Jump to content





   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Smarties Candies


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 chawk310

 
chawk310

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 27 posts
 

Posted 07 February 2004 - 11:36 AM

Does anyone out there happen to know if Smarties are gluten-free? I am very new at this and cannot find if some of the ingredients are allowed. I want to put these in the goodie bags for my son's birthday party tomorrow. Thanks.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 07 February 2004 - 12:51 PM

"Smarties contain none of the following common allergens: gluten (from wheat, barley, oats, and rye), soybeans, milk, eggs, peanuts, nuts, seeds, fish, shellfish, or mollusks."


This is from a posting by Connie R-E in Baking and Cooking Forum under "Valentine's Day". She is talking about the Smarties Valentine Hearts, but I have seen Smarties on gluten free candy list before. They should be fine. You could always call the company to double check.

What are the ingredients you are questioning anyhow? Maybe we can figure it out that way. We want your son to have a great birthday party, right?

God bless,
Mariann :)
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#3 chawk310

 
chawk310

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 27 posts
 

Posted 07 February 2004 - 02:15 PM

The one ingredient I cannot find on any lists is "calcium stearate". Also lists "artificial flavor and artificial colors.
  • 0

#4 soul04

 
soul04

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2004 - 07:11 AM

I think the only way to really tell if natural and/or artificial colors/flavors are gluten-free is to call the manufacturer.
  • 0

#5 smack

 
smack

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2004 - 10:55 AM

Smarties in Canada contain wheat and should be avoided,

see the link below it is listed as a forbidden treat under miscellaneous, second row far right... :(

http://www.google.ca...&hl=en&ie=UTF-8
  • 0
The beatings will continue until moral improves




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: