2 replies to this topic

#1 BamBam

BamBam

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 312 posts

Posted 19 December 2004 - 10:29 AM

I am still learning all this gluten stuff, but I want to share with you what happened to my wife this past week. Monday and Tuesday were just every day normal days, work, activiteis etc. On Wednesday she decided to have a big bowl of Honeycomb cereal. She has eaten it in the past, thinking it was okay, even though it had oat flour in it. Well, let me tell you, I thought I was gonna lose her for good this time. Thursday morning was fine, about 3 p.m. on Thursday she had a bout of diarrhea, but just figured it was nerves, she had a doc appointment that day. Friday was worse, more diarrhea and her depression liked kicked into overtime. Everything overwhelmed her. Our house is in a mess right now with the holidays and just not being home, and she was just totally overwhelmed with two or three little projects. Cooking a meal was out of the question, she could not concentrate on anything. Friday night she didn't sleep well and Saturday I didn't know what to do with her, she had bad dreams, her anxiety and depression was full speed ahead. She wasn't eating her meals like she had been and couldn't concentrate on anything, just not a good day. Mid afternoon, she started coming back to reality. I am not joking at all here, she calmed down a lot. She went with me to some ballgames to sell concessions and she really enjoyed herself and today, Sunday is a totally new ball game, she slept well, and has the energy and the want to to do some of the normal activities.
Could this have all been due to eating a bowl of cereal with gluten?
Montana
Self-diagnosed after many tests and no results to feel better
Gluten Free since 8-6-2005
Lactose free for many years
Casein Free since 02/14/06

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 judy05

judy05

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts

Posted 19 December 2004 - 11:43 AM

Yes,