Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Dairy-free & Soy-free Butter / Margarine


  • Please log in to reply

16 replies to this topic

#1 ive

 
ive

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
 

Posted 27 February 2008 - 03:55 PM

I am looking for a dairy-free and soy-free butter / margarine. I looked at all margarines in 3 stores nearby, but all of them have either soybean oil or whey powder in the ingredients.
Can you recommend any brand of DF/SF margarine? I really hope that such product exists.
I guess I should also mention that I live in Canada.
  • 0
Better safe than glutened

Dairy Free / Gluten Free / Soy Free / Corn Free / Mostly Nut Free / Legumes Free
Low histamine / amine / glutamate diet
Restricted animal protein diet

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 jmengert

 
jmengert

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 461 posts
 

Posted 27 February 2008 - 04:10 PM

The only thing I've found is Smart Squeeze, which is a very liquid form of "butter"--however, because it comes in a squeeze bottle, you can't use it for cooking/baking. I use it for things like butter on potatoes, waffles, shrimp scampi, veggies, etc. To bake I use coconut oil or shortening, depending on the recipe.

It tastes pretty good--a bit salty, in my opinion, but it gives that butter flavor I had been missing.

I hope you can find it up by you! I've also verified by the company (Smart Balance) that it is, indeed, soy, gluten, and dairy free.
  • 0
*Julie*
Gluten free since December 2004
Soy free since June 2005
Dairy free since July 2006

#3 happygirl

 
happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts
 

Posted 27 February 2008 - 04:54 PM

Ghee, which is clarified butter, is casein free.

For some things, people replace butter with Spectrum Shortening.
  • 0

#4 Juliebove

 
Juliebove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts
 

Posted 27 February 2008 - 07:38 PM

The only thing I've found is Smart Squeeze, which is a very liquid form of "butter"--however, because it comes in a squeeze bottle, you can't use it for cooking/baking. I use it for things like butter on potatoes, waffles, shrimp scampi, veggies, etc. To bake I use coconut oil or shortening, depending on the recipe.

It tastes pretty good--a bit salty, in my opinion, but it gives that butter flavor I had been missing.

I hope you can find it up by you! I've also verified by the company (Smart Balance) that it is, indeed, soy, gluten, and dairy free.


I use that too. Wonderful stuff. For cooking/baking, I will usually use coconut oil or sometimes Spectrum shortening and a bit of imitation butter extract. The Smart Squeeze isn't sold everywhere. Here it is only sold at QFC.
  • 0

#5 BRUMI1968

 
BRUMI1968

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 999 posts
 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 07:20 PM

Ghee is not really "dairy" free since it comes from cows. It is cows butter that has been heated and had the stuff that floats to the top skimmed off. This supposedly is the casein and the lactose. However, one should not refer to it as DAIRY free. I cannot do dairy or get instantly constipated - and that includes ghee, unfortunately.

Two things to try for "butter": 1) freeze some olive oil. 2) coconut oil (virgin) with salt. I use the second one all the time as "butter", and it works very well. Additionally, it is good for you in other ways too.

Good luck.
  • 0

#6 jayhawkmom

 
jayhawkmom

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 727 posts
 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 07:42 PM

Mother's Margarine - kosher for passover, is dairy and soy free. But, it's ONLY available prior to Passover, and it's not always easy to locate. I found some last year and about 8 lbs of it to freeze and use throughout the year.


Mother's has other Kosher margarines, and the Kosher for Passover one is the ONLY one that's soy free. The others are KOSHER, but NOT ok for use during Passover and they are made primarily from soy. The non-soy version is made from cottonseed and coconut oil, if I remember correctly. (sorry, I don't feel like going to the freezer to look, LOL!) My kids are both soy and dairy free, it's the ONLY thing we can use.
  • 0
Jayhawkmom -
Mom of three....
Jay - 11
Bean - 8
Ian - 3

#7 gluten15

 
gluten15

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts
 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 08:33 PM

I use good coconut oil for everything. Once you get used to it..you will love it..won't miss butter and it's so good for you. I used to be a butter freak.

http://www.Lame Adve...c...d=4716&at=0
  • 0

#8 Gentleheart

 
Gentleheart

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 361 posts
 

Posted 01 March 2008 - 11:18 PM

Mother's Margarine - kosher for passover, is dairy and soy free. But, it's ONLY available prior to Passover, and it's not always easy to locate. I found some last year and about 8 lbs of it to freeze and use throughout the year.


