either autoimmune (type 1) or you become insulin resistant (type 2).  You can cut out all sugar and  processed stuff ASAP to help take action and start walking 10,000 steps (helps with the insulin resistance).    But the prediabetes is not going to kill you in the next year.  Whatever's in your gut is more likely going to get you much sooner.  But heck, I'm not a doctor and I don't even know you!    
    • Hi Steph, Yes, celiac disease can cause a myriad of symptoms and damage to the body,  Have you completed all celiac disease testing?  Usually they do the blood antibodies test first and then do an endoscopy.   You shouldn't go gluten-free until all testing is completed. Gluten is in many processed foods.  But if you stick with whole foods it is not hard to avoid gluten.  Getting used to eating gluten-free may take some time, as we need to adjust our preferences in diet.  But there are many foods that are naturally gluten-free.  Gluten is the protein found in wheat, rye and barley.  Some celiac disease organizations recommend avoiding oats also for the first 18 months of the gluten-free diet. Celiac disease impairs the ability of the body to absorb nutrients (including vitamins).  That can make it hard for the body to maintain itself and heal/repair damage.  So celiac can easily impact any part of the body. Sardines, tuna, mackeral and salmon have good amounts of vitamin D in them.  There are supplements available also, but not all are good.  You can check them at the labdoor website.  Nature Made is a good one and not expensive.  Internal damage from celiac can cause liver issues.  Those will probably clear up after being on the gluten-free diet a while. Recovery from celiac can take  months, and can be a rocky road.  The more you stick with whole foods and avoid cross-contamination issues the sooner you will heal IMHO. You may find that dairy causes problems for your digestion at first.  But it make stop being a problem after you have healed up some. welcome to the forum!
    • Will this be dangerous considering how long I have to wait for any testing? I may not even get a blood test in November but here is hoping. I just worry having to wait so long will cause serious issues, not to mention delay of weight loss which I need for the pre-diabetes. Do ulcers have a chance to cause yellow stools though? I suppose a stool test will be needed for that for any signs of blood in stools but visually it does not seem so. The biggest issue is not knowing what else could be causing the yellow stools as this would not be a diabetic or ulcer thing. And without negative signs on the gallbladder or liver, it is narrowing down the list.

      At the very least this is making me assume I can wait on a final scan of gallbladder and attempt blood tests and endoscopy if they recommend it.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,663
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Steph0903
    Joined