Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Vh Soy Sauce
0

10 posts in this topic

I haven't used soy sauce in years on my gluten-free diet, but I had heard that there was one out there that is gluten free. Well I've finally found it. VH products are ALL gluten free. I am in Canada so I don't know if it is available in the US. When I called the manufacturer he was well informed and quite aware of Celiac Disease and gluten-free diets. I can now cook with soy sauce which opens up a new realm of gluten-free recipes that I couldn't use before. Thank you VH!...Tagger

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

They told me they were all gluten-free also but in the store I saw one with malt in it. I think it was the teriaki glaze. Maybe it was old stock. I've been meaning to call again and ask.

Tracy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Royal Blue,

Thanks for the heads up!

Tagger

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have never seen that brand here where I am, but it's a pretty small city. However, i have come across a few other gluten-free brands of soy sauce San-J makes a really good tamari soy sauce, and a low sodium variety too, which is great for those of us with a high blood pressure. My husband is Asian and he loves it, says it tastes just like the regualr stuff. Also laChoy is gluten-free, but not my favorite. Finally Braggs Amino Acid is also a popular soy sauce substitute.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kejohe - Kathleen

Question - Is caramel color gluten-free? I've tried the San J soy sauce, but my daughter thinks it's too strong. LaChoy might be better, but I didn't know it was gluten-free. Have you found any gluten-free chinese style noodles. She used to love Chinese food.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




lauriel234,

Sometimes caramel color comes from barley, and is not gluten-free, but other times it comes from sugar. I never have used the LaChoy brand, because I didn't like it as well as the San-J, but a dietatician swore to me that it was gluten-free, and I know a celic gal who uses it all the time without problems. Have you ever tried the San-J low-sodium kind, it's a lot less intense in flavor, or you could add water to it to dilute it a little. I use it to make my own teryaki sauce for chicken and fish and it works really well.

Also, I have found lots of great gluten-free Chinese style noodles, usually only at Asian markets though. Sometimes they will be called "fun noodles", or just rice sticks. But I recently found some really great elbow and spiral type noodles at the Chinese market that are made with rice. I can't really read anything on the package except the ingredients, but they taste like the real thing. You should check out some of the Asian markets in your area, they have tons of gluten-free stuff and they have the best rice flour too.

Hope this helps, let me know if you have any other questions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure, maybe someone can tell me. I used to love going for Dim Sum. I seem to remember that the "wraps" (for lack of a better word!) are made from rice. Does anyone know? That would be fantastic if only we could take our "transportable" soy sauce we'd be all set! One thing I really miss is Lo Mein!

I used to travel to Hong Kong and China a lot on business. No fun reading ingredients there. Fortunately that was before I went gluten-free. I haven't travelled much since I've been gluten-free. If I do I'll have to go to the travel board!

Tagger

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LaChoy is gluten free, I use it all the time. Also caramel color if made in the US is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tagger,

I have never eaten dim sum before, so I don't really know what I'm talking about here, but I do know that SOME Asian foods use rice wrappers. Not all, of course, and I wouldn't be surprised to learn that some restaurants substitute wheat wrappers anyway because they are cheaper and easier to find. Also, even if you find that some wrappers ARE made of rice, if the food is deep-fried it may still be contaminated by wheat from other foods. I guess the bottom line is that you'll need to ask lots of questions (which gets really interesting with the language barrier...). I hope you find that you can still enjoy dim sum!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are several types of dim sum that use rice or tapioca flour to make their wrappers. But there are also a lot that use regular flour. The best example I can give you is sui mai (everyone spells it differently) but its traditionally made with a rice flour wrap and filled with a seasoned pork and shrimp mixture. But won ton, is always made with a wheat flour wrap. I have actually been working on a a rice and tapioca wrap that I can use for won ton since my family is half Asian and love them, but so far I'm not real happy with it.

It's actually pretty easy to tell when the wrappers are made with rice, because they turn nearly transparent and have a gummy look/feel to them, where as the wheat remains opaque and tears easily. But I would still caution you against cross contamination, at least with the fried products. The steamed stuff is more than likely okay, because most places (even the hole in the wall types) use dedicated steamers to prevent flavor transfers.

My husband, being Chinese really misses the dim sum restaurants from his home town of San Francisco, but we stop in everytime we visit. I hope that you find one in your area that hase lots of choices made with rice wraps, that would be great for a little variety to our diets!

Hope this is helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,874
    • Total Posts
      919,413
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • gluten intolerance, dairy intolerance and fructose
      I'v posted on here b4... 6 yrs ago I was diagnosed as severely gluten intolerant. ( they were kinda shocked that test for celiac was negative) anyway my symptoms went away up until a few months ago. I went to the gi doctor and they said I can't have dairy or fructose.. * I found that out yesterday, I thought my tests for dairy was neg but guess it was pos. And I had no clue about the fructose*..    Anyway is it possible to have all these I tolerances? It's not making since to me.... also if you experience same thing what can I eat!! All I had today was grilled chicken and rice because it was on my lost from gi doctor... I'm a college student so I need easy quick stuff as easy as I can have it now I guess.. also is almond milk ok to have and coconut milk? I'm very confused on the fructose part.. dairy I'v been of for 6 weeks.... my doctor sent a referl over to a diatrition doctor but I want stuff to get me by until I get in. I don't even know what to look for all the research I'v done is just confusing me even more since different websites say different things..... thank you in advance.. I'm trying to gain weight I was gaining the first few yrs of being gluten free but I went back word and stuff went down hill again... 
    • Toblerone
      I don't eat chocolate often, but I have never had a gluten reaction to Toblerone. I trust it to be gluten-free.
    • So I've been glutened....
      I am so sorry for how your feeling.  I can sympathize; over time I notice I couldn't have any type of gluten free products.  I read that since you don't have villi in your small intestines you have no defenses, meaning even the tiniest bit of exposure causes a flare up.  I even have to be careful when I purchase products by reading the labels to ensure it says manufactured by a nut, soy, milk and wheat free facility.  Be very careful, unfortunately
    • Symptoms despite strict gluten-free -- new here
      I have been reading a lot about leak gut syndrome which is new to the medical community in the sense that they don't know how to manage it.  If (you are female) make sure to do a yearly pap and uterine check to ensure there is no issues there.  If you are not a female then definitely confirm with an endoscopy if your small intestines are still damaged.  I am looking into doing the leaky gut diet to see if it will help, the book I am reading is "Eat Dirt" by Dr Josh Axe.  Especially since I notice anytime I am exposed to gluten by accident my symptoms are worse each and every time.  I know get severe back and rib cage pain, with bloating, gurgling and diarrhea with severe nausea.  I am willing to try anything and I am now reading this book and applying the diet to see if I can heal my intestinal lining.
    • Help
      Ok so I had my colonoscopy & endoscopy last Thursday. Don't get results until July 13th as GI is on vacation. I've had bad pain in my lower left abdomen that wraps around to my lower back as well for the past 4 days..even hurts to touch lightly. Went back to the ER & they did an ultrasound & CT scan. The Doctor said that I have "prominent" lymph nodes in the area that is painful as well as thickening & inflammation of my Sigmond colon? Um ok what is that all about? Kind of freaking out over the whole swollen lymph nodes thing. Has anyone ever dealt with this before? 😒
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,909
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Fourpeople
    Joined