Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

What The Heck Is Whey?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Alou123

Alou123

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 07 February 2008 - 04:39 PM

On lots of labels I always see "whey" as an ingredient and I don't know if I can have it. Can I?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gfcookie

gfcookie

    Community Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 07 February 2008 - 04:49 PM

On lots of labels I always see "whey" as an ingredient and I don't know if I can have it. Can I?

no its a dairy thing
  • 0

#3 confusedks

confusedks

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,743 posts

Posted 07 February 2008 - 05:23 PM

You can have it as long as you can tolerate dairy. Whey protein is just a form of dairy. If you're newly diagnosed, you might not be able to tolerate dairy for a while, but if you're okay with dairy, this is fine for you.
  • 1
Dairy/Casein Free- March 2007
Gluten Free- May 2007
Soy Free- August 2007
Sugar Free- January 2008
Starch Free- January 2008
Egg Free (again!)- February 2008
Sulfur Free- May 2008

Dx'd Lyme Disease and co-infections- December 2007

#4 home_based_mom

home_based_mom

    Operation Christmas Child

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts

Posted 07 February 2008 - 05:30 PM

Remember "Little Miss Muffet" eating her curds and whey? "Curds and whey" is just cottage cheese. You should be able to figure out which part of the cottage cheese is the curds and which part is the whey. :lol: :rolleyes:
  • 0
Sandi ~ learning to live in a world obsessed and infested with wheat.
"You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows" probably was not referring to us . . .
"For the love of money gluten is a root of all sorts of evil, and some by longing for it have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs." (apologies to 1 Timothy 6:10 (NASB)
The person we most dislike is still a soul for whom Christ died. (David Jeremiah)

#5 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,994 posts

Posted 07 February 2008 - 07:16 PM

Whey is a milk product. It does not contain gluten, but if you are also casein intolerant you must avoid whey.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: