Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Reese's Pieces


  • Please log in to reply

18 replies to this topic

#16 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,317 posts
 

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:47 AM

I had a reaction this past week, and feel that it also traced back to the Reese's Pieces I ate a handful of. I re-read the bag, and found that they have changed their ingredient list to include Modified Corn Starch. Previous to this viewing, this was not included, or I wouldn't have eaten them. I continue to find this happening over and over again with foods that were previously safe for me to eat. Has anyone else encountered this?


Thank you,

Kitty
Celiac diagnosed in 2010, eating gluten-free for almost 3 years.


Corn starch should be safe for Celiacs.
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17 livelifelarge24

 
livelifelarge24

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 186 posts
 

Posted 05 December 2012 - 01:51 AM

I always knew Reese's pieces to be unsafe for celiacs. Justin's makes great peanut butter cups in regular and dark chocolate if you're looking for a safe peanut butter chocolate fix. They have them at Whole Foods and our local Bel air.
  • 0
"A man too busy to take care of his health is like a mechanic too busy to take care of his tools." - Spanish Proverb

#18 rnhutz01

 
rnhutz01

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:27 PM

I have also had a reaction to the reeses pieces while I can eat the cups with no problems, Hershey's does provide a gluten free list of products on their website, the cups are on the safe list but the pieces aren't, so maybe it depends on your sensitivity level. www.thehersheycompany.com/brands/special-nutrition.aspx#/Gluten-Free
  • 0

#19 killernj13

 
killernj13

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
 

Posted 13 February 2013 - 09:47 AM

Never found Reese's Pieces to contain gluten ever.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: