Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Jello Gelatin, Gluten Free?
0

22 posts in this topic

Is jello gelatin gluten free? I looked at the ingredients and did not think it contained gluten, but now I am wondering because my daughter is acting like she has had gluten. We also try the blue diamond nut crackers ranch flavored, now those have milk and she does not really tolerate milk well, so it may be this, she loved these and has begged me to buy more, but I don't think I will.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
Is jello gelatin gluten free? I looked at the ingredients and did not think it contained gluten, but now I am wondering because my daughter is acting like she has had gluten. We also try the blue diamond nut crackers ranch flavored, now those have milk and she does not really tolerate milk well, so it may be this, she loved these and has begged me to buy more, but I don't think I will.

Jello is infact gluten free.

On the other hand, Blue Diamond Crackers, if you look at the box, I believe it says that is "is processed on a facility that processes wheat..." There might be a cross contamination issue with the crackers. They have never bothered me.

Milk products may also be an issue if she is in the early stages of healing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Between the Jello and the Blue Diamond--I'd go with the crackers being the cause of her symptoms. I've not had them, but I've seen on here that several have had problems with them. If she is sensitive to dairy, that could have made it worse.

Jello is definately gluten-free. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you might also consider that jello contains an msg in the citric acid at the least and other food colorings that might be the problem. I can't have jello due to the msg. Makes gluten free even harder when you ad the msg problem but I feel a whole lot better if I can not eat it. It's not easy. If you are interested in learning more tryo out the truth in labeling website for other msg hidden sources

Pame

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you might also consider that jello contains an msg in the citric acid at the least and other food colorings that might be the problem. I can't have jello due to the msg. Makes gluten free even harder when you ad the msg problem but I feel a whole lot better if I can not eat it. It's not easy. If you are interested in learning more tryo out the truth in labeling website for other msg hidden sources

Pame

Jello contains msg? That's news to me. I normally avoid it because of the artificial flavoring and coloring.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




You can use plain gelatin with something like cranberry juice. (Or, cider, champagne and strawberries, plum puree...)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jello is made from the hide of animals like goats, pigs, horses. Once I found that out I will never eat or let my kids eat it again. Many people do not care and will continue to eat it but really theres no nutritional value in it, its not filling, Its just like jellied kool aid! Hospitals should discontinue feeding jello to their patients IMHO It is worthless.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Along the lines of what someone else said, could she be reacting to the food coloring? My son gets crazy sometimes after having food dye - he'll start running laps around the house. I don't buy anything with the food dyes any more.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jello is made from the hide of animals like goats, pigs, horses. Once I found that out I will never eat or let my kids eat it again. Many people do not care and will continue to eat it but really theres no nutritional value in it, its not filling, Its just like jellied kool aid! Hospitals should discontinue feeding jello to their patients IMHO It is worthless.

Looks like I will never eat Jello again. Yuk, made from hides.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gelatin is typically derived from animal tissue, although not often from hide. It is a concern for those who keep Kashrut or Halal, since it can be derived from porcine sources. It is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

could it be the colours? we discovered our daughter goes crazy from red or orange jello

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gelatin is typically derived from animal tissue, although not often from hide. It is a concern for those who keep Kashrut or Halal, since it can be derived from porcine sources. It is gluten-free.

I feel like our ancestors made use of every bit of the animal, wasting nothing, so we can too. But my boys have friends that can't have anything with gelatin listed (in a lot of candies) because it could be from pork.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sawyer I have read many sources and all concur that jello is made from the hides not other parts/tissue. In any event it is nasty and I'll never

eat it again.

Karen I agree that ancestors wasted nothing but in modern times we know better or should know better. Now all the by products(eyes, talons, feathers, etc) are put in pet food.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sawyer I have read many sources and all concur that jello is made from the hides not other parts/tissue. In any event it is nasty and I'll never

eat it again.

