This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Acne! Desperate For Help!

aggiegal00

aggiegal00 Newbie

Hi Folks-

I am new to this particular celiac community and I could really use your help!

I was endoscopy/biopsy diagnosed with celiac disease over 5 years ago and have been gluten-free ever since then.

I always suffered from acne, which got much worse and turned into cystic acne when I was in college. I went through my first round of Accutance around 2001/2002 and had beautiful skin for several years. I noticed the acne starting to come back, and skipped off to my doctor for another round of Accutane this past year (I finished around April).

Within just a few months the acne was starting to come back, and I am getting increasingly frustrated. I have extremely sensitive skin and have to be very careful. I CAN and do use the Proactiv exfoliating cleanser, but I can't use the whole kit (it's too harsh). No gluten products, or wheat, mineral oil, etc etc. I even had to stop using Bare Minerals make-up because I was having a reaction to it (feel free to ask me about that adventure).

So here's the basics:

I am a 27 year old female, and not pregnant.

Been on prescribed BC for 10 years.

Gluten free diet , and getting more neurotic about it by the hour.

I also stay away from soy; I'm not sure that I am "allergic" to it, but it renders me a social outcast for at least 24-48 hours. ;)

I rarely eat out, I don't let people cook for me.

I live by myself, with my dog.