Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      



Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
   
Subscribe Today!


Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:
Photo
- - - - -

Whey Protein Gluten Problem


  • Please log in to reply

38 replies to this topic

#31

 
TheCornInGrove

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:03 AM

The l-analyl is gained from fermented glucose. So I think its gluten free.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#32

 
donnajen

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
 

Posted 14 June 2012 - 10:15 AM

Wow. I will have to find out more about this because my boyfriend has been taking this for quite awhile now.
  • 0

#33

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 14 June 2012 - 12:19 PM

I think there is some confusion between glutamine and gluten. It is a common mistake. There is no suggestion on the website or nutritional labeling that the product contains any sort of gluten.
  • 0

#34

 
Devansh

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 15 September 2012 - 10:22 AM

You can also add bioplex to that list.


For the people looking for more choices in gluten free whey protein powder, I found this certain "International Protein: Amino charged API". Their website says
"No Gluten no cheap glutamine peptides derived from hydrolysed wheat or low quality wheat proteins making it suitable for coeliacs and people with wheat allergies."

Thanks to all of you for the great contribution to this thread, i almost bought whey protein with peptides!
  • 0

#35

 
abqmalenurse

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
 

Posted 12 June 2014 - 06:10 AM

I'm a bit late to this discussion but I am currently using Prolab N-Large 3. It seems to work well for me. It does contain soy derivatives (I believe the maltodextrin) but causes no reaction for me. An added bonus is that it's sold in 10 lb tubs. (Tubs come in handy for gardening when the powder is gone! It also tastes good.

I had hit a critical point where I absolutely had to up my protein and caloric intake.

Meanwhile, too many protein powders/drinks contain Creatine and I prefer to avoid that. This doesn't have it. Creatine is what leads to what body builders refer to as "protein farts".


  • 0

137 IQ

Nurse for 20 years, abdomino/thoracic, cardiac, ICU, CCU, ER, neuro/neurosurgery, hospice, infectious disease.

Certified chef, auto/diesel/turbine mechanic, freelance writer.

Gluten free since 2006.

Hobbies-blogging, cooking, photography, gardening (giant crops frequently), developing gardening methods for arid environments, experimenting with alternative electrical generation methods, solar design.


#36

 
LeanneMarie

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
 

Posted 10 June 2015 - 04:41 AM

Bumping this thread up because I believe a recent glutening may have happened as a result of a new protein powder I was trying, but trying to piece together knowledge from this thread to see if that would be something possible.

 

The brand is Whole Foods "100% Grass Fed Whey Protein Chocolate Flavor". These are the ingredients:

 

"Whey protien concentrate, cocoa powder**, natural chocolate flavor, natural vanilla flavor, xanthan gum, stevia extract, lo han guo fruit extract, whey protein isolate.

 

**Fair trade certified.

 

Contains milk ingredients. Produced in a facility that processes tree nuts, eggs,and soy."

 

 

So, because it's not the top quality of protein (it wasn't that expensive) there's no breakdown of what the proteins are made up of. I was naiive and assumed that whey would be gluten free...then read this thread. I checked Whole Foods' gluten free product list and it's NOT on there. Obviously I should have checked BEFORE but I thought I was safe.

 

I had this stuff 3 days in a row and definitely felt "glutened" but I'm not sure if it's possibly from this or something else (went grocery shopping and decided to get gluten-free oats as well, not sure if it was the powder or the oats). Still figuring out how sensitive I am, a year and a half after dx... any chance they could have whey peptides or anything like that in there without having to label it?

 

THANKS!


  • 0

#37

 
kareng

    April Showers bring May flowers and more showers....

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,003 posts
 

Posted 10 June 2015 - 04:46 AM

Bumping this thread up because I believe a recent glutening may have happened as a result of a new protein powder I was trying, but trying to piece together knowledge from this thread to see if that would be something possible.

 

The brand is Whole Foods "100% Grass Fed Whey Protein Chocolate Flavor". These are the ingredients:

 

"Whey protien concentrate, cocoa powder**, natural chocolate flavor, natural vanilla flavor, xanthan gum, stevia extract, lo han guo fruit extract, whey protein isolate.

 

**Fair trade certified.

 

Contains milk ingredients. Produced in a facility that processes tree nuts, eggs,and soy."

 

 

So, because it's not the top quality of protein (it wasn't that expensive) there's no breakdown of what the proteins are made up of. I was naiive and assumed that whey would be gluten free...then read this thread. I checked Whole Foods' gluten free product list and it's NOT on there. Obviously I should have checked BEFORE but I thought I was safe.

 

I had this stuff 3 days in a row and definitely felt "glutened" but I'm not sure if it's possibly from this or something else (went grocery shopping and decided to get gluten-free oats as well, not sure if it was the powder or the oats). Still figuring out how sensitive I am, a year and a half after dx... any chance they could have whey peptides or anything like that in there without having to label it?

 

THANKS!

 

 

They have labelled that they contain whey - but whey is milk not gluten.


  • 0

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 


#38

 
LeanneMarie

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
 

Posted 10 June 2015 - 06:37 AM

They have labelled that they contain whey - but whey is milk not gluten.

Yes Kareng---however the rest of the posts on this thread are about how some whey is bound with certain peptides and may not be gluten-free after all. So I'm wondering about this as I definitely have glutening symptoms..


  • 0

#39

 
kareng

    April Showers bring May flowers and more showers....

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,003 posts
 

Posted 10 June 2015 - 06:59 AM

Yes Kareng---however the rest of the posts on this thread are about how some whey is bound with certain peptides and may not be gluten-free after all. So I'm wondering about this as I definitely have glutening symptoms..

 

 

If you are talking about glutamate or glutamine - those are not gluten.

 

Bottom line - if you think a product or food makes you feel bad, no matter what the reason - don't eat it!


  • 0

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: