Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Hershey Candy
0

17 posts in this topic

I am a twelve year old boy and I have been diagnosed with Celiac disease. I was diagnosed only about a week ago, so I am still really new to the whole diet. So I am wondering if Hershey's Milk Chocolate Candy Bars are okay, because I bought a miniature candy bar package from Costco, and the ingredients say the miniatures have malt, which is a big no-no, but it doesn't have any separate ingredients for the milk chocolates, so I am wondering if they have malt in them or not. Ok Thanks! :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hershey is not a reliable company. They will not disclose whether their products are gluten free due to propriety ingredient information from their suppliers. It more important to be loyal to their suppliers than the millions of people who buy their products.

Here is a list of companies who will clearly disclose all forms of gluten:

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm no longer a Hershey's customer due to their lack of consideration for people that cannot tolerate gluten, but their plain chocolate is gluten free--as long as it does not list natural flavors as an ingredient. I was recently told their plain chocolate bar, chocolate bar with almonds, chocolate chips, cocoa, and plain Hershey's kisses are gluten free. That's about it. If it has natural flavors you have to assume it is not gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks! And by the way if you do ever eat Hershey's again the Recess Peanut Butter cups are okay. Thanks again.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its really upsetting to me about Hershey's. I need chocolate that is not only gluten free but peanut and nut free.... does anyone have any ideas?

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Agreed, Hershey is not on my safe list anymore.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am a twelve year old boy and I have been diagnosed with Celiac disease. I was diagnosed only about a week ago, so I am still really new to the whole diet. So I am wondering if Hershey's Milk Chocolate Candy Bars are okay, because I bought a miniature candy bar package from Costco, and the ingredients say the miniatures have malt, which is a big no-no, but it doesn't have any separate ingredients for the milk chocolates, so I am wondering if they have malt in them or not. Ok Thanks! :blink:

I called Hersheys (in USA/Midwestern States) and was told that all Hersheys candies are made on the same lines as wheat and gluten products. Because of this, I feel it is not worth the risk to eat ANY Hersheys candy. Don't get discouraged, though! Kinnikinnick makes chocolate doughnuts. We have tried 3 flavors so far, and all have been awesome! I am sure there is a Celiac-safe delicious candy bar out there in the world somewhere. When I find it, I will let you know how and where to buy it. I will not give up---I promise!!!! B)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hershey's plain chocolate bars used to be considered safe. But there have been changes in their company. I don't know if they have changed what they are actually doing, or just what they tell people.

But, HERSHEY MINIATURES ARE DEFINITELY NOT SAFE.

I used to think the plain bars were OK, even though they are in a package with Krackle, which have barley malt in the crispies. But later I found out that when Hershey makes all the miniatures, little leftover pieces get remelted to make new bars, so even the "plain" chocolate miniatures are likely to have malt contamination.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am a twelve year old boy and I have been diagnosed with Celiac disease. I was diagnosed only about a week ago, so I am still really new to the whole diet. So I am wondering if Hershey's Milk Chocolate Candy Bars are okay, because I bought a miniature candy bar package from Costco, and the ingredients say the miniatures have malt, which is a big no-no, but it doesn't have any separate ingredients for the milk chocolates, so I am wondering if they have malt in them or not. Ok Thanks! :blink:

I'm sorry, this must be hard for you. Hershey's chocolate bars are something I have eaten every day of my life (I'm old enough to be your mom so thats a long time) and to not be able to eat them any more is hard for me. Something that I have used to replace the Hershey's bar is Guittard milk chocolate chips. They are creamy and taste pretty good. Its kind of silly but I feel like I am sneaking something by eating chocolate chips, I guess since they are used for baking and meant for eating out of hand. Plus they are easy to find in grocery stores.

Mars candies is pretty clear on their allergy information. IF there is an allergen in their candy they state it. I have been eating their candies when I want a candy bar, as long as it doesn't list wheat or gluten. Nestle is another company that if it doesn't have wheat on the label I feel ok eating it.

Guittard sales candy bars but I have noticed they can be difficult to find and they are kind of spendy compared to a Hershey's bar. The chocolate chips run about $2 for a bag while the candy bar is $3 to $4 depending on where you buy it.

I hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Its really upsetting to me about Hershey's. I need chocolate that is not only gluten free but peanut and nut free.... does anyone have any ideas?

Susan

When I did a google search for nut free chocolate a lot comes up but so many of the companies don't say anything about wheat. I think that is fairly irresponsible since they know the importance of allergy info you would think they would list all of them right off the bat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DOn't give up! Try another brand! My kids have lots of food allergies, along with celiac. There is a lot they can't eat. It s hard at first to read the labels and just get frustrated at what you can't have. If you are in Utah, try a good earth store and get the Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips, you can melt them and mold them or just get creative! there is also on online store called wheyoutchocolate.com Their chocolate is allergy safe and does not include milk, soy, nuts, peanuts, OR gluten. THe prices aren't too bad for the chocolate, but it can be pricey for shipping. Good Luck!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hang in there! You are going to feel so much better! I know it seems very overwhelming at first, but it really does get better. My son (he's 8 and was diagnosed right before Christmas last year) was just saying this morning how much he loved Bob's Red Mill Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal and that if we'd never found about him having Celiac he would never have known about it and that would be a bummer.

Here are some other things he really, really likes:

Gluten Free Sensations Chocolate Chip Cookies (order online from Gluten Free Sensations) - and he didn't like chocolate chip cookies before!

Kinnikinnick Chocolate Donuts

French Meadows Bakery frozen brownies with Breyer ice cream on top

Lara Bars - they come in lots of flavors. He loves some and hates others, so don't be afraid to try different ones.

Gorilla Munch cereal

Glutino Chocolate breakfast bars

Crunch and Munch Popcorn

Chin up! You can do this!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hershey is not a reliable company. They will not disclose whether their products are gluten free due to propriety ingredient information from their suppliers. It more important to be loyal to their suppliers than the millions of people who buy their products.

Here is a list of companies who will clearly disclose all forms of gluten:

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

That's really upsetting. I just bought a bag of Jolly Rancher Fruit Chews because they looked safe, and now I'm wondering if they really are.

Sigh!

I really miss Starburst...does anyone know if they are safe?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am a twelve year old boy and I have been diagnosed with Celiac disease. I was diagnosed only about a week ago, so I am still really new to the whole diet. So I am wondering if Hershey's Milk Chocolate Candy Bars are okay, because I bought a miniature candy bar package from Costco, and the ingredients say the miniatures have malt, which is a big no-no, but it doesn't have any separate ingredients for the milk chocolates, so I am wondering if they have malt in them or not. Ok Thanks! :blink:

Hey you

M & Ms (plain) are supposedly safe. So are Nestles semisweet chocoalte chips. If you want a treat, see if you can find Dagoba organic chocolate bars. They are expensive but made in a gluten-free facility in Oregon.

Celiac doesn't really suck. Think of it as a great way to learn what food REALLY is. (Hint: is doesn't come highly processed with long lists of unpronouncable ingredients). I am happy for you that you have found out at a young age not to eat gluten. Many of us grew up back in the dark ages when nobody ever heard of gluten and we have paid a hefty price with ill health. You'll be okay.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont really eat the candy but I do eat Hersheys special dark chocolate chips.

I eat them a lot and am sure Id have a reaction to them if they contained gluten.

They seem to be ok. Hope so anyway!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I dont really eat the candy but I do eat Hersheys special dark chocolate chips.

I eat them a lot and am sure Id have a reaction to them if they contained gluten.

They seem to be ok. Hope so anyway!

I am sure that many of Hershey's products are, in fact, gluten free. The problem I have with Hershey is that they continue to have a higher level of relationship with their suppliers, rather than the customers who purchase and consume their products.

Is it truly THAT difficult the identify ingredients in "natural flavors", which Hershey refuses to do? They will NOT clarify any of their products with "natural flavors" as gluten free or not, nor will they disclose the ingredient listing, as they say "it's proprietary information". So, there is no way that any Celiac or gluten intolerant person could determine whether Hershey's products are safe or not safe to consume, other than by the risk of getting ill.

Sorry way to do business, in my opinion. I refuse to buy Hershey's products for that reason. I have alternatives that I can trust and respect.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,131
    • Total Posts
      919,522
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Cyclinglady is absolutely correct, after hours of internet research the only gluten-free food available at JNB is a fast food chain called 'Nandos'. I was hoping for a bit more variety, but I'll take what I get.   
    • I'm so confused about my daughter's diagnosis.  I hope somebody can help.   My 4 year old daughter has a swollen belly, stomachaches, and lots of gas.  She does not have diarrhea or delayed growth.  Because of her symptoms and because it runs in the family (2nd degree relatives) I had her tested for celiac.   She was weak positive for TTG (IGA)  and strong positive for DGP (IGG)   TTG (IGA)  8   (0-3 neg, 4-10 weak positive, greater than 10 positive) TTG (IGG)  2   EMA: Negative DGP (IGG)  47  (0-19 negative, 20-30 weak positive, greater than 30 positive) Last week, she had her endoscopy.  The doctor found inflammation and little holes or bumps on her duodenum.  He started her on prevacid and said based on his observations, he was suspicious of celiac, but he would not be able to confirm until the biopsy came back. The biopsy showed no signs of celiac disease.  He said that he could not diagnose her with celiac without the biopsy report saying there was celiac damage.  He said he would categorize her as a potential celiac, keep her on a gluten diet and redo the endoscopy in a year or two to check for damage again.  My questions are: 1.)  If it is not celiac, something is causing her duodenum to be inflamed and have little holes or bumps on it, right?  Could it be a wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity?  What else could it be and how do they test for it?  Given her elevated celiac antibodies, how likely is it to be anything besides celiac causing the damage?  2.)  How likely are false positives for TTG and DGP?  I've heard they are pretty sensitive and specific.  Does getting two positives make false positives less likely? 3.) What have you done in this situation?  I want her to have an official diagnosis to make things easier at school and to feel confident that we are eliminating gluten permanently for a worthy reason, etc.  But, I'm having a hard time imagining keeping her on gluten and waiting for her to get more sick and have more intestinal damage just for a diagnosis.     Thanks in advance for your help.  I'm so overwhelmed and confused.  I hope someone has some insight and experience that will help clear things up for me.            
    • Yeah I actually live in Japan which is pretty similar, because Coeliac disease is rare over here so is the understanding and accommodating it. When I mention Gluten to some restaurants they think I am talking in English and they are unfamiliar with the word in Japanese.    So it seems I can write off my chances of getting some authentic Chinese gluten-free food at the airport, but at least there is a Thai restaurant in T3 so I won't starve. Its called  'Phrik Thai' for future reference. http://en-shopping.bcia.com.cn/store/739.html  
    • While in Boston I found Cheer's  Bloody Mary mix that says gluten-free on the bottle and have had no issues and  tastes pretty good 
    • I always assumed plain coffee was, but I have seen some controversy online about this. I know someone who is gluten free and only buys whole beans and grinds them herself because she doesn't trust how the grounds are processed.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,167
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Cristina17
    Joined