Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Beware Of Turkey Rolls
0

6 posts in this topic

I just attended a Thanksgiving Feast at the school where I teach. A corporation paid for the feast for our entire school and staff and all the teachers had to attend- the press was there and everything. The cafeteria lady was so good to me. My tray just had the turkey, corn and cranberries on it. The turkey was the processed roll sort of thing. I just got back from the grocery store where-- on a whim--I checked the ingredients of a turkey roll. Just as clear as can be..."Wheat Gluten" AAAAHHHH. Who would have thought it? Maybe they don't all have this in it, but here's the warning anyway!!! I learn something new every day.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Butterball is out too!!! It's weird to have to read the ingredients when buying a frozen bird...I always thought it was just...um dead bird :huh:

It was cool though, tonight my wife and I found a turkey that was labeled as "gluten free" the food manufacturers are finally catching on!!!!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
<_< turkeys have become so controversial in the forum---so pastor dave--what did you read on a turkey that shows wheat----an unstuffed turkey should only be injected with a saline solution and i know the butterballs i have seen and eaten were gluten-free--i am getting so confused about the turkeys :( i think i will have a baked potato with cheese and broccoli and forget the stupid bird :D i would rather have chicken anyways--deb :P
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BUTTERBALL IS gluten-free!!!! If you saw wheat in the ingredients look again, it's in the gravy packet, not the turkey. Butterball just recently confirmed that all their turkeys are gluten-free except the stuffed ones.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:D richard--i believe you--just joking--i have said all along that the turkeys are ok ;) i only eat the white meat, the dark always has bothered me--but, i do believe you :lol: deb
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




The butterball turkey says it is soaked in a solution that contains modified food starch, which I've been assuming is not gluten-free although I'm well aware that they all are not made from wheat. So why doesn't butterball list it as modified corn starch?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.