7 replies to this topic

#1 truthsearcher

truthsearcher

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts

Posted 08 November 2007 - 04:11 PM

I fed my sourdough starter yesterday. It was foaming nicely after 12 hours.
I proceeded to make the bread and it's now been another 12 hours and nothing is happening. I don't know what I did wrong. It's in a nice warm spot with a tea cloth on top.

Can anyone give me a site to look at to see what to do or talk me through this.

I loved making all kinds of yeasts breads with wheat in the past now with sourdough and brown rice I am a complete novice.
Thank you.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Jestgar

Jestgar

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,755 posts

Posted 09 November 2007 - 07:47 AM

I have nothing hopeful or helpful to add. I gave up on getting sourdough to work. Maybe you don't have enough protein in your flour mix?
"But then, in all honesty, if scientists don't play god, who will?"
- James Watson

My sources are unreliable, but their information is fascinating.
- Ashleigh Brilliant

Leap, and the net will appear.

#3 truthsearcher

truthsearcher

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts

Posted 09 November 2007 - 06:42 PM

Well.... It turned out pretty lousy, but eatable.
The top was hard and when I cut it, it crumbled to pieces. The center was nice and moist, so maybe turn down the heat a bit and try again :rolleyes:

I do have to say it did taste quite like the brown rice loaf from Little Streams Bakery(if anyone has tried that one.)

I think I'm gonna try the quinoa loaf next week.

Thanks

#4 Mom23boys

Mom23boys

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts

Posted 10 November 2007 - 04:47 AM

I fed my sourdough starter yesterday. It was foaming nicely after 12 hours.
I proceeded to make the bread and it's now been another 12 hours and nothing is happening. I don't know what I did wrong. It's in a nice warm spot with a tea cloth on top.