Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten-free Easter Candy?
0

15 posts in this topic

Easter is right around the corner! Does anyone know any typical Easter candy that may be gluten-free? So far, I am aware that Jelly Bellys are :D

Thanks!

~Lore :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Ohhh, I can't wait for people to respond to this thread! LOL! I want to know about Peeps! :P

I know that Starbursts and Skittles are.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ohhh, I can't wait for people to respond to this thread! LOL! I want to know about Peeps! :P

I know that Starbursts and Skittles are.

Peeps are gluten free.

Here is a list of gluten free candy. I believe that it is 2007 update. As noted recently on this site, Cadbury Eggs are NO LONGER GLUTEN FREE. <_<

http://files.meetup.com/30853/gluten-free%20Candy%2...ober%202007.pdf

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If only we could have some skittles . . . *sigh*

We're still trying to track down some issues with my daughter. We know blue dye is a problem and now suspect red dye as well. Found a neat little website that has all kinds of niche candy . . . gluten-free, caisen free, dye free, vegan, etc

http://www.illinoisnut.com/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know for a fact that Marshmallow Peeps by Just Born are listed as gluten free. see this news release:

http://justborn.com/news/032308a_easter.html

In addition, Hershey does not maintain a gluten free listing but will always clearly label allergens in accordance with the following page:

http://www.hersheys.com/nutrition/ingredients.asp

Cadbury Mini Eggs are in the Hershey family and are my FAVORITE.... i'm fairly certain that they are gluten free, but just check the ingredients listing :)

keep 'em coming. we loves us some candy!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Cadbury Mini Eggs are in the Hershey family and are my FAVORITE.... i'm fairly certain that they are gluten free, but just check the ingredients listing :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Cadbury Mini Eggs are in the Hershey family and are my FAVORITE.... i'm fairly certain that they are gluten free, but just check the ingredients listing :)

Joe,

Information from another thread indicated that Cadbury Eggs NOW LIST WHEAT GLUCOSE, and it is clearly listed on the ingredients. Bummer! (seen it with my own eyes) <_<

thanks Lisa.... but I actually meant the Cadbury Mini Eggs... they are the small solid chocolate eggs with the hard candy shell. my absolute favorite candy. I haven't seen the ingredients myself, but my sister is my biggest advocate and she looked it up for me somewhere. I was never a big fan of the big cadbury eggs with all of that goo inside anyway ;) haha, yeah i'll keep telling myself that!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Starburst jelly beans are gluten-free. it says so right on the bag :D I've been through 2 bags already :ph34r:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you everyone!!!!

So far I know that

Jelly Belly

Starburst/jelly beans

Sour skittles- are regular skittles? I've seen "GLUTEN FREE" on the sour bag but not reg.

Peeps- YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Funny story about Peeps... last Easter while my family and I went to church my dog was at home alone with the Easter baskets and we came back to find that our Peeps were gone! Then I looked at my dog whose face was covered in purple foam :lol:

Keep it comin!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Cadbury Mini Eggs are in the Hershey family and are my FAVORITE.... i'm fairly certain that they are gluten free, but just check the ingredients listing :)

Joe,

Information from another thread indicated that Cadbury Eggs NOW LIST WHEAT GLUCOSE, and it is clearly listed on the ingredients. Bummer! (seen it with my own eyes) <_<

Momma Goose - during your candy research did you come across any info about what kind of grain alcohol they use in vanillin. I've eaten some candies that appear to be gluten free, but for some reason I will have a slight gluten type reaction (itchng, etc). When I read the ingredients, the only suspect I see is the grain alcohol in the vanillin. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi folks.

It has been a very long time since I've posted on here. In any event, this is what I posted to someone making inquiries with my children's special dietary group here in sunny Tucson, Az :D . The information comes from Clan Thompson (how would we survive without them??). This is regarding the specifics about Peeps:

Peeps Blue Chicks

Peeps Cocoa Bunnies

Peeps Cocoa Cats

Peeps Ghosts

Peeps Green Chicks

Peeps Hearts

Peeps Lavendar Chicks

Peeps Pink Chicks

Peeps Pumpkins

Peeps Snowmen

Peeps Sugar Free Chicks

Peeps Trees

Peeps White Chicks

Peeps Yellow Chicks

All are gluten free. All are casein free except for the cocoa flavors. Some are on dedicated lines, others are not (but are washed in between productions). I would let my daughter eat any of them though as that is a matter of comfort level, and I am comfortable with it.

:D Diana

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Momma Goose - during your candy research did you come across any info about what kind of grain alcohol they use in vanillin. I've eaten some candies that appear to be gluten free, but for some reason I will have a slight gluten type reaction (itchng, etc). When I read the ingredients, the only suspect I see is the grain alcohol in the vanillin. :)

As noted on a separate thread regarding Cadbury Mini Eggs, Hershey's will NOT guarantee the gluten status of this product. Hershey also stated that "natural flavor" in ANY OF THEIR PRODUCTS ARE NOT CONSIDERED GLUTEN FREE. They will not identify any gluten source from their suppliers as it is "propriety information and they are not required to disclose". SO, therefore their product may or may not contain barley, malt or rye.... (as per a conversation with a supervisor 3-6-08 )

SHAME ON HERSHEY! :angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
SHAME ON HERSHEY! :angry:

I agree! Why do they have to be so difficult?!?! We aren't out to steal their recipes. We'd just like to buy their products!

Please keep the lists coming...I'm still thinking about putting Lego pieces in the eggs (my son LOVES Legos), maybe some coins, but you have to have some candy. Although, as scared as I've been lately about what he eats maybe I could just fill them with pure, 100%, gluten free, sugar! :lol:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I agree! Why do they have to be so difficult?!?! We aren't out to steal their recipes. We'd just like to buy their products!

Please keep the lists coming...I'm still thinking about putting Lego pieces in the eggs (my son LOVES Legos), maybe some coins, but you have to have some candy. Although, as scared as I've been lately about what he eats maybe I could just fill them with pure, 100%, gluten free, sugar! :lol:

My goodness that's hilarious. But no kidding either!

FYI: Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten free.

~Diana

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yay for peeps!

now for the really important thing - how long should you open the package for.

Yah, I like my peeps 'aged' :o - the texture is so much better when they're slightly stale :D .

Any advice for the perfect amount of stale-ness?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,113
    • Total Posts
      919,443
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • hey! Wondering if I can get some good info/help from you guys! I just signed up for this website couple weeks ago. Whenever I would Google things this was always the first to pop up and I always found info on things I googled. I am pretty new to the gluten free thing. I had a hernia surgery back in Jan and after that I kept throwing up after eating, the DR. told me it was probably acid reflex caused from surgery but all the meds I tried nothing helped. I went back and was told to cut gluten out. I have been doing so since. When I first started I felt like I had it under control and didn't throw up for 3 weeks, now I find it happening more often. I do buy gluten-free things and read labels to the best I can. My frustration comes from not knowing what its from. How do you know if its from the day before or what you just ate? I hate not knowing. Especially when I haven't had gluten (or so I think) I have been keeping a journal but I just find it so hard. I get this feeling in my stomach and can feel it in my throat. Sometimes I puke once sometimes 5 times! Yesterday for lunch I made an omlet with chicken mushrooms and feta cheese. I threw up almost 20 min after. I have also tried the no dairy thing and it doesn't seem to make a difference so I don't think dairy is an issue as well.
    • I have been on a gluten-free diet for exactly one-year. During that time, I have had no stomach issues or problems when I inadvertently ingested gluten. The other day, I had GI discomfort (no vomiting or diarrhea) and my blood pressure spiked t0 200/98 (normally 119/75). As my GI discomfort subsided, my pressure crept back to normal. This took about 16-hours. I know that I ingested something with gluten, which I had thought was gluten-free.  It never bothered me before. Should I expect that the longer I'm gluten-free, the more susceptible I will be to having a pronounced reaction to inadvertent gluten exposure? Has anyone else had similar experiences with blood pressure spikes?
    • If this is helpful: My local public library had a copy of Breaking the Vicious Cycle by Elaine Gottschall.  There is a Facebook group, I believe it is easily found by searching SCD Diet, and it's a closed group.  If you go directly to the official website of Breaking the Vicious Cycle, there's lots of information for free available, including the basics about the intro diet and beyond.  I would go to the original source of this diet rather than go to other groups/books who have perhaps veered away from Elaine Gottschall's fundamentals. Best wishes to you!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,150
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Ayryil
    Joined