Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Dairy-free & Soy-free Butter / Margarine
0

17 posts in this topic

I am looking for a dairy-free and soy-free butter / margarine. I looked at all margarines in 3 stores nearby, but all of them have either soybean oil or whey powder in the ingredients.

Can you recommend any brand of DF/SF margarine? I really hope that such product exists.

I guess I should also mention that I live in Canada.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

The only thing I've found is Smart Squeeze, which is a very liquid form of "butter"--however, because it comes in a squeeze bottle, you can't use it for cooking/baking. I use it for things like butter on potatoes, waffles, shrimp scampi, veggies, etc. To bake I use coconut oil or shortening, depending on the recipe.

It tastes pretty good--a bit salty, in my opinion, but it gives that butter flavor I had been missing.

I hope you can find it up by you! I've also verified by the company (Smart Balance) that it is, indeed, soy, gluten, and dairy free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ghee, which is clarified butter, is casein free.

For some things, people replace butter with Spectrum Shortening.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The only thing I've found is Smart Squeeze, which is a very liquid form of "butter"--however, because it comes in a squeeze bottle, you can't use it for cooking/baking. I use it for things like butter on potatoes, waffles, shrimp scampi, veggies, etc. To bake I use coconut oil or shortening, depending on the recipe.

It tastes pretty good--a bit salty, in my opinion, but it gives that butter flavor I had been missing.

I hope you can find it up by you! I've also verified by the company (Smart Balance) that it is, indeed, soy, gluten, and dairy free.

I use that too. Wonderful stuff. For cooking/baking, I will usually use coconut oil or sometimes Spectrum shortening and a bit of imitation butter extract. The Smart Squeeze isn't sold everywhere. Here it is only sold at QFC.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ghee is not really "dairy" free since it comes from cows. It is cows butter that has been heated and had the stuff that floats to the top skimmed off. This supposedly is the casein and the lactose. However, one should not refer to it as DAIRY free. I cannot do dairy or get instantly constipated - and that includes ghee, unfortunately.

Two things to try for "butter": 1) freeze some olive oil. 2) coconut oil (virgin) with salt. I use the second one all the time as "butter", and it works very well. Additionally, it is good for you in other ways too.

Good luck.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Mother's Margarine - kosher for passover, is dairy and soy free. But, it's ONLY available prior to Passover, and it's not always easy to locate. I found some last year and about 8 lbs of it to freeze and use throughout the year.

Mother's has other Kosher margarines, and the Kosher for Passover one is the ONLY one that's soy free. The others are KOSHER, but NOT ok for use during Passover and they are made primarily from soy. The non-soy version is made from cottonseed and coconut oil, if I remember correctly. (sorry, I don't feel like going to the freezer to look, LOL!) My kids are both soy and dairy free, it's the ONLY thing we can use.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Mother's Margarine - kosher for passover, is dairy and soy free. But, it's ONLY available prior to Passover, and it's not always easy to locate. I found some last year and about 8 lbs of it to freeze and use throughout the year.

Mother's has other Kosher margarines, and the Kosher for Passover one is the ONLY one that's soy free. The others are KOSHER, but NOT ok for use during Passover and they are made primarily from soy. The non-soy version is made from cottonseed and coconut oil, if I remember correctly. (sorry, I don't feel like going to the freezer to look, LOL!) My kids are both soy and dairy free, it's the ONLY thing we can use.

Since I can't have dairy, corn or soy, I have really missed anything resembling butter. Would you mind posting the exact ingredients of the Mother's Margarine sometime? It's getting near the time when it might be available. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could anyone who has some Mother's Margarine for Passover that is dairy, soy and corn free please post the exact ingredients from the package? I would sure appreciate it. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had seen on this site that Ghee is considered casein and gluten free and the other products out there don't even come close to making me happy. So...I found the Ghee at a Whole Foods Market and....it is fantabulous!!!

Actually tastes like the real thing.

Even though it is made from milk the solids are removed making it casein free--it is even listed as a safe substitue in the Autism/ADHD book.

Really, Really, Good Stuff--Pricey, but oh, so worth it!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Could anyone who has some Mother's Margarine for Passover that is dairy, soy and corn free please post the exact ingredients from the package? I would sure appreciate it. Thanks!

I pulled a few tubs of Mother's passover margarine out of the freezer tonight and here are the ingredients:

Original (blue tub) = Partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil, water, salt, vegetable mono & diglycerides, potassium sorbate (a preservative), artifical flavor, citric acid, vitamin a palmitate added, annatto (color)

Sweet Unsalted (orange tub) = Partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil, water, vegetable mono & diglycerides, potassium sorbate (a preservative), artifical flavor, citric acid, vitamin a palmitate added, annatto (color)

Both are labeled gluten free & dairy free and kosher for passover, pareve.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only one I'm aware of is Fleischmann's Unsalted, which is made from corn. Thing is, all the margarines I've seen are partially hydrogenated (trans fats).

I always recommend coconut oil in place of butter/margarine anyway. It's so very yummy, and healthy too. If you can afford it, here's the very best I have every tasted.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

I am gluten, casein, and soy free as well. The only margarine I can use is Fleischmann's Light,

in the tub. Although the package says contains soy, I spoke with the company. It s made

on the same lines as their other margarines which all contain soy. They clean the line in

between, but cannot guarantee that there isn't a trace of soy cross contamination. That is

what I was told. I react pretty fast to soy, and I use this all the time. It is good as a spread or on baked potatoes, but not really suitable for frying or baking.

