This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Iv Iron - Anyone Had To Get It?

Guest Cari5393

Guest Cari5393

I was just wondering if anyone out there knew anything about recieving Iron supplements through an IV. I have looked online and cannot find anything recent on it. This is the next step in tests my GI Dr. reccomended. My iron was at 3, before the Celiac diagnoses. Any help/info would be greatly appreciated as I am quite new to all this. Thanks.

Cari

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

darlindeb25 Collaborator

My sister had to have IV iron transfusions before she found out she was celiac, they told her she would have to have them once a month for the rest of her life. In the beginning, she had them every Wednesday, for 4 hours. Then she was diagnosed with celiac disease, went gluten free and has not had a transfusion since. The gluten was robbing her of her iron. She does have to keep an eye on her iron levels, but she does not get transfusion anymore, that was 7 yrs ago.

Where do you live, she is in Michigan? She is a celiac and a dietician, I am sure she would talk with you if you wanted over the phone---let me know.

darlindeb25@aol.com please put from celiac forum in the subject line

Deb

Guest Cari5393