Karen I agree that ancestors wasted nothing but in modern times we know better or should know better. Now all the by products(eyes, talons, feathers, etc) are put in pet food.

Most of the cases of gelatin that I have looked into have come from bones or hooves. Gelatin is a binder, so you want strength, not stretch.

I don't know what your source for the pet food claim is (post it if you have one), BUT your post implies something that is not true.

Some pet foods contain "byproduct meal" but most do not. Not all meal is "byproduct meal." Organs, such as kidneys and spleens which provide good nutritive value, are classified as "byproducts" for labeling purposes. Just because an ingredient could legally contain something does not necessarily mean that it does.

As a counterexample, "lamb meal" is the clean meat from a lamb, rendered to remove fat and moisture. It is a concentrated, high-quality protein source.

I know my post isn't going to change your thinking, but I do want members to see both sides of the question.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sawyer I have read many sources and all concur that jello is made from the hides not other parts/tissue. In any event it is nasty and I'll never

eat it again.

Karen I agree that ancestors wasted nothing but in modern times we know better or should know better. Now all the by products(eyes, talons, feathers, etc) are put in pet food.

Why do you say we should know better? It's kinda gross but is it really dangerous to eat the eyes, or ligaments or hide in small quantities? :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why do you say we should know better? It's kinda gross but is it really dangerous to eat the eyes, or ligaments or hide in small quantities? :blink:

MY IN LAWS ARE CHINESE AND TRUST ME, NOTHING IS WASTED!! MY DAUGHTER WHO IS 2 WILL EAT BEEF TENDON, CHICKEN CARTILIDGE, AND CHICKEN'S FEET.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@,Stanley, that reminds me of when i was in elementary school & chicken was served for lunch. I picked at the piece of chicken & left the skin, fatty bits, etc. A classmate asked me if I was done, and I said "yes" then she took my chicken scraps & ate everything but the bone. I was amazed & grossed out. She was from a different country.

@Sawyer: for further dog food info go to dogfoodanalysis.com

I heard about gelatin coming form hooves of animals & that's why I became curious & looked it up. I found out that that was a myth & gelatin comes from the hides instead. I don't remember which sites they were on but it was more than one. It is easily googled.

Do you agree jello has no nutritional value.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why do you say we should know better? It's kinda gross but is it really dangerous to eat the eyes, or ligaments or hide in small quantities? :blink:

ohhhh my... if people ever moved to Belgium you'd be in for a whole slew of things you'd never expected. Take for example we sell/cook/eat horse meat here, we have head cheese, we have almost any kind of wild animal for sale at local butchers from quail to pigeon to deer to yea well anything considered 'wild game'.

How can someone think that eating other 'parts' of an animal is bad? Hides and such are not used in this stuff, it produces no gelatine base so why use it?? Try looking this page.... http://recipes.howstuffworks.com/question557.htm

It tells you above exactly what has been said here already, it's made from parts you most likely would prefer not to know about but you are making it out to be a lot worse then it actually is. And remember this is not just 'Jell-o' we're talking about. Out here we too have the powder and sheets of no-flavor/no-color gelatine and I can promise you that it is also made of animal parts but not out of skin/hides and what not.

People do have to rely on known truth rather then hear-say or at least open up their thoughts a bit more on foods. We already lose SOOOOO much having to live without gluten, some of use without milk, soy and other allergy stuffs... why close your mind off to those things we don't 'have' to leave from our diets?

Yes jello contains nothing but empty calories and additives but that is personally why hospitals feed it to people having just come out of surgery or having other stomach issues .... because it takes little or nothing to digest it but also giving the sense of having eaten 'something' as well as giving you liquid. If one can not keep jello down (which includes a VAST amount of liquid!) then they are not well enough to return to other things more solid.

I have to admit moving over seas has opened my eyes to a wonder of things... how many people here have eaten whole raw oysters, made razor clams, fried a piece of horse/boar/ostridge, eaten snails or frogs legs? You really have no idea some wonderful things you are missing out by being closed minded about things or mis-informed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is jello gelatin gluten free? I looked at the ingredients and did not think it contained gluten, but now I am wondering because my daughter is acting like she has had gluten. We also try the blue diamond nut crackers ranch flavored, now those have milk and she does not really tolerate milk well, so it may be this, she loved these and has begged me to buy more, but I don't think I will.

I just got off the phone with Kraft (800-431-1001 (option 3)). I was calling about chocolate flavored Jell-O but got a (much) broader answer. Kraft cannot say that the particular Jell-O I was calling about is gluten free because, while Kraft will list any gluten-containing ingredients (including wheat barley, rye, spelt, etc.) when it uses in its own ingredients, Kraft uses ingredients acquired from third-party manufacturers in things listed as "flavoring, color or spice" and those third-party manufacturers are only required to identify wheat. SO, the upshot is that Kraft's more inclusive labeling is useless for any product that includes "flavoring, color, or spices" in the label because those ingredients may contain gluten.

The rep on the phone specifically confirmed that the words I read to her from the label, "contains less than 2% of natural and artifical flavor," were the type indicating ingredients that could contain gluten (b/c from a third-party manufacturer). When pressed, she also agreed that this hole in Kraft's labeling policy made Kraft's supposed inclusion of more than just wheat in its labeling somewhat useless. And, I'd add, though I didn't with her, also miseading.

So now I wish my four year old hadn't seen the box. Because while I appreciate that the gluten amount is likely miniscule, his doctor would like to see better bloodwork before we flirt with even small amounts.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just got off the phone with Kraft (800-431-1001 (option 3)). I was calling about chocolate flavored Jell-O but got a (much) broader answer. Kraft cannot say that the particular Jell-O I was calling about is gluten free because, while Kraft will list any gluten-containing ingredients (including wheat barley, rye, spelt, etc.) when it uses in its own ingredients, Kraft uses ingredients acquired from third-party manufacturers in things listed as "flavoring, color or spice" and those third-party manufacturers are only required to identify wheat. SO, the upshot is that Kraft's more inclusive labeling is useless for any product that includes "flavoring, color, or spices" in the label because those ingredients may contain gluten.

The rep on the phone specifically confirmed that the words I read to her from the label, "contains less than 2% of natural and artifical flavor," were the type indicating ingredients that could contain gluten (b/c from a third-party manufacturer). When pressed, she also agreed that this hole in Kraft's labeling policy made Kraft's supposed inclusion of more than just wheat in its labeling somewhat useless. And, I'd add, though I didn't with her, also miseading.

So now I wish my four year old hadn't seen the box. Because while I appreciate that the gluten amount is likely miniscule, his doctor would like to see better bloodwork before we flirt with even small amounts.

I know it isn't the same, but chocolate pudding is super easy to make from scratch. Tons of recipes on the Internet and 95% are gluten-free.

Maybe if you let him have whipped cream or sprinkles on it???

I know, it's the box....as far as regular jello goes I believe Knox is gluten-free and you can add fruit juice as flavor.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ohhhh my... if people ever moved to Belgium you'd be in for a whole slew of things you'd never expected. Take for example we sell/cook/eat horse meat here, we have head cheese, we have almost any kind of wild animal for sale at local butchers from quail to pigeon to deer to yea well anything considered 'wild game'.

How can someone think that eating other 'parts' of an animal is bad? Hides and such are not used in this stuff, it produces no gelatine base so why use it?? Try looking this page.... http://recipes.howst...question557.htm

It tells you above exactly what has been said here already, it's made from parts you most likely would prefer not to know about but you are making it out to be a lot worse then it actually is. And remember this is not just 'Jell-o' we're talking about. Out here we too have the powder and sheets of no-flavor/no-color gelatine and I can promise you that it is also made of animal parts but not out of skin/hides and what not.

