This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Kissing?

PixieChinchilla

PixieChinchilla Rookie

So I'm VERY new to the Celiac life. New enough that I haven't gotten a complete positive on all the tests yet, but I'm doing the diet and living the life just in case. I've been trying really hard to eliminate gluten from my diet... but I didn't even think about kissing! Now, I dont have a boyfriend at the moment, but that almost makes it worse, because kisses are more spontaneous when you aren't with someone you're EXPECTING to kiss. o.o

So is it true that I have to be careful who I kiss?

I'm sure the answer is yes, so the real question is: How careful do I have to be?

Thanks much. :]

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

darlindeb25 Collaborator

This is the $10,000 question! It's difficult to answer. I have never been glutened by a kiss and yes, I have been kissed by many. Usually, whomever I am with has been told about my celiac disease though, I never hide it from anyone. I used to worry about kisses from my grandkids, cause they always were chewing on cookies or something, so I had to be very careful.

As for men, I do explain to them the importance of being careful with me. So far, so good. Kissing is something I love and I will not give it up, so if necessary, there is always a new toothbrush handy at my place. Of course, it's different when you are a teenager--I'm an old lady!!!!! :P