This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Law Enforcement?

rvagirl

rvagirl Rookie

Hey y'all, I'm new here and was just wondering if anyone here has a career in the field of law enforcement? I'm a full time college student and have wanted to be a police officer my entire life. I'm just worried that since I'm sick a lot because of Celiac, if any of y'all that are in the field would know if I should look for a different career path. I've talked to a few officers that are friends of mine or friends of my family, and I've received mixed reactions. I think the reason for this is that they don't experience these symptoms, so they're not sure exactly what goes on with it. So, if any of y'all could help me out with this, I'd GREATLY appreciate it! I'm double majoring in Criminal Justice and Psychology, just so I'll have a backup in case being an officer doesn't work out. Thanks again in advance!

-Emily

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Lisa Mentor

Hey Emily,

Welcome to the forum.

I don't see any reason why having Celiac would keep you from pursuing your career.

Once you have mastered the diet, I can see no limitations. Just find some gluten free donuts with your coffee when you are doing the 4-12.

Lisa Mentor

oops double post.

Guhlia Rising Star

We have a Celiac police officer in our town. I don't know him personally, but I do know that he's been on the force for quite some time.

Shotzy1313 Apprentice