People do have to rely on known truth rather then hear-say or at least open up their thoughts a bit more on foods. We already lose SOOOOO much having to live without gluten, some of use without milk, soy and other allergy stuffs... why close your mind off to those things we don't 'have' to leave from our diets?

Yes jello contains nothing but empty calories and additives but that is personally why hospitals feed it to people having just come out of surgery or having other stomach issues .... because it takes little or nothing to digest it but also giving the sense of having eaten 'something' as well as giving you liquid. If one can not keep jello down (which includes a VAST amount of liquid!) then they are not well enough to return to other things more solid.

I have to admit moving over seas has opened my eyes to a wonder of things... how many people here have eaten whole raw oysters, made razor clams, fried a piece of horse/boar/ostridge, eaten snails or frogs legs? You really have no idea some wonderful things you are missing out by being closed minded about things or mis-informed.

Kind of funny, isn't it, that people pick apart Jello as if it contains nuclear sludge yet will then eat regularly at a fast food joint or other foods that are known to be nutritionally bad? Your post made me smile, Jami! I love Jello....especially with a little whipped cream! And you are correct about why it is used so widely in hospitals, plus the fact it is a hydrator. It's mostly water and is useful in helping people to not be dehydrated.

Food police...give it a rest, will ya? You'd eat it if you were hungry and that's all that was available........ :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just got off the phone with Kraft (800-431-1001 (option 3)). I was calling about chocolate flavored Jell-O but got a (much) broader answer. Kraft cannot say that the particular Jell-O I was calling about is gluten free because, while Kraft will list any gluten-containing ingredients (including wheat barley, rye, spelt, etc.) when it uses in its own ingredients, Kraft uses ingredients acquired from third-party manufacturers in things listed as "flavoring, color or spice" and those third-party manufacturers are only required to identify wheat. SO, the upshot is that Kraft's more inclusive labeling is useless for any product that includes "flavoring, color, or spices" in the label because those ingredients may contain gluten.

The rep on the phone specifically confirmed that the words I read to her from the label, "contains less than 2% of natural and artifical flavor," were the type indicating ingredients that could contain gluten (b/c from a third-party manufacturer). When pressed, she also agreed that this hole in Kraft's labeling policy made Kraft's supposed inclusion of more than just wheat in its labeling somewhat useless. And, I'd add, though I didn't with her, also miseading.

So now I wish my four year old hadn't seen the box. Because while I appreciate that the gluten amount is likely miniscule, his doctor would like to see better bloodwork before we flirt with even small amounts.

Your experience differs from what most of us have had in dealing with Kraft. I don't think the rep was following the script, but you may have interpreted what they said differently than I do.

