Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Sweet Baby Ray's Bbq Sauce
0

22 posts in this topic

Hi. I'm new around here and could use some help. I understand that Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauces are gluten free, but when I eat it, I get a reaction like I just ate gluten. Has anyone else had this experience and might have an idea what other ingredient might be causing the reaction? As of now, I've only been diagnosed with gluten intolerance, no other food or additive allergies or sensitivities.

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
Hi. I'm new around here and could use some help. I understand that Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauces are gluten free, but when I eat it, I get a reaction like I just ate gluten. Has anyone else had this experience and might have an idea what other ingredient might be causing the reaction? As of now, I've only been diagnosed with gluten intolerance, no other food or additive allergies or sensitivities.

Thanks!

There is nothing that yells "gluten" and it is well used among members here. There are some corn derived ingredients though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have contacted Sweet Baby Ray's by phone, and was assured it was gluten-free. I have personally eaten it many times with no ill effects, and I'm highly sensitive.

All that said, it may be that you are sensitive to one of the ingredients in the sauce, or it just doesn't agree with you. I've been at this long enough to think that anyone can be sensitive to just about anything :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone. I'll have to do some more research into this problem.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use it regularly.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I use it often and do not get ill from it. Could something else be bothering you?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi. I'm new around here and could use some help. I understand that Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauces are gluten free, but when I eat it, I get a reaction like I just ate gluten. Has anyone else had this experience and might have an idea what other ingredient might be causing the reaction? As of now, I've only been diagnosed with gluten intolerance, no other food or additive allergies or sensitivities.

Thanks!

ME too!!1 That is actually why I am on the site today. I have eaten it 3 times and been sick sick sick all the next days....

Suspicious. I emailed the company. I am very sensitive to gluten. Do not know of any other food intolerances. Including corn..I eat often. What is the UPC code on yours? Maybe we have a "bad or contaminated run"

Original BBQ Sauce: 013409451328 (my UPC) 340 7A is the code on the bottle neck in red. Does anyone have this and NOT reacting?

Shannon

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am also a regular user of Sweet Baby Ray's and haven't had any problems with it. I am also very sensitive to any cc or traces of gluten. Possibly you should check into other intollerances?? Maybe the culprit was what you were putting the sauce on? Just a couple of ideas.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We've had no problems here either. You can always try Kraft BBQ Sauce. I'm not sure if all their flavors are gluten-free but you can just read the label. They are a company that does not hide the gluten

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am also a regular user of Sweet Baby Ray's and haven't had any problems with it. I am also very sensitive to any cc or traces of gluten. Possibly you should check into other intollerances?? Maybe the culprit was what you were putting the sauce on? Just a couple of ideas.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

Thanks. I will not be using it again. I do not think it would be the other things that I ate..... I had chicken (baked in the oven with only SBR sauce) and homemade mashed potatoes. I only ate about 4-6 bites as I wasnt too hungry.

I REALLY think it is the sauce.....just would love to know what ingrediant it is. OOOOO to have a crystal ball :)

Shannon

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love the stuff..but had to give it up. Do you have other intolerances to things that may seem gluten like? I had to give it up because I just decided that something in it was giving me a reaction..but not gluten related.

I want to say that just like me..something in it doesn't agree with you..but yours sounds like gluten symptoms.

I was so thrilled to find out this product was gluten free because it's the only bbq sauce i use..but something in it is still affecting my other stuff.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Like you, I was so excited to learn it was gluten-free and used it over ribs in the slow cooker two times. Subtle reactions both times, so I've stopped using it for a few months. Hmm.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If anyone is Allergic to the Pea family like me, then you also might get a reaction from this product like I do! Tamarind is the last ingredient listed on the product label and Tamarind is a sticky brown acidic pulp from the pod of a tree in the pea family! That's why I can't have it.....I tried it a couple of years ago, then learned what Tamarind was after I had a horrible reaction to the product. I'm allergic to Peas and beans and especially anaphylatic to Soy in any form! No beans or bean flours, no peas, no lima beans, no anything in the bean or pea family for me, unfortunately! I do miss bbq! Gluten free just isn't enough for me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No reaction here and my non gluten-free family loves that I can use a "regular" brand. I didn't even get sick eating at his restaurant. It's in Woodale, IL by the train depot.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was the pan you baked in free from CC? Do you just use that pan for chicken? Have you had it since before you went gluten free? Metal pans and non stick coated pans can harbor enough gluten to cause CC.

I've used this sauce in the past and never had a gluten reaction. I did however subsequently become intolerant of nightshades, and tomato of course is a big component of most all BBQ sauces. Add mashed potatoes to that meal and there's a double dose of nightshades which would send me into agony all night.

Thanks. I will not be using it again. I do not think it would be the other things that I ate..... I had chicken (baked in the oven with only SBR sauce) and homemade mashed potatoes. I only ate about 4-6 bites as I wasnt too hungry.

I REALLY think it is the sauce.....just would love to know what ingrediant it is. OOOOO to have a crystal ball :)

Shannon

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't read the ingredients to sweet baby ray's recently, but I bet there is some sort of sweetener in it and I think that can be hard on the healing gut as well. Maybe that gave you a reaction?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it has trace amounts of gluten, because I too had a reaction, foggy headedness, sudden onset flatulence 10 mins. after ingesting, etc. I will avoid going forward.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't know Sweet Baby Ray's was gluten-free! May try it again.

We use Cookies BBQ sauce since it is gluten-free (says so on the label), and hubby has not reacted to it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please note that you are replying to a 3-year old thread so ingredients may change from time to time.

But the good news is that Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ Sauce is gluten-free. http://www.sweetbabyraysmeats.com/FAQ

If someone is newly diagnosed, your tummy may be pretty wonky at first and you may even react to things that are gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can not use it.  Questionable ingredients include Caramel and Modified Food Starch which can vary in their source.....I have felt good for days until tonight.  The only new thing I used was Sweet Baby Rays.  =(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can not use it.  Questionable ingredients include Caramel and Modified Food Starch which can vary in their source.....I have felt good for days until tonight.  The only new thing I used was Sweet Baby Rays.  =(

Deanna - I have used Sweet Baby Ray's for years.  I've been gluten free for almost ten years. Caramel color is no longer considerend  an issue and safe to consume. Modified food starch (unless it's emphasized or followed by "wheat", by law)  is generally corn.  All of Sweet Baby Ray's are gluten free. I do think they contain HFCS which does bother me  in other products. Gluten in SBR's is not one of my concerns.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Deanna - I have used Sweet Baby Ray's for years.  I've been gluten free for almost ten years. Caramel color is no longer considerend  an issue and safe to consume. Modified food starch (unless it's emphasized or followed by "wheat", by law)  is generally corn.  All of Sweet Baby Ray's are gluten free. I do think they contain HFCS which does bother me  in other products. Gluten in SBR's is not one of my conerns.

Exactly!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0