Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Yoplait Yogurt
0

19 posts in this topic

Recently I've noticed that the containers of Yoplait yogurt do not say gluten free on them. Does anyone know if they changed the ingredients?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
Recently I've noticed that the containers of Yoplait yogurt do not say gluten free on them. Does anyone know if they changed the ingredients?

Yoplait is gluten free with the exception of the ones with cookies and granola. There have been reports of random gluten free labeling, but I don't believe it has anything to do with the contents.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Today I just brought some new Yoplait's and they all say Gluten Free and are all new stock. I heard that a lot of the "fat free" and "Light" yogurts (including Yoplait and Dannon and Breyer's etc) are NOT Gluten Free, but the "regular" and "low fat") ones are.

Today I bought Yoplait Thick and Creamy, Yoplait Whips Light and Fluffy (not the Fat Free version) and Yoplait Original. All have expiration dates out in Feb or Mar and all say Gluten Free.

I generally go by the ingredients (watching for the notorious "starches" to be cornstarch or tapioca starch specifically). However, recently there was the Dannon issue, where Dannon came out and said that NONE of their yogurts could be considered gluten-free - I think there was a thread on here with a quote from Dannon.

So, now I buy Breyers Fruit-on-the-Bottom and Yoplait (as above).

I'm going to go to their site (Yoplait) and see what they say - if anything I'll post againl.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the Clan Thompson Food Smartlist (recent entry):

Yoplait has stated that all new products as of Sept 12 2007 that are gluten-free are labeled gluten-free. If it does not say gluten-free it may have CC. Since Sept they have changed their formulas and mfg processes apparently and will label those that are gluten-free and also Cross Contanmination Free.

SO, buy only those that say gluten-free and discard those that do not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

<sigh...>

I just bought a bunch of Yoplait this weekend- I've been eating more of it lately because my guts have been "off". I now wonder if it was the yogurt giving me that feeling!

I checked my fridge yesterday and actually had two of the same flavor- one labeled gluten free, the other not. The un-labeled one has a later date on it.

And I'm assuming this applies to gogurt and smoothies too...? When I was shopping today, the only Yoplait products labeled gluten free were some of the thick & creamy and some of the originals. None of the "fun" things like whips or gogurt. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Yoplait is gluten free with the exception of the cookies and granola whether they are labled gluten free or not. If you read the ingredients, there will be no gluten listed.

Too much yogurt will give me bathroom issues, but it's not gluten related.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is an email from Yoplait

Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.

PO Box 31700

Omaha, NE 68131-0700

402-558-0600

Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)

www.csaceliacs.org

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Amy Sadowski

Consumer Services

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

God, I love this forum. when ever I type into Google is this or that Glutenfree, I can be assured that Celiac.com always pops up and that I will get the right answer. I love you guys, it's so wonderful to see thast there is always somebody else who already aksed the question I was going too! I just bought Yoplait kids Banana for my son, but decided that today was the morning my 15 month old daughter was gonna get her first Yoghurt.due to Celaic she hasn't dealt with any milkproduct well at all, allways got sever stomachcramps, but she just started tolerating Mozzarella cheese, it might be time to see if she is able to take Yoghurt , now that she's been off of gluten for aobut 2 month

This is an email from Yoplait

Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.

PO Box 31700

Omaha, NE 68131-0700

402-558-0600

Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)

www.csaceliacs.org

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Amy Sadowski

Consumer Services

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just talked to Yoplait and she said that they dont say gluten free any more, but she said to look at the ingredients and look for wheat ect. There will be no hidden gluten in the ingredients. Just look for all the grains we cant eat. It mostly looks safe so enjoy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't be so quick to assume that since your stomach has been acting funky now that you're eating more yogurt that it's a gluten reaction. Yogurt is utilized to help bring good bacteria into your body to fight off the bad bacteria...that's why they make that digestive tract help yogurt now, because it's supposed to help get your body more regular. I can't eat a lot of yogurt because of a texture problem :) (same reason why I can't eat bananas...yuck!!) The yogurt might actually help you feel better in the long run :) ones your body gets used to the influx of good bacteria!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just found this on Yoplait's website

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Is Yoplait yogurt gluten free?

Yes, the entire Yoplait yogurt range is gluten free, including Yoplait Original, Yoplait Lite and Yoplait form

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Everybody note that this is a very old thread. Yoplait is gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know if the new Dessert Selctions are gluten free like the strawberry chantilly and the raspberry crumble? Has anyone tried them? It does not indicate any gluten sources in the ingredients so I am guessing that it is gluten-free if they have said that they clearing identify gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't have any right now, but doesn't Yoplait say " gluten free" on the container?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yoplait is General Mills. Simply check the ingredients.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Everyone,

I asked Yoplait my question about their Desert Selections such as Rasberry Crumble and for anyone who is interested, this was the response:

Dear Consumer:

We acknowledge receipt of your question concerning gluten, namely our Yoplait Source Dessert Selection yogurt, and would like to thank you for taking the time to contact us.

Please be advised that we carefully analyze all of our ingredients (presence of wheat, rye, barley, triticale, spelt, oats and malt) to ensure they do not contain gluten. The only Yoplait product containing gluten is our Yoplait Source Muesli Selection yogurt. This product is constituted of two separate components, which are a 130g yogurt container, manufactured and tightly sealed in our production plant, topped with a dome of crunchy cereals, sealed properly and provided by an independent supplier. The yogurt containers and dome of cereals are delivered in other premises for assembly purposes. Therefore, we can assure you that there are no cross-contamination risks with any other Yoplait products which can therefore be safely consumed by people with celiac disease.Consumer satisfaction is always high on our list of priorities.

Thank you for your interest and be assured that Yoplait is continuously working to be the first to offer consumers innovative products of the highest quality.

Sincerely,

Consumer Service

YOPLAIT

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

WOW!

I'm loving Yoplait! :wub:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah I am happy. The strawberry chantilly tastes like cake. I can't get enough of the yogurt now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

YEAH for Yoplait!!!!! Always had my business and will continue to have it. :D

Thanks Carrie....doesn't get much better than that. Miss you around here! ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,662
    • Total Posts
      918,514
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Food tolerance issues post-diagnosis
      In light of the studies that found some probiotics that are labeled gluten-free yet tested over 20ppm I wouldn't touch them. Now those would be the powder or pill forms. Yogurt is not affected by that. Since you don't have a problem with dairy then I would say eat some yogurt every day. I like Chobani Greek because it has more kinds of cultures. Remember now that powder or pill forms of probiotics do not come under the gluten-free labeling law. The same for OTC & prescription meds. You need to check every single one of those. There are a few online sites where you can check things like that or ask here but as far as prescription meds -- call the manufacturer EVERY TIME. I also wanted to tell you in case you didn't already know that since celiac is genetic and can present at ANY age then all your first degree relatives need to be tested every 2 years in the absence of symptoms and immediately if symptoms present between the 2 year periods. As far as the digestive enzymes go, I tried Digest Gold for a short time & it really didn't seem to do anything for me however I will say I had a lot of issues going on at the time so I might not know if they helped or not. I decided to quit them in order to take that out of the equation so I could try to pin down what was causing me distress. The fewer things in the mix you know. I have heard people report the same as your consultant said. Some say they helped & some say they didn't. Remember Jammy, you're just in the beginning stages. I KNOW you want to heal & heal FAST. Been there, done that! It's like this: you didn't get sick overnight & you're not going to heal overnight. Patience is the watchword here. It's hard I know! You just want to get on with your life. We can all relate.  Again, I'm going to say to eat foods easy on your gut. WELL cooked foods. No raw carrots, coconut, nuts & stuff like that. Easier on your gut would be nut butters.... peanut butter, cashew butter, almond butter etc.... It's sort of like being a baby ---  soft, easy to digest foods. Bone broth is a great healer for you gut & extremely nutritious as well as being easy on the digestion. Here's just one recipe: http://wellnessmama.com/5888/how-to-make-bone-broth/
    • Food tolerance issues post-diagnosis
      Thanks for the tip! Will try that out in the next few days. By the way, has anyone had any joy with probiotics or digestive enzymes in terms of symptom relief/speeding up the healing process? I asked my consultant about this when I saw him last week and he said that some people find them beneficial while others don't, but obviously I'm keen to try anything that may help, with uncomfortable fullness/bloating/gas still being my main issue  - is it worth giving them a go?
    • Are The Following Gluten-free?
      I realize that this is an old thread but I would just like to say something about label reading. Just because a product says gluten free on the label doesn't mean that you don't have to read any further and can have complete trust in the product.  There are a lot of products that state that they are gluten free on the package and then you find out that they are processed in plants that also produce wheat products. If you are super sensitive, you need to know that information. I am afraid that there is no escaping reading labels in supermarkets unless you know that the company makes it's products in a truly gluten free environment (even then you should read labels because ingredients can and do change, even in products made in gluten free facilities), It's a pain to stand there and read labels but if you are super sensitive, you might just have to do that. For example, I am gluten and lactose intolerant but also sensitive to nuts and sesame. While it may be fine for other gluten intolerant people to eat something that's labeled gluten free which is produced in a gluten free facility that also processes nuts, for me it is not.. 
    • Golden Bell Pepper Soup (Gluten-Free)
      Dipping your spoon into this bell pepper–sweet potato combo is like dipping into a bowl of sunshine. It's stunning—and the perfect antidote to a gloomy winter's day. This soup also freezes well, so if you're not serving a crowd, store the leftovers for a later date (or make a double batch). I like to enjoy this soup accompanied by my Massaged Kale Salad with Spicy Hazelnuts View the full article
    • Southern-style BBQ Chicken (Gluten-Free)
      Barbecue season is upon us once again, and when I want barbecued chicken, nothing else will do. This recipe makes a sweet, tangy barbecue chicken that will have people smiling. View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,753
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Dubba
    Joined