Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is All Maple Syrup Gluten Free?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 akflboyd

akflboyd

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 October 2007 - 11:47 AM

I am very new to all this so please pardon my ignorance. Is maple syrup gluten free? I was at Wild Oatts and did not see a tag and the even the management could not answer that question. Also, is non alcoholic vanilla flavoring gluten free?

Thanks!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Ursa Major

Ursa Major

    My grandson Eli, 12 months

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts

Posted 26 October 2007 - 12:18 PM

Yes, all maple syrup (not the fake stuff) is gluten-free. I wouldn't buy vanilla flavouring, but rather, pure vanilla extract. Some flavourings have gluten in them.

But others might know more than me, as I never bothered to find out, as I am intolerant to vanilla either way (too high in salicylates).
  • 0
I am a German citizen, married to a Canadian 29 years, four daughters, one son, seven granddaughters and four grandsons, with one more grandchild on the way in July 2009.

Intolerant to all lectins (including gluten), nightshades (potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, eggplant) and salicylates.

Asperger Syndrome, Tourette Syndrome, Addison's disease (adrenal insufficiency), hypothyroidism, fatigue syndrome, asthma

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#3 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,938 posts

Posted 26 October 2007 - 12:58 PM

Pure maple syrup is gluten-free--it only has the one ingredient.

McCormicks Pure Vanilla Extract is gluten-free--McCormick will clearly list any gluten on the label. I use their extracts and spices.
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#4 Mango04

Mango04

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,618 posts

Posted 26 October 2007 - 03:20 PM

Like others have said, pure maple syrup is gluten-free. Processed fake maple syrup (the stuff found at conventional grocery stores that contains a bajillion ingredients) can sometimes contain gluten. If the stuff you found at Wild Oats is 100% pure maple syrup, it should be safe :)
  • 0
"Let food be thy medicine, and let thy medicine be food." - Hippocrates

#5 tiffjake

tiffjake

    Life is good....

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 800 posts

Posted 28 October 2007 - 05:54 PM

I found a great syrup at Walmart that is called Maple Grove and is gluten-free and sugar free. It even says "gluten-free" on the label!
  • 0
EnteroLab test positive for gluten intolerence and 2 gluten intolerence and celiac genes
DQ2 and DQ3 sub type DQ7 in December 2005
Gluten-free since Enterolab test, December 2, 2005.

Lame Advertisement Test positive for gluten intolerence in Sept 2005.
THEN found out that my fathers mother had nontropical sprue, she passed away at 40 from (stomach) cancer, had holes in her intestines when they caught it. I had no idea....

#6 Juliet

Juliet

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 336 posts

Posted 29 October 2007 - 10:17 AM

Most (not all) true vanilla extracts are gluten free, even if it's kept in grain alcohol since the distillation process for the alcohol removes the gluten. This is why people with Celiac Disease can still have scotch, whiskey, vodka, plain vinegar, etc. It's the beer and malt liquor (and malt vinegar), since they are not completely distilled, that you can't have.
  • 0

#7 Celiac 621554

Celiac 621554

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 January 2009 - 09:01 AM

I found a great syrup at Walmart that is called Maple Grove and is gluten-free and sugar free. It even says "gluten-free" on the label!


Really? I must have missed it...where does it say that on the bottle? I'd double check that.
  • 0

#8 Ginsou

Ginsou

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 345 posts

Posted 11 January 2009 - 12:15 PM

Yes, Maple Grove Farms pure maple syrup is now being sold at Walmart.....at least where I live. Previously, I could only find it at natural food stores. It's expensive, worth it, and the price at Walmart is a bit less. The label reads: All natural U.S. Grade A Dark Amber. No preservatives. Product of USA and Canada. I had some today on French Toast....yummy.

I've recently discovered agave nectar which I can purchase in bulk from my local natural food store.....when you are out of maple syrup, perhaps the agave would be a good substitute.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: