Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Any Reactions To Caramel Color?
0

7 posts in this topic

Hey there!

Well, for TWO months I have not been feeling well. About two weeks or so ago I came on here to find that after being gluten free for awhile we can develop other intolerances :blink: So, I began paying close attention to what I ate and drank and my reactions to each.

So far I am certain that I can no longer tolerate dairy so I have eliminated it from my diet. I felt a little better this week but I have noticed that items with caramel coloring are bothering me.

I made a post here this summer asking if anyone was bothered by fountain cokes. I have known for awhile they were bothering me, as well as the can coke. BUT I just did not want to believe it. Now that I am intolerant of dairy I am noticing it more.

I have done some google research :P and found that milk derivatives can be found possibly in caramel coloring.

I bought a dairy free, gluten-free, soy free, corn free, nut free, oat free, etc. granola cereal and twice i have had a reaction to it. I read on the ingredient label this morning that it has caramel color in it.

Does anyone else have a reaction to caramel coloring? I'm not saying this is my problem. It's just a part of my journey to figure out what things are bothering me :rolleyes:

-Ali :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Anyone heard of this before?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Ali,

Yes, it is often that people discover that dairy is hard for them as well as gluten free. But, after you are healed for a while, it's possible to add dairy back in your diet without issues. (it's healing and villi issues).

I do not have a problem with caramel color but I do know that other here do. Perhaps it may be similar to dairy. I don't know about the caramel color/dairy connection. The longer you are healed the easier it is to consume these things that are giving you problems now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hey there!

Well, for TWO months I have not been feeling well. About two weeks or so ago I came on here to find that after being gluten free for awhile we can develop other intolerances :blink: So, I began paying close attention to what I ate and drank and my reactions to each.

So far I am certain that I can no longer tolerate dairy so I have eliminated it from my diet. I felt a little better this week but I have noticed that items with caramel coloring are bothering me.

I made a post here this summer asking if anyone was bothered by fountain cokes. I have known for awhile they were bothering me, as well as the can coke. BUT I just did not want to believe it. Now that I am intolerant of dairy I am noticing it more.

I have done some google research :P and found that milk derivatives can be found possibly in caramel coloring.

I bought a dairy free, gluten-free, soy free, corn free, nut free, oat free, etc. granola cereal and twice i have had a reaction to it. I read on the ingredient label this morning that it has caramel color in it.

Does anyone else have a reaction to caramel coloring? I'm not saying this is my problem. It's just a part of my journey to figure out what things are bothering me :rolleyes:

-Ali :)

Hi,

I went to the celiac lecture at Rush Hospital in Chicago this week and they said Carmel color made in the US is usuallly okay, but made outside the US can have gluten in it (example: vanilla). The same case is for citric acid.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi,

I went to the celiac lecture at Rush Hospital in Chicago this week and they said Carmel color made in the US is usuallly okay, but made outside the US can have gluten in it (example: vanilla). The same case is for citric acid.

I react to it. I know that coca cola products are gluten free. I knew there was a reason I always drank Coke!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Caramel? I have wondered in the past about it myself. There seems to be a few different types 150a, 150b, 150c and 150d and I presume they are all processed differently. I read everywhere that they are gluten free. But then I have read on some items of food in New Zealand that the 150c, (it was in ice-cream) is derived from wheat. I know I can tolerate 150d which coke has in it over here, and 150a, but I am a bit sceptical of 150c, and if it says from wheat, I will avoid it forever.

Cathy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am fine with the caramel coloring, although I don't drink that much coke and soda's. I do know there are others on this board that have some reactions to the coloring. I guess it varies person to person.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.