Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Yoplait Yogurt Whips
0

7 posts in this topic

I wrote Yoplait asking if the Whips are gluten free. They didn't answer that question. This is the reply that I received from them:

All headers

Dear Ms. Martin:

Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.

PO Box 31700

Omaha, NE 68131-0700

402-558-0600

Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)

www.csaceliacs.org

All Yoplait Original, Light, and Thick & Creamy yogurts are gluten free at this time, but we encourage consumers to continue checking the label for any sources of gluten if the product is not marked GLUTEN FREE.

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Amy Sadowski

Consumer Services

>Original Message From: wmartin2501@wowway.com

>

>Originated by Consumer I've noticed that some of the Yoplait yogurt that I have purchased in the last few month states GLUTEN FREE on the label. I had been led to believe that all Yoplait yogurt was gluten free unless it contained cookies. Are the Whips gluten free? :

2/160

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Actually this is exactly what you want to hear. Yoplait lists any gluten in their ingredients, so all you have to do is read. No lists to carry around or to become outdated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They actually answered more than your question. You asked about a specific product...the letter is for ALL their products ...and they say they will list any ingredient or flavoring clearly so that if some flavour is wheat based - it will be clearly labeled etc.

Companies put the onus back on the consumer to read all labels. Yoplait is saying - read the label - if no gluten is listed then it isnt there (hidden or otherwise).

Sandy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Actually this is exactly what you want to hear. Yoplait lists any gluten in their ingredients, so all you have to do is read. No lists to carry around or to become outdated.

To update this information with what I just learned. I spoke to a woman at the 800-967-5248 which is the number listed on either the Yoplait light or the whips. Anyway, she indicated to me that if the yogurt is Gluten Free it will be listed on the back. If not then it is not. She was very blunt about it and less then excited to help me.

Nancy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
To update this information with what I just learned. I spoke to a woman at the 800-967-5248 which is the number listed on either the Yoplait light or the whips. Anyway, she indicated to me that if the yogurt is Gluten Free it will be listed on the back. If not then it is not. She was very blunt about it and less then excited to help me.

Nancy

I just called Yoplait. In a world of law suits everyone is covering their behinds.

When a container is listed as gluten free, they are confident there is no change of cross contamination.

But most companies will not list something as gluten free unless it is tested, regardless of no gluten ingredients.

Yoplait ( a General Mills Company) will always list ALL forms of gluten in their ingredient listing. So all you need do is read the ingredient list and if you do not see wheat, rye, barley or malt, it is safe to consume.

It's always good to call the company, but remember that your information is only as good as you customer service rep. Rely on your instincts.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I've looked but haven't seen any Yoplait with "gluten free" on it in Canada - has anyone ???

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Yoplait may be taking the "Gluten free" statement off their labeling. I haven't contacted the company yet, but I was at the local grocery store and saw that the Yoplait yogurt there said "gluten free." I didn't need any yogurt then, so I waited and was going to get some when I went to Walmart a week later. I just happened to read the labels again, and none of them (they were slightly more recently packaged) said "gluten free." I know Great Value is changing all of their labeling, so maybe Yoplait is following suit. I didn't notice any new, gluten-containing ingredients listed though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,374
    • Total Posts
      920,570
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • https://www.facebook.com/groups/SingaporeCeliacs/
    • Today was the big day when I went to the GI and this is the first time I have felt heard about and well taken care of.  I told him about the two celiac blood tests  (in my first post) normal, he said that often happens, even with people who do have celiac and he needed to see the report and pictures from my endoscope.    I had filled out the appropriate Kaiser paperwork for Sutter to send all my medical records, but they ended up sending a celiac disease to me with the records, which Sutter said they could not use.  We also talked about gluten sensitivity v. celiac, and he said a lot of people are sensitive to gluten even if they don't have celiac. He said that my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which can be caused by any number of things.  He asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which limits certain foods and requires no gluten due to what being He said my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which he said can be caused by any number of things, including gluten sensitivity.  He has asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which has restricted foods as well as no gluten because most gluten products have wheat in them.  So, since I am planning on going gluten free anyway, and I don't want another endoscope or blood tests if absolutely necessary, I am going to try the FODMAP diet and see what happens. I filled a consent form at the GI office today to have all my records sent to him so he can view the endoscope pathology report and photos.  I have an appointment with a Registered Dietician on September 30, and follow up appointment the GI in 4 months. 
    • gluten-free andee, according to an article on celiac.com  that talks about this subject see this link http://www.celiac.com/articles/24406/1/Celiac-Diease-and-Other-Autoimmune-Diseases-Equals-Low-Inflammatory-Diet/Page1.html Quoting the author "In the author's personal experience, a gluten-free diet has many limitations. The reactivity between alpha gliadin and corn, millet, oats, rice and dairy has been denounced as invalid by gastroenterologists and celiac disease researchers. While at a medical school in Missouri, biopsies did not show improvement in villous atropy until all alpha gliadin sources and corn, millet, rice and oats were removed from the diet."  Note this research is two years old but hilites the problem with non-gluten rice protein that you are having. It is the alpha gliadin sources that it causing the cross reactivity you are experiencing when you eat rice protein's. She says quoting "Celiac disease has gotten the most attention in antibody research, but the current data on cross-reactivity of antibodies is allowing a better understanding of gluten sensitivity. Antigen reactivity to alpha-gliadin can trigger immune attacks on many individuals beyond those with positive DQ 2, DQ 8 and TTG test results. She goes on to say "A low inflammatory diet customized to each person through testing for cross-reactivity or elimination diet protocols is needed to restore a state of health and well-being."  which sounds exactly like what you are doing. If you are still having problems after elminating rice a 30 day elimination of all the alpha gliadin proteins might be in order.  Corn is a common reactivity problem I hear with a gluten allergy from my friends as well as the obvious lactose problems that can be common among celiacs.  But rarely do you hear Rice allergy's brought up in context of a gluten allergy. I am glad you are making progress on finding your triggers. Read the whole article for yourself to see if there are nuggets of truth I did not highlight in my response. I hope this is helpful. Good luck on your journey to health. Posterboy,
    • One other thing - you might be able to tolerate some dairy if it's only the FODMAPs problem. I discovered that many cheese such as cheddar have effectively no lactose. And my wife sometimes makes 24 hour yoghurt, which also has effectively no lactose. Those have been fine for my tummy.
    • I'm new to the forum, so this topic may already have been covered....please forgive me, if that's the case.  I am in the beginning stages of guiding the development of a 504 plan to file for my 6th-grade daughter who was diagnosed with Celiac Disease 2 weeks ago. The diagnosis was made with a biopsy. My first question...A 504 is what's necessary....not just the IHCP, correct or no? I have the Physician's Statement & the Medical Evaluation report from our GI specialist. What else do I need to have at the ready? The team has requested we go ahead and write the IHCP & then include it with the 504.  And my second question...What accommodations have others found relevant to include on the IHCP  & 504? I just watched a 504-Plan webinar I found on this forum & it recommends the following: -access to gluten-free food in classroom & cafeteria - excused absence from activities that use gluten-containing foods or materials -  prevent cross-contamination in school food service - use of microwave to heat personal meals -  bathroom priveleges Is there anything I need to consider adding? My daughter does prefer eating school meals rather than packing a lunch from home & I am concerned about special events, overnight field trips etc. My learning curve is steep. What am I missing? Teach me, please & thanks so much! This forum has already helped me tremendously these past few weeks.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,450
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chellygirl
    Joined