Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Wendy's Frosty's?
0

8 posts in this topic

Hi everyone! I've been trying to eat gluten-free for a while now to support my boyfriend, a Celiac. Only problem is, I work at a Wendy's. Haven't had a burger or fries or anything in a whole month, woo-hoo! But I desperately crave a Frosty. According to Wendy's.com, their Chocolate Frosty's are gluten-free, but I'm a bit concerned about things like dextrose and artificial flavors. Does anyone happen to know where they get their dextrose and such? Are they indeed gluten-free?

Also, if anyone happens to know how they modify the cornstarch for their Strawberry Yogurts, or where the Red 40 food coloring comes from, that'd be incredibly helpfull. That'd just make my month. n____n Thank you!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Dextrose is usually derived from corn. I had a Wendy's chocolate frosty the other day and didn't get glutened, so I believe it is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

my kids have had the frostys at wendy's and they are gluten free - my daughter is very sensitive to gluten. Also the baked potatoe with broccoli and cheese sauce is gluten free as they use corn starch in the cheese sauce.

Sandy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They're gluten-free. Believe me, if Wendy's had any doubt, they wouldn't say so (think lawsuits). Never heard of dextrose being made from wheat in the U.S.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I endulge in Wendy's frosty's quite frequently with no problems. Enjoy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Now Wendy's has new frosty drinks that sound good like Vanilla Bean Frosty, Chocolate Fudge Frosty, Strawberry Frosty, M&M Twisted Frosty, Vanilla Frosty The ingredients they list are ok Just that there are other frostys you would have to be careful with like cookie dough. I guess it all depends on how they are made if they are safe or not. I hope the are ok to have I miss Vanilla Bean drinks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Now Wendy's has new frosty drinks that sound good like Vanilla Bean Frosty, Chocolate Fudge Frosty, Strawberry Frosty, M&M Twisted Frosty, Vanilla Frosty The ingredients they list are ok Just that there are other frostys you would have to be careful with like cookie dough. I guess it all depends on how they are made if they are safe or not. I hope the are ok to have I miss Vanilla Bean drinks

Wendy's is venturing into the "blizzard" and "shakes" market. Their vanilla and chocolate frosty's straight out of the machine are OK. The others (shakes and twisted frosties) have the flavors/ingredients mixed in and they all use the same mixer (from what I witnessed at my last visit). You would need to ask them to clean the machine first.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They do have a full list of gluten free offerings on their website.

www.wendys.com/food/pdf/us/gluten_free_list.pdf

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,691
    • Total Posts
      921,764
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Are you vegan or vegetarian?   I am concerned about your lack of protein and fats in your diet.  These diets can work when you are also gluten free, but as a celiac you can be malnourished.  It is hard to heal when you are slowly starving yourself.   No offense, but some newly diagnosed celiacs end up with food disorders.  Perhaps working with a dietician can help.   What actually are your blood glucose levels?  Did you know that just as Hashimoto's is common with celiacs, so is type 1 diabetes?   Ask your doctor for antibodies testing for Type 1 diabetes (TD1), if your blood glucose levels are not in the normal  range.  You can develop TD1 (LADA) at anytime.   For adults there is a "honeymoon" period which can last for up to five years.  Be on the watch for other AI issues (besides TD1) too.   It is so important to monitor your health after a celiac disease diagnosis!  
    • He was not IGA deficient.  I'm still hoping we can convince the base GI to approve his referral.   Thanks for that thread about TTG Igg.  That's exactly what I was wondering. 
    • Star Anise Foods  rice paper and spring rolls are gluten free they have brown and white rice versions. I have not had issues with these in the past when I used to use them. Should be able to find them on amazon.
    • Hi strawberrymoon, If you are having a blood sugar problem, that can cause nerve damage and tingling.  Nerve damage is often associated with diabetes.  You can ask your doctor to check your A1C level to get an idea how it has been doing. It would probably help your glucose levels to stick with a paleo style diet, avoiding most carbs.  Carbs and meats have a different affect on blood glucose.  Carbs tend to spike blood glucose while meats even it out. There are a lot of negative changes that can happen with high blood glucose.  It is wise to try and get it under control ASAP.  My brother has lost most of his vision in one eye now from high blood glucose.  And he has the tingling symptoms you described.  The tingling can progress to pain in time.  My brother chose to ignore his diabetes and is paying the price for it.  He is doing better at it now but the damage is done. Yes, B-12 deficiency can cause those kind of nerve symptoms.  But if you have high blood sugar that is the more common cause.   Diabetes is not a rare condition.
    • I have been living in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, for two years, and finding gluten-free food is proving more difficult than I thought, even if I am cooking my own food. Wheat flour, called "bot mi" in Vietnamese, seems to creep into a lot of stuff nowadays. What's more, manufacturers do not feel it is important to list bot mi in the ingredients on a food's packaging unless it is a principle ingredient in the food. In other words, soy sauces or wraps with just a tiny bit of wheat flour added to add a touch of thickness or pliability are not guaranteed to list the ingredient. For some genetic reason, Vietnamese people are not nearly as susceptible to food allergies as Westerners - it probably has something to do with exposure to less hygenic foodstuffs having built up an immunity over hundreds of years - so it is not really considered important to split hairs in that department over here. Anyway, I love rice paper but have often gotten glutened by it when I have it. Can any celiac who could tell if a product had gluten by more than just the ingredient list on the back let me know a definitively gluten-free rice paper brand? I know that very few rice paper brands actually list wheat flour in the ingredients, but I don't 100% trust the ingredients list for products made by Vietnamese companies. Call me paranoid. By the way, I have a neurological condition that irreversably breaks down my immune system when I ingest gluten, so I don't want to experiment with trial by fire here.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,695
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    ToniaC
    Joined