Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Calling All Casein Free
0

14 posts in this topic

I was just curious how strict everyone is when it comes to products that state "may contain traces of dairy"??

I am making a cake for someone who is both gluten-free and casein free and I usually use Pamela's Chocolate Cake Mix, but it does have this statement on the package so I am a little hesitant to use it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

If it is for myself I wouldn't worry about it, but I feel it isn't fair to make the decision to disregard that warning on behalf of others. It might be best if you get a different brand of cake mix.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I personally wouldn't use something with that label. Traces of casein affect me just as much as traces of gluten so I am just as careful with dairy contamination.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I never eat things that may contain traces of casein. I think your friend would appreciate you using another brand until you talk about how they feel. That way the trust they have in you isn't broken.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I never eat things that may contain traces of casein. I think your friend would appreciate you using another brand until you talk about how they feel. That way the trust they have in you isn't broken.

Think about it this way, how might a "trace" of LSD affect someone? My doctor says minute doses are still doses.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I have never bothered to worry about the traces of dairy or soy. I feel that dairy isn't like gluten--it doesn't contaminate a whole factory like something like flour would.

That is just me though. It is ultimately up to the person's level of comfort. (I also never had severe reactions to dairy, not at all like gluten.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Julie,

I avoid "may contain traces of dairy", but will use "made in same facility". But that's just me--everyone reacts differently and avoids things for different reasons.

In this case, I would call my friend and ask--if it were the other way around, I would appreciate being asked :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would not because even a trace can make me sick.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have never bothered to worry about the traces of dairy or soy. I feel that dairy isn't like gluten--it doesn't contaminate a whole factory like something like flour would.

That is just me though. It is ultimately up to the person's level of comfort. (I also never had severe reactions to dairy, not at all like gluten.)

Dairy and soy contamination are just as bad and painful as a gluten reaction for me so it is really a personal choice. Dairy and soy can contaminate equipment much in the same way as gluten and can affect those who are highly sensative. There are several gluten-free products that I can not tolerate because they are made on the same lines as dairy or soy products. I am truly envious of those who aren't affected by CC. It would make my life much easier.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Julie,

I think I would either call the person and ask them, or just use a brand that is definately casein free depending on the situation.

I think being as careful as you possibly can is your best bet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone for your feedback :)

I wasn't sure what to do before I posted my question and then it became so clear after you all shared your perspectives and now it seems so obvious. I love when that happens :lol:

Even though it's suppose to be a suprise it's too much of a risk to gamble with someone else's health. I will be using another mix that I know if cf.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Namaste and Cause You're Special (made with cf margarine) are good CF brands.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Namaste and Cause You're Special (made with cf margarine) are good CF brands.

Namaste is what I had in mind to use, thanks :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

definitely the sort of thing to ask on. I care to different degrees on casein than gluten, for instance, and would be more annoyed at someone making a insufficiently conservative decision for me. (when in doubt, though, and you can't ask, go with the lowest common denominator - or the most conservative option.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0