Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Recall Kellogg’s® Crispix® Cereal


  • Please log in to reply

10 replies to this topic

#1 loco_ladi

 
loco_ladi

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 462 posts
 

Posted 13 November 2007 - 12:07 AM

My sister is visiting and she just got this in her email, her son has severe allergies and I am posting it here for obvious reasons........



**THE FOOD ALLERGY & ANAPHYLAXIS NETWORK SPECIAL FOOD ALLERGY ALERT NOTICE**

WHEAT ALLERGY ALERT
November 12, 2007

Kellogg Company is recalling a limited number of Kellogg’s® Crispix® cereal
12-oz. packages due to undeclared wheat.

The product was distributed in the Midwest and Southwest United States
through retail grocery stores.

The recalled cereal comes in a 12-oz. package with a Better If Used Before
date of SEP 22 2008 KLC printed on the top of the package and a UPC of
38000 03530 found on the bottom of the package.

Consumers who have purchased the recalled product can contact Kellogg
Consumer Affairs at (800) 962-1413 for further information.
  • 0
Just my .00000002 cents worth
If I knew what I was doing years ago I would have half a clue today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 blueeyedmanda

 
blueeyedmanda

    York Fair 2009

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,569 posts
 

Posted 13 November 2007 - 05:09 AM

Thanks for posting

This cereal is not safe for celiacs it has malt in it. So it should be avoided anyway.
  • 0
~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~


Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

Posted Image

#3 tsummo

 
tsummo

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 12 January 2008 - 08:14 AM

malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.
  • 0

#4 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts
 

Posted 12 January 2008 - 08:43 AM

malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.



I think that you are confused between MALT and MALTODEXTRIN. Maltodextrin, which in the US is generally derived from corn. If it is not corn, it by law will be listed as "maltodextrin (wheat) on the ingredients disclosure or it will be listed in the allergen warning. It is not necessarily true for outside the US> :)

Malt is NOT gluten free. <_< Malt is barley derived.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malt


loco, thanks for posting. :)
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#5 JennyC

 
JennyC

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
 

Posted 12 January 2008 - 08:45 AM

malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online.


What??! :blink: We've been avoiding any cereal with malt flavoring in it. I think I will start calling though. My son had a box of gluten free sour gummy bears and I casually read the second ingredient line and it said malt flavoring. I nearly had a heart attack :o , but it was corn malt flavoring (the corn part was on the first line).
  • 0
Jenny

Son 6 yrs old, Positive blood work, Outstanding dietary response, no biopsy.
Household mostly gluten free since 3/07

Me: HLA-DQ 02 & 0302 (DQ 08), which I ran & analyzed myself!Currently gluten lite, negative tTG, asymptomatic

#6 Sweetfudge

 
Sweetfudge

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
 

Posted 12 January 2008 - 03:09 PM

Thanks for posting

This cereal is not safe for celiacs it has malt in it. So it should be avoided anyway.



Does anyone know if this is corn malt? I sure mix crispix cereal :unsure:
  • 0
Sweetfudge

Born and raised in Portland, OR; Currently living in Provo, UT
Gluten-free since June 2006
Also living with Hypoglycemia since 1991
Dairy-free for good since summer 2008
Started IBS diet and probiotics at GI's recommendation - Fall 2008
Also avoiding: potatoes, beans, crucifers, popcorn, most red meat, coconut milk :(
Started eating a Paleo diet Spring 2011. Love it!

The grass is always greener where you water it.

#7 horsegirl

 
horsegirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts
 

Posted 12 January 2008 - 09:30 PM

Here's their ingredient list:

Ingredients
MILLED CORN, RICE, BROWN SUGAR, SALT, MALT FLAVORING, BAKING SODA, ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C), IRON, NIACINAMIDE, TURMERIC COLOR, ZINC OXIDE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), VITAMIN A PALMITATE, FOLIC ACID, VITAMIN B12 AND VITAMIN D.
Allergen Information
CORN USED IN THIS PRODUCT CONTAINS TRACES OF SOYBEANS.


I would bet the "malt flavoring" is barley-derived, which we all know does NOT have to be labeled as an allergen. Contact the company to be sure, but I certainly wouldn't eat it because of the malt
(not to mention the allergen statement says the corn used contains traces of soybeans too).
  • 0
Diagnosed Fibromyalgia & osteoarthritis in multiple joints 12/06

Diagnosed gluten intolerant through dietary trials 8/07
Enterolab positive for gluten, casein, soy, egg
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 1,1 (Subtype 6,6)

Gluten free 8/10/07
Casein free 8/27/07
Soy & egg free 9/8/07
Eggs back again (whoo hoo!) 11/08

Diagnosed chronic fatigue syndrome 12/09
Starting various supplements/vitamins in hopes of feeling better!

#8 larry mac

 
larry mac

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,199 posts
 

Posted 13 January 2008 - 07:12 PM

..... The recalled cereal comes in a 12-oz. package .....


That's a very odd size package. Most cereals come in at least a 20 oz box unless it's those tiny little individual serving boxes.

Plus, I agree with the others, it has malt in it.

best regards, lm
  • 0

gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa


#9 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 13 January 2008 - 07:16 PM

"malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online."

This is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Virtually all malt in the U.S. food comes from barley.
  • 0

#10 Sweetfudge

 
Sweetfudge

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,490 posts
 

Posted 14 January 2008 - 10:10 PM

"malt flavoring is okay for celiacs as long as it is derived from corn, which most u.s. companies do, but to be certain you should call the company or go online."

This is WRONG, WRONG, WRONG. Virtually all malt in the U.S. food comes from barley.

that's what I thought too.
  • 0
Sweetfudge

Born and raised in Portland, OR; Currently living in Provo, UT
Gluten-free since June 2006
Also living with Hypoglycemia since 1991
Dairy-free for good since summer 2008
Started IBS diet and probiotics at GI's recommendation - Fall 2008
Also avoiding: potatoes, beans, crucifers, popcorn, most red meat, coconut milk :(
Started eating a Paleo diet Spring 2011. Love it!

The grass is always greener where you water it.

#11 blueeyedmanda

 
blueeyedmanda

    York Fair 2009

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,569 posts
 

Posted 15 January 2008 - 05:06 AM

Most all barley I have come across has been barley malt...
  • 0
~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~


Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: