Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Wheat Germ - Is It Gluten-free?
0

3 posts in this topic

I was told by someone studying nutrition that wheat germ does not contain the the protein (which contains the gluten) so that it is gluten-free.

I am skeptical of this but thought I'd ask you research experts here on the forum what you have discovered about wheat germ - does it, or does it not contain gluten.

Now, my first reaction was - maybe not, but there is probably a good chance of contamination in the final product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

the germ and bran of the grain both contain protein, which includes gliadin. definitely not gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.