Kraft does not label most products as "gluten-free" even when they are, in fact, gluten-free. They do obtain ingredients from outside suppliers, and do not test them for possible cross-contamination. While FDA regulations may only require disclosure of wheat, Kraft's contracts with their suppliers are another matter. If a supplier intentionally puts gluten in something they sell to Kraft, their agreement with Kraft would require disclosure. Which brings us back to accidental cross-contamination which Kraft does not test for--it would add to the cost of the product for everybody, not just the 1% or so who care.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,874
    • Total Posts
      919,422
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • So I've been glutened....
      Hi JMG, Since it's easy, and always fun, I'd blame your sister. That's what I do.  But seriously, if it's an ongoing problem, rather than an isolated incident stick with your first guess.  Then test it.   So get rid of the oat bread or the sister (her food) or anything that is a consistent part of your diet and you suspect could be the problem.  Of course processed foods are the most likely issue always. It's easy enough to drop back to a very few foods for a few days and see if things improve.  Eating with celiac isn't about having the most exciting diet, it's about eating a medically safe diet.  So it can be boring sometimes.  That's ok, being in pain is exciting but not so fun.   Boring is fine. You might ask your sister what brands of flour she used, and other ingredients.  Then check on those products for possible gluten issues.  If they turn out to be possible problems, make a note of it so you can avoid them in the future. My own sister has been gluten-free for years but she has made me sick several times with her "creations".  It really is best to trust your own cooking and nobody else's for at least 6 months as you are getting used to the diet and healing.  Then slowly branch out and add things in maybe 1 new item in a week.  Slow and controlled diet changes are the way to go.  Boring but safe.  Happy but slow.    
    • So I've been glutened....
      Jmg I am sorry to hear you are unwell. You have been so kind and helpful to me on the boards here. You deserve the time to rant too.   Everyone's suggestion of probiotic is helpful. I have taken them since the 1990's in spurts as needed but was told by my DC after this March glutening I should take it daily "for life". My local store ran out, (I buy the type that must be refrigerated so the manufacturer does not ship direct to customer.) I was ok first day without it but by day 3 I knew I had to locate some for the probiotic/ enzyme blend was necessary for me. I have still not healed well enough yet to be without. As others said it could be cc from sis or the food  industry. Within the food industry even with parameters in place errors can be made- hopefully not too often.  Often rare though especially if not designated facility.  It is hard to know some days what it was. I do hope you get better soon. Yes I do think it can affect the brain/mood. Happens to me a large amount can be immediately,  but a smaller amount by day 2 after glutening. I want to ban gluten everywhere in my environments, unrealistic I know,  but have only been able to do that at home.  Be kind and patient with yourself at this time as you would tell me. ((((((Hug)))))
    • So I've been glutened....
      Yeah I did all the bone broths and sauerkraut after my challenge. Although I wasn't very good at making sauerkraut... Its summer here now so I've eased up on the bone boiling, plus my local butcher is struggling to obtain them. As you say healing to the point where microscopic cross contamination doesn't get you would be a big win.  I was ok with coffee until last few days. I drank decaff black and would have several cups a day without issue. I'll be gutted if I can't handle it any more. I hadn't realised you could get gluten-free miso soup. Will have to look for that    
    • So I've been glutened....
      Coffee is a no-no for me!  I actually gave up coffee since my diagnosis back on 2/2016.  I was diagnosed by a biopsy in the stomach...no villi.   Coffee is a stimulant to the GI system and it really irritates your GI when you are having a flare up.  I was tested by stools and was informed I barely had good bacteria in my gut which is typically for people with celiac. I went on a high dose of probiotic (just started) twice a day, multivitamin, lots of fermented vegetables like sauerkraut, kimchi, miso soup and tons of bone broth.  I am going to a local farm today to pick up organic bones to make my broth.  I am so desperate to heal my gut, not to introduce gluten but to be able to tolerate an exposure without being knocked out by it....Eat very light, I stick to vegetable juice, resistance starch food such as banana, apples, potatoes boiled until my diarrhea subsides.  I am currently in a flare up stage; did something and I have been glutened I am on day 7 and my symptoms peak after a few days, around day 4-5 and it last a few days of Diarrhea, nausea, sensation of feeling full, back pain in the rib cage on left side and hip/lower back pain on left side.  Its horrible!  I feel weak right now due to the diarrhea and since I am not hungry it makes it worse.  Hope this gets better.
    • DNA Testing
      I got the print out and took it to my new dr because what my RA was saying didn't seem to add up.  When I pressed him for more info, he said I didn't have any of the markers. Turns out he read the test wrong!  Since then, my new doc also questioned all my previous bloodwork and asked why I hadn't been told that my counts were really low or tested for ferritin levels. My ferritin was at 10, so, yeah, 4 other Dr's missed anemia on my labs. It's been frustrating to say the least, but I am finally feeling a little bit hopeful with my new primary doc. She's just referred me to a specialist focusing on celiac. Considering my former gp told me "that whole celiac thing is just a fad", I'm feeling a bit more secure. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,909
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Fourpeople
    Joined