Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Old El Paso Taco Seasoning?


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 blondebombshell

 
blondebombshell

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
 

Posted 22 January 2008 - 01:31 PM

is it gluten free? it says MSG and malodextrin.

wasnt sure.
  • 0
- gluten free since August 2007
- endoscopy came back negative for celiac in December 2007
- bloodwork confirms egg allergy
- allergy testing confirms only banana, apple, melon, egg and environmental allergies

i get hives anywhere on my waist down and less bloating/constipation when i do not eat wheat.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
 

Posted 22 January 2008 - 03:23 PM

Old El Paso is a company that adheres to a strict gluten disclosure policy. If any of the gluten grains are present in the product they will be named in the ingredient list. If didn't see wheat, rye, barley or oats named, then they are not there.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 Piesmom

 
Piesmom

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 66 posts
 

Posted 23 January 2008 - 11:55 AM

Yep - Old El Paso taco seasoning mix is perfect. We use it all the time. Good luck!
  • 0
Kelly

Hubby diagnosed 4/06 by scope/biopsy.

#4 blueeyedmanda

 
blueeyedmanda

    York Fair 2009

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,569 posts
 

Posted 23 January 2008 - 12:08 PM

malodextrin is actually safe.


I use this seasoning all the time. Enjoy!
  • 0
~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~


Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

Posted Image

#5 NoGluGirl

 
NoGluGirl

    Slayer Spice

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,905 posts
 

Posted 23 January 2008 - 08:41 PM

is it gluten free? it says MSG and malodextrin.

wasnt sure.

Dear blondebombshell,
Ortega is also safe. It is one I love. They adhere to a very strict labeling policy like Old El Paso.
The last time I checked, all of their products were gluten-free. Daisy sour cream is safe if you can have dairy. The low-fat and fat-free versions are as well. Kraft shredded cheeses (like all Kraft products), clearly label any gluten or casein-containing ingredients.

Sincerely,
NoGluGirl
  • 0
Jin

Strawberry Allergy, mold allergy, dustmites allergy, ragweed allergy, dust allergy, food dye allergy - 1985
Asthma - 1994
Ovarian Cyst - May 1999
Anemia - 2000
4 More Ovarian Cysts - March 2000
Bloodwork for Celiac - November 2000 negative
Colonoscopy, Endoscopy, Intercolisis, Gastric Emptying Study - May and June 2001 negative biopsy
Fibromyalgia - June 2001
IBS - June 2001
Gallbladder Removal - July 28, 2003 after doctor said the tests showed nothing, so it was not gallbladder disease. It was very inflamed and irritated and nearly ruptured the surgeon told me at my 10 day post-op check-up.
Thyroid Disease - August 2004
Celiac Disease - March 2007 Current Dr. refers to me as Celiac, as she says blood tests are often inaccurate.

Official Purple Glittery Bat Keeper, District Attorney, and Chinese Restaurant Owner of The Silver Dragon of Rachelville

#6 gfp

 
gfp

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,311 posts
 

Posted 24 January 2008 - 12:38 AM

malodextrin is actually safe.

Only in North America, in Europe it often comes from wheat ...
  • 0
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (JC, De Bello Gallico Liber III/XVIII)

#7 skichikk18

 
skichikk18

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
 

Posted 26 January 2008 - 04:12 PM

What about the old el paso hard taco shells? Are they ok?
  • 0

#8 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
 

Posted 26 January 2008 - 08:52 PM

What about the old el paso hard taco shells? Are they ok?



The ones I know about are made from corn. Old El Paso is a General mills brand and will clearly disclose gluten in the ingredients list. If you don`t see wheat, barley, rye or oats listed in the ingredients, then they are not there. They will not be hidden in other ingredients.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: