Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Cornmeal Question
0

7 posts in this topic

Hello - I have a question about cornmeal. I seem to be doing OK with rice and potatos, but cornbread seems to bother, which is bad cause I really like it.

Would cornmeal bother due to fiber, or could there be something else about corn that bothers people? I'm careful to only use cornmeal with no flour added, 2 brands. One of the reasons I ask is that a jar of Maggi brand seasoning on our shelf lists Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten, would they just be saying gluten instead of protein?

I'm also doing a major reorganization of kitchen and shelves - look what I found hiding on my Mom's spice shelf, amongst other things!

Pumpkin Pie spice dated 10/81

Ginger from 91

Some Allspice - date unknown, but price is on a sticker with old style purple ink

The best - a truly ancient (and I mean it) small jar of McCormik sugar sprinkles

for cakes, and the sugar (green) is not stuck together.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

lol. your pumpkin pie spice is almost as old as I am. (unfortunately, not too long ago, I think I threw out some stuff (unused) that was about the same age... ;-) )

just for reference, technically speaking, "gluten" is the term for all proteins in grains. it's often used by the general population and celiacs and doctors to refer only to the protein sequences similar to those in wheat, barley, and rye (oatmeal being a big gaping uncertainty :-) ). that's why they used the term on the label - it is the scientifically correct term, but not how it's used in common daily "speak", as it were.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

VAGuy,

Some people are also intolerant of corn, whether permanently or temporarily depends on the person, but you may want to eliminate it for a while and then try it again later. Unfortunately, like wheat and barley, corn can be found in a lot of different foods. I hope you figure out what is bothering you. I am thinking about removing potatos from my diet, which leaves me with only rice and corn. It I have to remove corn too then I am going to get sick of rice real fast! :o

Good luck and God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for responses - it seems fiber is a real problem - had same lunch yesterday and today (tuna/mayo on potato chips, H2O) yesterday OK, except today I had 3 gluten-free cookies (MI-DEL) w/approx 3g/12% RDA fiber) and had problems a couple hours later, same @ dinner time/ probs later. Guess I'm just gonna have to be real careful for a while.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for responses - it seems fiber is a real problem - had same lunch yesterday and today (tuna/mayo on potato chips, H2O) yesterday OK, except today I had 3 gluten-free cookies (MI-DEL) w/approx 3g/12% RDA fiber) and had problems a couple hours later, same @ dinner time/ probs later. Guess I'm just gonna have to be real careful for a while.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




VaGuy, I don't know where you live but I live in NC and I can only use one cornmeal and it is Tenderbake white. Now it has to be the white and not yellow and it is selfrising and I have not ever had a problem . You may want to try it if the stores in your area carries it. Good luck. :rolleyes:

Jean

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have found the only cornmeal that does not affect our family is the meal we grind ourselves. Since Dent corn is difficult to find in bulk, here where we live, we buy popcorn in the 50lbs bags at Sam's Club. It takes three times through the grinder, but it makes a flavorful meal.

Libby.

AZ

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,354
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,134
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Alinapep
    Joined