Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Recall Kellogg
0

11 posts in this topic

My sister is visiting and she just got this in her email, her son has severe allergies and I am posting it here for obvious reasons........

**THE FOOD ALLERGY & ANAPHYLAXIS NETWORK SPECIAL FOOD ALLERGY ALERT NOTICE**

WHEAT ALLERGY ALERT

November 12, 2007

Kellogg Company is recalling a limited number of Kellogg

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Thanks for posting

This cereal is not safe for celiacs it has malt in it. So it should be avoided anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.

I think that you are confused between MALT and MALTODEXTRIN. Maltodextrin, which in the US is generally derived from corn. If it is not corn, it by law will be listed as "maltodextrin (wheat) on the ingredients disclosure or it will be listed in the allergen warning. It is not necessarily true for outside the US> :)

Malt is NOT gluten free. <_< Malt is barley derived.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malt

loco, thanks for posting. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.

What??! :blink: We've been avoiding any cereal with malt flavoring in it. I think I will start calling though. My son had a box of gluten free sour gummy bears and I casually read the second ingredient line and it said malt flavoring. I nearly had a heart attack :o , but it was corn malt flavoring (the corn part was on the first line).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thanks for posting

This cereal is not safe for celiacs it has malt in it. So it should be avoided anyway.

Does anyone know if this is corn malt? I sure mix crispix cereal :unsure:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's their ingredient list:

Ingredients

MILLED CORN, RICE, BROWN SUGAR, SALT, MALT FLAVORING, BAKING SODA, ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C), IRON, NIACINAMIDE, TURMERIC COLOR, ZINC OXIDE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), VITAMIN A PALMITATE, FOLIC ACID, VITAMIN B12 AND VITAMIN D.

Allergen Information

CORN USED IN THIS PRODUCT CONTAINS TRACES OF SOYBEANS.

I would bet the "malt flavoring" is barley-derived, which we all know does NOT have to be labeled as an allergen. Contact the company to be sure, but I certainly wouldn't eat it because of the malt

(not to mention the allergen statement says the corn used contains traces of soybeans too).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
..... The recalled cereal comes in a 12-oz. package .....

That's a very odd size package. Most cereals come in at least a 20 oz box unless it's those tiny little individual serving boxes.

Plus, I agree with the others, it has malt in it.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online."

This is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Virtually all malt in the U.S. food comes from barley.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
"malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online."

This is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Virtually all malt in the U.S. food comes from barley.

that's what I thought too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most all barley I have come across has been barley malt...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.