When I bake and need butter I use the Spectrum Palm Oil Shortening with a little McCormick imitation butter flavor.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know if Imperial margarine is gluten-free & casein-free?

I have allergies to gluten, dairy & eggs. Not sure yet about beans, (legumes) in general. Some of them I can handle. Still investigating ;)

Thanks

Jerry

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does anyone know if Imperial margarine is gluten-free & casein-free?

I have allergies to gluten, dairy & eggs. Not sure yet about beans, (legumes) in general. Some of them I can handle. Still investigating ;)

Thanks

Jerry

Last I saw, Imperial had whey in it, so it would not be casein-free, nor lactose-free for that matter.

Earth Balance is gluten-free and dairy-free, though I think it has canola, and soy in it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Last I saw, Imperial had whey in it, so it would not be casein-free, nor lactose-free for that matter.

Earth Balance is gluten-free and dairy-free, though I think it has canola, and soy in it.

Thank you RiceGuy, I didn't know this about Imperial. It's also the only margarine I've ever eaten before, although it has been years since I tried it.

I'm ok with canola, I'm pretty sure I have a legume problem though but still checking that out, but I'll give the Earth Balance a try. Thanks again for the help.

Jerry

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome. I have been gluten-free for 3 years, and 3 weeks ago, my doctor told me I needed to stay away from dairy and nuts. Soy and eggs have also been giving me problems. Is there a brand of butter that is dairy and soy free, if so where can I find it? I live in West Michigan. Also, what do I do for cheese?

Twila

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,090
    • Total Posts
      920,307
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi, No, I do not have celiac  disease. I have an ankylosing spondylitis which is an auto-immune disease provoking an inflammation of the joints. Under the advice and supervision of my doctor and the professor at the hospital I follow a gluten free & casein free diet, which is extremely successful in preventing inflammatory events. And I've been doing so, strictly, for more than 6 years. So I'm not Celiac, but I can tell you that I react strongly every time I take gluten even in small amounts. Even soya sauce, which according to this website has an almost zero dose of gluten, is a lot too much for me. Nevertheless I allow myself to eat food which has been processed in a factory which processes gluten. To conclude, I would say that when you are travelling, especially in a country where celiac disease is scarcely known, you should be twice as careful as when you're going out at home. In the end you can never guarantee that the cook has cleaned his pan after using soya sauce and so on... You can only bet
    • Along those lines, many Americans are now pursuing gluten-free eating. Gluten ... Diagnosis of celiac disease typically requires a history and physical ... View the full article
    • No!  Once you fill the tub, if you sit in it for 3 minutes or you stay for 10... It doesn't change the amount or cost of the water.  That's only relevant if you have 3 kids to cycle thru that same water.  Is your hub bathing in the same water after you? Lol  And even if you add some more hot and stay longer....well...it's much cheaper than perscription meds, vodka or a substance that is legal in a few states.     Of course this only pertains to those of use with running water.... If you make your hub haul water from the creek or well and heat it over a fire....
    • Whether it is bona fide dermatitis herpetiformis, or severe eczema or hives or what have you, we all want to know how to stop the incessant itching.  Through all my research, the solution comes down to one thing: a good long soak in the tub-- with baking soda or Epsom salts or some kind of herbal tea, followed by a rub down in thick expensive lotion.  I don't know about you, but I was brought up to "get in, get done get out."  A long soak in the bath was a frivolous luxury, and a waste of time and hot water.  So now I'm having this awful breakout from forgetting to read a label and got wheated.  And every night I've been soaking in a baking soda bath to relieve the itching and aid my recovery.  And it's been hard! (But it's been very helpful too)  It has been hard to reconcile this "frivolous luxury and waste of time" as medically necessary!  Fortunately I've had no judging, and only support from my husband, who has had a similar upbringing.  Does anyone else struggle with this?
    • His son, Eli, had been misdiagnosed with celiac disease, so the family tried some gluten-free foods. After adding quinoa (KEEN-wah) to their diet, ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • HappyMom623

      I have Tangled problem! I want all the things Rapunzel Related....including Flynn Rider 😂 but seriously. I have like 8 shirts I want.
      · 0 replies
    • AprilBeth2013

      RT @MarkDever: “But the work is God’s and we do not fear the final results. ‘The heathen shall be given to His Son for His inheritance,’ .…
      · 0 replies
    • silk

      I have celiac disease and have been gluten-free for almost 10 years.  I am extremely sensitive to gluten, noting that I react within 15 minutes of contact and in fact the doctor suspects that there may also be an actual wheat allergy at play but have never bothered to be tested since I avoid it like the plague!  I am curious to know if anyone else reacts to flax or inulin?  My symptoms with those two are almost identical to gluten so I have to really watch for that in gluten-free breads and baking and recently discovered after the fact that flax was in the juice I was drinking. I know that people with gluten issues can have other problems as well and in fact I also avoid milk products.  Even after 10 years, and although it has become a way of life, it's still frustrating to have to read every ingredient on every label.😞
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,117
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    cdliac3855
    Joined