Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Hunts Tomato Sauce


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Twister2

Twister2

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts

Posted 24 November 2004 - 12:02 PM

Hey all! Anyone know if hunts tomato sauce is safe?? Hubby is making dinner and it happens to be the only tomato sauce I have in the house.



Happy Holidays!

Twister2
  • 0
Antibody positive, diagnosed October 2004.
Mother and two sisters with Celiacs also
Edmond, Oklahoma

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 24 November 2004 - 02:49 PM

Which variety? What are the ingredients?
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#3 msda

msda

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 December 2011 - 07:09 AM

I had the same problem. I called the number on the can and it insinuated it was gluten-free, but emailing to the company was more helpful. The pasta sauce is Not, the tomato sauce/ paste/ diced is with a couple exceptions. I will try to paste their responce;Since wheat is a major food allergen, if it is used in the product it would be listed in the contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities. If any ingredient in the product includes rye or barley, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. Oats do not contain gluten, but they frequently have been exposed to wheat or barley and are not recommended for celiac patients. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, rye or barley, these ingredients would be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient. Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. Most of the vinegar in our products is distilled and through the distilling process protein gluten is removed.

Products That Do Not Contain Gluten*
Category/Brand/Items
-Cocoa: Swiss Miss all varieties
-PAM Cooking Spray: all varieties
-Hebrew National: all items except Franks in a Blanket
-Wesson oils: all varieties
-Peter Pan Peanut Butter: all varieties
-Popcorn: Act II microwave, Orville Redenbacher jar and microwave excluding Crunch n Munch or Poppycock)
-Pudding: Swiss Miss & Snack Pack, excludes those containing Tapioca
-Spreads: Parkay, Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann's and Move Over Butter
-David Seeds: all varieties
-Tomato Sauces: Hunt's tomato paste and sauces excluding pasta sauces
-Tomatoes: Hunt's all varieties
-Ketchup: Hunt's all varieties
-Reddi-Wip: all varieties
-Egg Beaters: all varieties
*These items have been identified as not containing gluten. They are not currently routinely testing to affirm they contain less than 20ppm gluten for a ‘gluten free' claim.

1-877-CONAGRA (1-877-266-2472)
www.conagrafoods.com

As you can see they were happy to clarify why they do not put gluten-free on the label. Thanks Julie at Conagra.


Hope that helps you,
Marian
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: