Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      



Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
   
Subscribe Today!


Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:
Photo
- - - - -

Bombay Sapphire Gin: Gf?


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1

 
DrLeonard

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
 

Posted 06 January 2005 - 12:51 PM

A nutritionist assured me years ago that Bombay Sapphire Gin is gluten-free, but now that I'm looking for confirmation I can't find any.

Anybody know?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 06 January 2005 - 01:42 PM

All distilled alcohol is gluten-free unless gluten is added afterward. I would feel safe with the Bombay but do not have documentation showing it is gluten-free. You can go to bombaysapphire.com and there's a place there to see ingredients. There's also a contact link but it wasn't working when I was there.

Thes are gluten-free, according to the manufacturer. Booths is good.

Booths
Gordons
Gordons Citrus
Gordons Wildberry
Popov

richard
  • 0

#3

 
Sterndogg

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
 

Posted 06 January 2005 - 08:25 PM

I drink Bombay with zero problems and it's my favorite gin. Most hard alcohols are indeed gluten-free as Richard says, even if grain-based due to the distallation process unless they add a gluten-containing substance afterwards. :D
  • 0

#4

 
pinksmashing

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
 

Posted 27 June 2009 - 09:11 AM

I drink Bombay with zero problems and it's my favorite gin. Most hard alcohols are indeed gluten-free as Richard says, even if grain-based due to the distallation process unless they add a gluten-containing substance afterwards. :D


Hi...I love bombay sapphire and I'm newly diagnosed and still having issues with finding what is and isn't gluten free. What about the tonic that goes in the gin and tonic? Is that gluten free?
  • 0

#5

 
still tiredofdoctors!

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 85 posts
 

Posted 27 June 2009 - 08:15 PM

With regard to alcohol being gluten-free after distillation: After YEARS of knowing Richard, if he says something is gluten-free, it is. He also is EXPERT at providing links to sites available. He rocks!!
  • 0
Lynne Previously "tiredofdoctors!!!", but I had SO much difficulty retrieving a lost password
Diagnosed with "Sprue-Related Ataxia" January 2005; Gluten-Free Lifestyle since August 2005 (Denial ain't just a river in Egypt)
To see additional diagnoses and what predisposed me to the seroconversin to celiac vs. gluten interolerant, view "About Me" page
"If you have to choose between being right and being kind . . . pick kind. Wayne Dyer, PhD

#6

 
DeniseTheRealtor

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 09 August 2015 - 08:27 AM

A nutritionist assured me years ago that Bombay Sapphire Gin is gluten-free, but now that I'm looking for confirmation I can't find any.

Anybody know?

Here's a great site for gin knowledge:  http://www.gintime.c...y-sapphire-gin/

 

Bombay Sapphire Gin IS gluten free, naturally.  See below:

 

So what is inside the bottle? Bombay Sapphire’s recipe is based on 10 botanicals. They include traditional gin botanicals such as juniper berries, citrus, angelica and orris root. To these are added coriander, liquorice, cassia bark, almonds, cubeb berries and West African grains of paradise. And, although it is a London Dry gin Bombay Sapphire is made differently to most other London Dry style gins. A triple distilled, 100% neutral grain spirit is first poured into still, at the end of the lyne pipe at the very top of the still is a set of copper baskets into which the botanicals are carefully layered. The spirit becomes vapour as heat is applied and, as it travels upwards through the baskets, it extracts the oils of the botanicals within. On its journey back through the condenser it becomes liquid again. In the normal way feints and foreshots are removed and the spirit, now Bombay Sapphire gin, is collected in the spirit receiver. It is reduced to 40% ABV (47%ABV in the US) using pure water and finally bottled.


  • 0

#7

 
LauraTX

    Advanced Community Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,809 posts
 

Posted 09 August 2015 - 06:17 PM

Here's a great site for gin knowledge:  http://www.gintime.c...y-sapphire-gin/

 

Bombay Sapphire Gin IS gluten free, naturally.  See below:

 

So what is inside the bottle? Bombay Sapphire’s recipe is based on 10 botanicals. They include traditional gin botanicals such as juniper berries, citrus, angelica and orris root. To these are added coriander, liquorice, cassia bark, almonds, cubeb berries and West African grains of paradise. And, although it is a London Dry gin Bombay Sapphire is made differently to most other London Dry style gins. A triple distilled, 100% neutral grain spirit is first poured into still, at the end of the lyne pipe at the very top of the still is a set of copper baskets into which the botanicals are carefully layered. The spirit becomes vapour as heat is applied and, as it travels upwards through the baskets, it extracts the oils of the botanicals within. On its journey back through the condenser it becomes liquid again. In the normal way feints and foreshots are removed and the spirit, now Bombay Sapphire gin, is collected in the spirit receiver. It is reduced to 40% ABV (47%ABV in the US) using pure water and finally bottled.

 

Welcome to the forum, Denise! :)

 

Do note that you are replying to a years old thread, so product info may have changed over time, and the original posters may no longer be active.


  • 0
I am my husband's "Silly Yak Girl" :)
I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in January 2013. I also have Lupus and Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID) for which I am on IVIG.

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: