Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Newb - Can't I Just Look At The Label?
0

6 posts in this topic

I'm investigating if I have gluten intolerance/Celiac and am now looking at labels as I shop.

Someone told me that Soy Sauce has gluten in it, or Tomato ketchup as well for example.

I bought Heinze ketchup and found no mention of gluten but their website says its gluten free.

My soy sauce ingredients are Water, Salt, Hydrogiezed soy protein, corn syrup, caramel color, potassium sorbate.

Wheres the Gluten in that?

Is the only sure way to discern if a product has Gluten to contact the manufacturer?

Help!

ps: I bought corn flakes and "honey nut Oat O's" from Trader Joes, and contact them. They have gluten in they said!!! I thought buying oats I was safe, but..... ... confused.:s

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Most ketchups are okay, but always read the label. Heinz ketchups are all gluten-free except for the organic one.

Most soy sauces, but not all, have wheat as the first ingredient. In Canada, VH is gluten-free, but it is not available in the US. San-J is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When reading labels, there are safe ingredients. Those are ones that you know do not contain gluten, such as, say, corn starch.

There are unsafe ingredients, which always have gluten, such as flour or malt.

Then there are a lot which can contain gluten, but don't always. With these, you need to know the company's labeling policy. If they have a policy to clearly disclose all gluten sources, then you don't need to worry about those iffy ingredients.

The following companies/brands will clearly disclose gluten sources by using the name of the grain in the ingredient list. Look for wheat, rye, barley or oats. If you don't see any of those words, the product does not contain gluten.

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

With other companies, if you find something dubious like "modified food starch," then you need to ask. If in doubt, don't eat it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Celiac.com 11/09/2004 - While oats do not appear to naturally contain gluten, like other grains they can become contaminated during harvesting, transporting, milling and processing. "

And the oat crop in the U.S. is considered to be contaminated.

So we have to buy certified gluten-free oats from one of a a few dedicated growers/processers. Bob's Red Mill, Cream Hill Estates and Gifts of Nature are the three that come to mind. Any oats listed in ingredient lists on products are not gluten-free oats and are not safe to consume. It is recommended that you wait until you are in remission to introduce oats back into your diet and that you do so slowly, in small quantities because a small percentage still react to a compound in oats like gluten.

Here is a list of unsafe/questionable ingredients.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

By law wheat is required to be listed clearly, barley and gluten are not. So we have to familiarize ourselves with what ingredients can be made from barley and look for them, then, yes, contact the manufacturer if we see those ingredients and are unsure. It's a pain :angry: but our health is worth it. ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oats could be contaminated with gluten unless they say gluten free. There is no gluten in and of itself in an oat. But the problem is the way they are grown, stored and transported. CC is very likely. There are a few farmers who have dedicated themselves to growing oats and only oats. They make sure they do not come in contact with wheat or other gluten containing foods at any point in the manufacturing process. You will of course pay more for them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Here is a listing of US Companies whose policy is to clearly list all forms of gluten, so there's no guessing.

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

Wheat, by law is required to be listed if it is in the ingredients. Barley, Malt and Rye do not need to be listed.

Some Companies can be suspect when the list Natural Ingredients or Spieces. That's when you need to call the company.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,131
    • Total Posts
      919,521
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I'm so confused about my daughter's diagnosis.  I hope somebody can help.   My 4 year old daughter has a swollen belly, stomachaches, and lots of gas.  She does not have diarrhea or delayed growth.  Because of her symptoms and because it runs in the family (2nd degree relatives) I had her tested for celiac.   She was weak positive for TTG (IGA)  and strong positive for DGP (IGG)   TTG (IGA)  8   (0-3 neg, 4-10 weak positive, greater than 10 positive) TTG (IGG)  2   EMA: Negative DGP (IGG)  47  (0-19 negative, 20-30 weak positive, greater than 30 positive) Last week, she had her endoscopy.  The doctor found inflammation and little holes or bumps on her duodenum.  He started her on prevacid and said based on his observations, he was suspicious of celiac, but he would not be able to confirm until the biopsy came back. The biopsy showed no signs of celiac disease.  He said that he could not diagnose her with celiac without the biopsy report saying there was celiac damage.  He said he would categorize her as a potential celiac, keep her on a gluten diet and redo the endoscopy in a year or two to check for damage again.  My questions are: 1.)  If it is not celiac, something is causing her duodenum to be inflamed and have little holes or bumps on it, right?  Could it be a wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity?  What else could it be and how do they test for it?  Given her elevated celiac antibodies, how likely is it to be anything besides celiac causing the damage?  2.)  How likely are false positives for TTG and DGP?  I've heard they are pretty sensitive and specific.  Does getting two positives make false positives less likely? 3.) What have you done in this situation?  I want her to have an official diagnosis to make things easier at school and to feel confident that we are eliminating gluten permanently for a worthy reason, etc.  But, I'm having a hard time imagining keeping her on gluten and waiting for her to get more sick and have more intestinal damage just for a diagnosis.     Thanks in advance for your help.  I'm so overwhelmed and confused.  I hope someone has some insight and experience that will help clear things up for me.            
    • Yeah I actually live in Japan which is pretty similar, because Coeliac disease is rare over here so is the understanding and accommodating it. When I mention Gluten to some restaurants they think I am talking in English and they are unfamiliar with the word in Japanese.    So it seems I can write off my chances of getting some authentic Chinese gluten-free food at the airport, but at least there is a Thai restaurant in T3 so I won't starve. Its called  'Phrik Thai' for future reference. http://en-shopping.bcia.com.cn/store/739.html  
    • While in Boston I found Cheer's  Bloody Mary mix that says gluten-free on the bottle and have had no issues and  tastes pretty good 
    • I always assumed plain coffee was, but I have seen some controversy online about this. I know someone who is gluten free and only buys whole beans and grinds them herself because she doesn't trust how the grounds are processed.
    • I have confirmed that Member's Mark Ibuprofen are gluten free in three ways: the list of ingredients matches the list of gluten-free excepients from the Gluten Intolerance Group's list, I called the customer service number on the bottle (they confirmed it is gluten-free), and I found another website in which a dr claims it is gluten-free.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,167
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Cristina17
    Joined