Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Cheerios


  • Please log in to reply

17 replies to this topic

#16

 
Juliebove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts
 

Posted 15 August 2008 - 08:14 PM

Agreed - the listing on the General Mills website does not list wheat starch as an ingredient:

http://www.generalmi...n...&itemID=810



Trix is currently safe but you always have to check the label.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#17

 
Jleedw

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 13 August 2013 - 10:25 AM

Cheerios if I am not mistaken contain oats which would make them unsafe for us. Hope this helps.

Oats are not unsafe.  You just have to make sure they are not processed on equipment that is contaminated


  • 0

#18

 
kareng

    BRRRRRRRR!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,419 posts
 

Posted 13 August 2013 - 10:29 AM

Oats are not unsafe.  You just have to make sure they are not processed on equipment that is contaminated

 

 

You are commenting on a 5 year old post. 

 

Oats need to be certified gluten-free as the normal growing/processing of them contaminates them with wheat. Therefore - Cheerios are NOT SAFE for Celiacs

 

 

Also, some Celiacs cannot eat them at all.  That is why it is usually recommended that you wait 6-12 months before trying them.


  • 0


"A lot of people like snow. I find it to be an unnecessary freezing of water."

-Carl Reiner

 

"Snow and adolescence are the only problems that disappear if you ignore them long enough."

-Earl Wilson

 

"We build statues out of snow, and weep to see them melt."

-Walter Scott

snowman-skiing.gif

 
 
 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: