Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

New To Gluten Free... Feeling Spacey

9 posts in this topic

Another question from a newbie here. It has been about a week and a half now since my daughter and I went gluten free. We both went on a regiment of supplements as recommended as well. We both have adjusted pretty easily and are feeling great. My only side effect has been that I feel a little spacey sometimes during the day. It was especially bad the first three days.... it seems to be getting a little better each day. My energy and mood are great... it is just kind of a cloudy feeling. For example during exercise, biking is easy, but with tennis my focus, timing are cloudy. Is it normal for some people to go through this? Is there something I can do about it or do I just have to wait it out until it goes away?

Ads by Google:

Apparently you are going through withdrawal. Be glad you are only feeling spacey, some people feel like they are going off hard drugs! Gluten acts like an opioid on the brains of people who are intolerant. Your brain isn't happy with you 'depriving' it of its favourite drug.

I am glad you are otherwise feeling so much better. I am sure the spacey feeling will be gone shortly, and you will feel sharper mentally than you have in a long time.

I feel like that too sometimes where it can happen when I simply talk to someone and then embarassingly ask them to repeat the question; but I get dizzy with it too sometimes. It only lasts for a few seconds but it's stupid.

How long do 'withdrawl' symptoms last, in general?