Mother's has other Kosher margarines, and the Kosher for Passover one is the ONLY one that's soy free. The others are KOSHER, but NOT ok for use during Passover and they are made primarily from soy. The non-soy version is made from cottonseed and coconut oil, if I remember correctly. (sorry, I don't feel like going to the freezer to look, LOL!) My kids are both soy and dairy free, it's the ONLY thing we can use.


Since I can't have dairy, corn or soy, I have really missed anything resembling butter. Would you mind posting the exact ingredients of the Mother's Margarine sometime? It's getting near the time when it might be available. Thanks!
  • 0

#9 Gentleheart

 
Gentleheart

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 361 posts
 

Posted 02 March 2008 - 05:35 PM

Could anyone who has some Mother's Margarine for Passover that is dairy, soy and corn free please post the exact ingredients from the package? I would sure appreciate it. Thanks!
  • 0

#10 minniejack

 
minniejack

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
 

Posted 22 November 2008 - 04:54 PM

I had seen on this site that Ghee is considered casein and gluten free and the other products out there don't even come close to making me happy. So...I found the Ghee at a Whole Foods Market and....it is fantabulous!!!

Actually tastes like the real thing.

Even though it is made from milk the solids are removed making it casein free--it is even listed as a safe substitue in the Autism/ADHD book.

Really, Really, Good Stuff--Pricey, but oh, so worth it!!

  • 0

#11 MaryJones2

 
MaryJones2

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,037 posts
 

Posted 22 November 2008 - 08:54 PM

Could anyone who has some Mother's Margarine for Passover that is dairy, soy and corn free please post the exact ingredients from the package? I would sure appreciate it. Thanks!



I pulled a few tubs of Mother's passover margarine out of the freezer tonight and here are the ingredients:

Original (blue tub) = Partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil, water, salt, vegetable mono & diglycerides, potassium sorbate (a preservative), artifical flavor, citric acid, vitamin a palmitate added, annatto (color)

Sweet Unsalted (orange tub) = Partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil, water, vegetable mono & diglycerides, potassium sorbate (a preservative), artifical flavor, citric acid, vitamin a palmitate added, annatto (color)

Both are labeled gluten free & dairy free and kosher for passover, pareve.
  • 0

---------------------------------

MP - celiac for 10 years

 


#12 RiceGuy

 
RiceGuy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,520 posts
 

Posted 24 November 2008 - 10:49 AM

The only one I'm aware of is Fleischmann's Unsalted, which is made from corn. Thing is, all the margarines I've seen are partially hydrogenated (trans fats).

I always recommend coconut oil in place of butter/margarine anyway. It's so very yummy, and healthy too. If you can afford it, here's the very best I have every tasted.
  • 0
A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.

#13 AZKat

 
AZKat

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
 

Posted 04 December 2008 - 12:58 AM

Hi,

I am gluten, casein, and soy free as well. The only margarine I can use is Fleischmann's Light,
in the tub. Although the package says contains soy, I spoke with the company. It s made
on the same lines as their other margarines which all contain soy. They clean the line in
between, but cannot guarantee that there isn't a trace of soy cross contamination. That is
what I was told. I react pretty fast to soy, and I use this all the time. It is good as a spread or on baked potatoes, but not really suitable for frying or baking.

When I bake and need butter I use the Spectrum Palm Oil Shortening with a little McCormick imitation butter flavor.
  • 0

#14 JerryA

 
JerryA

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 17 December 2008 - 04:09 PM

Does anyone know if Imperial margarine is gluten-free & casein-free?

I have allergies to gluten, dairy & eggs. Not sure yet about beans, (legumes) in general. Some of them I can handle. Still investigating ;)

Thanks
Jerry
  • 0

#15 RiceGuy

 
RiceGuy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,520 posts
 

Posted 18 December 2008 - 06:17 AM

Does anyone know if Imperial margarine is gluten-free & casein-free?

I have allergies to gluten, dairy & eggs. Not sure yet about beans, (legumes) in general. Some of them I can handle. Still investigating ;)

Thanks
Jerry

Last I saw, Imperial had whey in it, so it would not be casein-free, nor lactose-free for that matter.

Earth Balance is gluten-free and dairy-free, though I think it has canola, and soy in it.
  • 0
A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: