Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Budweiser


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 Johnny Cool

 
Johnny Cool

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
 

Posted 26 December 2007 - 03:18 PM

Ever since I started telling people I've been diagnosed with Celiac Disease and that I'm soooo bummed I can no longer drink beer because of the wheat, I've had a ton of people say "Drink Budweiser! It's made from rice!" Is this true?? Or is it an Urban Legend? I've had their Redbridge Beer, which is fine when I'm at home, but I don't find it in a bar or restaurant!! It sure would make my going out and eating out life easier if I could still drink Bud Light. Anybody out there know? :huh:
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 blueeyedmanda

 
blueeyedmanda

    York Fair 2009

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,569 posts
 

Posted 26 December 2007 - 03:24 PM

It would probably contain barley which would be a no-go then. Sorry no bud light.
  • 0
~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~


Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

Posted Image

#3 happygirl

 
happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts
 

Posted 26 December 2007 - 04:01 PM

The reason Budweiser made a gluten free beer is that their other beers weren't gluten free.
  • 0

#4 Johnny Cool

 
Johnny Cool

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
 

Posted 26 December 2007 - 08:00 PM

The reason Budweiser made a gluten free beer is that their other beers weren't gluten free.


Hmmm....good point. <_<
  • 0

#5 hathor

 
hathor

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,031 posts
 

Posted 27 December 2007 - 05:46 AM

Budweiser, like most beers, is made from barley. There are wheat beers, but you don't see them frequently. The nongluten beers I've seen are made from sorghum. I haven't run across any rice beers.
  • 0
McDougall diet (low fat vegan) since 6/00
Gluten free since 1/6/07
Soy free and completely casein and egg free since 2/15/07
Yeast free, on and off, since 3/1/07 -- I can't notice any difference one way or the other

Enterolab results -- 2/15/07
Fecal Antigliladin IgA 140 (Normal Range <10 units)
Fecal Antitissue Transglutaminase IgA 50 (Normal Range <10 units)
Quantitative Microscopic Fecal Fat Score 517 (Normal Range <300 units)
Fecal anti-casein (cow's milk) IgA antibody 127 (Normal Range <10 units)
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0501
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 06xx
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 1,1 (subtype 5,6)
Fecal anti-ovalbumin (chicken egg) IgA antibody 11 (Normal range <10 units)
Fecal Anti-Saccharomyces cerevisiae (dietary yeast) IgA 11 (Normal range <10 units)
Fecal Anti-Soy IgA 119 (Normal Range < 10 units)

#6 NJKen

 
NJKen

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 108 posts
 

Posted 27 December 2007 - 07:32 AM

Budweiser, like most beers, is made from barley. There are wheat beers, but you don't see them frequently. The nongluten beers I've seen are made from sorghum. I haven't run across any rice beers.


In Finland there is a corn beer; it's named "Indian Beer" or something like that, with the face of a Plains Indian in a traditional head dress on the can.
  • 0

#7 hathor

 
hathor

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,031 posts
 

Posted 28 December 2007 - 05:42 AM

Interesting. I wonder if that is because they have such a high rate of celiac?

I would probably like the corn beer.

  • 0
McDougall diet (low fat vegan) since 6/00
Gluten free since 1/6/07
Soy free and completely casein and egg free since 2/15/07
Yeast free, on and off, since 3/1/07 -- I can't notice any difference one way or the other

Enterolab results -- 2/15/07
Fecal Antigliladin IgA 140 (Normal Range <10 units)
Fecal Antitissue Transglutaminase IgA 50 (Normal Range <10 units)
Quantitative Microscopic Fecal Fat Score 517 (Normal Range <300 units)
Fecal anti-casein (cow's milk) IgA antibody 127 (Normal Range <10 units)
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0501
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 06xx
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 1,1 (subtype 5,6)
Fecal anti-ovalbumin (chicken egg) IgA antibody 11 (Normal range <10 units)
Fecal Anti-Saccharomyces cerevisiae (dietary yeast) IgA 11 (Normal range <10 units)
Fecal Anti-Soy IgA 119 (Normal Range < 10 units)

#8 ruthla

 
ruthla

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
 

Posted 28 December 2007 - 05:56 AM

Ever since I started telling people I've been diagnosed with Celiac Disease and that I'm soooo bummed I can no longer drink beer because of the wheat, I've had a ton of people say "Drink Budweiser! It's made from rice!" Is this true?? Or is it an Urban Legend? I've had their Redbridge Beer, which is fine when I'm at home, but I don't find it in a bar or restaurant!! It sure would make my going out and eating out life easier if I could still drink Bud Light. Anybody out there know? :huh:

I think you need to clarify to people that you're not just avoiding wheat; you're also avoiding barley, rye, spelt, and oats and any products that may have come into contact with them. If you had a wheat allergy, but not celiac disease, you wouldn't have a problem with beer.

Can't you drink wine or a mixed drink at bars and restaurants if they don't carry a gluten-free beer? A rum and coke is probably about the same volume of drink and alcohol content as a beer (is rum gluten-free? the only alcohol I ever drink is wine so I'm not sure about all this stuff!)
  • 0
Ruth, single mom to DD1, 14, DD2, 113, and DS, 7

Kosher, low carb (since 6/3/07), gluten free (since 11/15/07), dairy free, mostly legume (incl. soy) free since 2/7/08. Now on the Blood Type Diet (type O) which includes cutting out corn as well. I have fibromyalgia and this diet is helping me feel better.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: