Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Cinnamon


  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 FlourShopGirl

 
FlourShopGirl

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts
 

Posted 02 April 2008 - 06:16 PM

I'm confused, can anyone help? I thought that not ALL cinnamon was gluten-free? Because of dyes, etc. I haven't found any info on it here or on the web and have avoided it. Please let me know.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 HAK1031

 
HAK1031

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 364 posts
 

Posted 02 April 2008 - 06:21 PM

dyes in cinnamon?? :blink: it should just be pure cinnamon! I use mckormick, which clearly labels gluten/is all gluten-free, I forget which...but the only ingredient is cinnamon!!
  • 0
Gluten Free since 10/07
Mildly Lactose Intolerant, slight intestinal symptoms after eating milk products, but easily corrected with lactase enzyme
Endometriosis- DX'd 5/07

Gluten Antibodies- "negative"...don't know exact numbers, am highly suspicious...
DXed celiac 12-19-07 via genetics/elimination diet- DQ2 allele

Brother with Celiac, aspergers...his tests were all negative (he didn't have genetics done), including endoscopy, but he definitely is at the least gluten intolerant...highly suspect my mother has it as well- she has hyperthyroid, fibromyalgia, hemochromatosis, and now colon cancer, and she has been weak and exhausted and just generally sick. She's going to get tested.

#3 jerseyangel

 
jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,939 posts
 

Posted 02 April 2008 - 06:26 PM

I've never heard about dyes being used in cinnamon. I use McCormick extracts and spices. They will clearly label any gluten on the label.
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#4 GlutenGalAZ

 
GlutenGalAZ

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 543 posts
 

Posted 02 April 2008 - 10:47 PM

I get Ground Cinnamon in the McCormick brand and haven't had any problems (only ingredient -- cinnamon). Some of the smaller containers do not have the ingredients on them but the bigger ones do, there website also has the ingredients for each item.
  • 0
Rebecca

Partial Gluten Free March 2007
Completely Gluten Free February 2008
Tapioca Starch/Flour Free April 2008
No MSG July 2008
Cut out Nitrates//Nitrites January 2009
Problems with Tomatoes and Potatoes -- Cut out Nightshades Aug '09




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: