Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

Shopping Anywhere But Wegmans & Whole Foods Frustration!

• Please log in to reply

17 replies to this topic

#1 FlourShopGirl

FlourShopGirl

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 10 March 2008 - 07:58 PM

Every time I go to the some place other than Wegman's who lablels their foods great or Whole Foods who has a gluten-free section two things happen. I get lost and frustrated. I feel like I can barely eat anything that isn't labeled. I am sure it's because I am a newbie. Giant around me is lame, nothing really gluten-free labeled. I also need to educate myself better- right now I basically only eat something if it's says gluten-free on the package but what exact things besides the obvious wheat do I need to avoid??

What are some quick snacks you get at the grocery store? I saw tonight Fruity Pebbles were ok, I was so happy. :)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 10 March 2008 - 08:17 PM

carrots and hummus.
apples and peanut butter.
eggs on corn tortillas.

I generally stick to things that are naturally gluten free, and it's a lot easier.
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#3 blueeyedmanda

blueeyedmanda

York Fair 2009

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,569 posts

Posted 11 March 2008 - 04:05 AM