Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Does Ethyle Alcohol (grain Alcohol/ Ethanol) Contains Gluten As It Is Used In Homeopathy Tincture & Other Medicines.
0

6 posts in this topic

If any one can help in replying my following Querry :-

Does Ethyle Alcohol (Grain Alcohol/ Ethanol) contains gluten, because this alcohol is used in homeopathic mother tincture for delutions & few alopathic medicines ? ?

Actaully, my 10 years daughter has recently been dignosed as a Celiac by blood test (Tissue Transglutemnis IgA) and then Endoscopy Biopsy Test. I have started here Gluten Free dite.

She used to have homeopathy medicines for cold & cought generally and this time also i have given these medicines for 45 days. But this medicines contain ethyle alcohol as a delituion of its mother tincture. And the Ethyle Alcohol is made of the fermentaion process by Yeast of Suger-Cane Juice and this yeast is obtained by Wheat, Rye etc.

So can some one please clarify that this alcohol is containg Gluten or there is any evendence for the same or any refrence...

I will be thankful to you for thi reply...

Because I Love My Daughter most...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I can't answer for others but I had a severe reaction to a tincture given me by a naturopath. Many others may be able to use these without a problem. I had been gluten-free for 4 years before I took the stuff and I clearly had a gluten reaction complete with an outbreak of DH within hours of injestion. I also checked myself the stuff he gave me on my next visit, $300 dollars worth of homeopathic remedies that were loaded with soy and milk, they even had allergin warnings on the labels. When I immediately made the over an hour drive back to ask what was up the idiot told me that there wasn't enough of the offending substances to worry about. Yea right. I should note that not all alcohols are derived from gluten grains. If you really like using this type of product call the different makers of each. Some may use a alcohol derived from corn or wood. They would be gluten free and would not cause a gluten reaction even if your DD is very sensitive.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would love to know if anyone has found more answers to the below.

I have contacted Boiron who produces the pillules homeopathics and pretty much all of them are gluten-free (except oats and another 1-2 meds which are not commonly used)

However I use liquid homeopathics and I would really like to know if those are gluten-free....................

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I would love to know if anyone has found more answers to the below.

I have contacted Boiron who produces the pillules homeopathics and pretty much all of them are gluten-free (except oats and another 1-2 meds which are not commonly used)

However I use liquid homeopathics and I would really like to know if those are gluten-free....................

There should be a phone number on the bottle or box that you can call. Please don't just ask if they are gluten-free because no matter what the alcohol is derived from they will say yes because some consider all distilled gluten grains safe. Ask instead what the alcohol they use in the product is derived from. No matter what the item, even juices or sodas, we can't assume that just because one is safe all are. You really need to check each item to be sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aack! I wish someone would put "homeopathic or herbal tinctures" on the list of possibly unsafe foods. I have been taking a tincture every night, never suspecting that it contained gluten. I have been struggling with not feeling well even though I've been gluten free (or thought I was) for nearly six months. The other one that has totally got me is olives (which can apparently contain white vinegar). The learning process with this is unbelievable. Does anyone know of any books or resources that help get you up to speed without having to figure it all out by trial and error?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Unfortunately Boiron's homeopathics are all made from dairy and sugar (two things that my son and I are allergic to). Can't they figure out a base in which to put their homeopathics that isn't a common allergen?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,918
    • Total Posts
      919,628
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Depression / anxiety issues
      Hi Chris, haven't had a chance to read the whole conversation but regarding dairy, if you are suspicious of something, drop it for some time and see. You are still healing so maybe dairy is bothering you now. Also look at the nightshades, corn, dairy, soy, and eggs. I had a horrible time last year. I had muscle twitches, brain fog, pain, was tired,etc. I searched online and decided to drop all of those things I mentioned above. I am not sure what bothered me since I dropped them all at once but i slowly began feeling better. Now, i reintroduced eggs again and sometimes have lactose free milk with my coffee. I recommend eating salmon, tuna, bone broth soups, using olive oil and coconut oil and not eating much or not at all processed food even if it is marked gluten free.
    • Weird things people have said
      I've had people say strange things about celiac to me lately... Like someone said, "Oh I'm just a mild celiac so I don't have to worry about cross-contamination." And then someone else said that they're celiac but things have calmed down now so they can have a bit of gluten here and there. And I told my doctor that back in 2014 I thought I had been gluten free but I actually wasn't because I had been repeatedly glutening myself with an old colander. And he just looked at me like I was insane, like a colander?? Sure... I'm not crazy, right? Even if you have no symptoms you have to avoid cross-contamination because you can be doing damage internally right? You can never have 'just a bit'. And a colander is a big source of cross-contamination right?? I know all this but why do these other people not? Why does my doctor not know? So confusing and spreading misinformation... And then they look at me like *I'M* crazy.
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      Look up FODMAPS.   That might clarify things for you.  There really are a lot of diet recommendations so make sure you bring a list of questions regarding foods to your doctor's  and dietician's appointments.  
    • Recovery?
      Thank you for sharing those web sites. I will look at them. We have been gluten free since December so it's been a while. Once, he had a gluten free beer, the kind that they take the gluten out, and his legs felt very heavy and had a more difficult time walking. I really don't want to experiment.  Although I am very careful about what we eat, I am concerned that some of our medication could contain gluten. Is there any easier way to tell if medication has gluten. I did find a website which listed drugs and known gluten but every drug was on it or was determined to be gluten free
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      I don't have celiac but doctors or amazed I don't so they told me to fallow the gluten-free diet like I have it... any way I was wondering if one can have corn, corn starch if they have fructose malabsorption. I am so confused on what I can and can't have.. i have an appt next week hopefully with a dietitian... also can you have sugar free stuff since it's not sugar.. I'm reading online and I'm getting a bunch of mixed info on both. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,963
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Tams67
    Joined