Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Tuna Fish
0

16 posts in this topic

I've read about people eating tuna fish in several threads in this forum. Do you have to buy a specific brand or is tuna fish generally a gluten free food?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hey :-)

I love tuna fish, and I eat it (tinned) every day. I don't eat soy, so I find that I can't buy any of the flavoured versions, but generally it's fine if you just buy it in springwater...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry - I would always check the labelling, though - just to be sure!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Plain tuna should be fine, either in water or oil. As mentioned, added flavor puts a whole new spin on the world.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What about Bumble Bee that says it has vegetable broth... does that mean it could have MSG? Something got me yesterday... either the tuna or coconut... :huh:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




What about Bumble Bee that says it has vegetable broth... does that mean it could have MSG? Something got me yesterday... either the tuna or coconut... :huh:

Like I said, added flavor is another matter, as to gluten.

MSG is a topic of its own. Search the board for MSG and/or glutamic acid and you will find plenty of discussion on this. The only thing about glutamates that we agree on is that we don't agree. :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What about Bumble Bee that says it has vegetable broth... does that mean it could have MSG? Something got me yesterday... either the tuna or coconut... :huh:

MSG is not gluten related. A good general rule would be to look for products with the least amount of ingregients, and look for wheat, rye, barley and malt.

Fresh tuna is far better and naturally gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was shopping in Target yesterday and noticed those foil packed tuna's. On the front it says tuna packed in water but it you read the ingredients its water and vegetable broth. Vegetable broth will probablly have MSG in it and that's why I can't have it. Does it have gluten, who knows, it could have. It could be like barely malt, it's there to enhance the fish flavors.

Maybe someone has called and asked the companies about this. Anyone?

Gail

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I checked out the tuna fish at the store today and all of the cans said they contained vegetable broth. After listing that ingredient, it said (soy) or (soybeans). So, the tuna should be fine, right? Because it's made from soy, not wheat, barley or rye?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Bumble Bee and Chicken of the Sea.

From Bumble Bee's Website:

Are Bumble Bee

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I use Bumble Bee and Chicken of the Sea.

From Bumble Bee's Website:

Are Bumble Bee

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I normally get the Great Value Cottage Cheese (WalMart brand).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As of 6/10/2011, the Bumble Bee products are suspect until further notice. I just visited the company web site and on their FAQ page the question of gluten is addressed like this: "Most of our products are gluten free." But I can't find out which ones are safe to eat unless I write to them, because their contact info doesn't even include a phone number. There was a mention of wheat being listed, but then they put "(gluten)" after the word as if gluten only occurs in wheat, so I don't know if they even understand gluten.

I was about to eat some of their premium light tuna in a pouch, which lists vegetable broth on the ingredient list, but I have read sometimes vegie broth includes gluten (ACK!!) or MSG (can you spell "headache?"). This is pretty inconvenient, I'm just returning it to the store and eating another brand willing to take our concerns more seriously.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As of 6/10/2011, the Bumble Bee products are suspect until further notice. I just visited the company web site and on their FAQ page the question of gluten is addressed like this: "Most of our products are gluten free." But I can't find out which ones are safe to eat unless I write to them, because their contact info doesn't even include a phone number. There was a mention of wheat being listed, but then they put "(gluten)" after the word as if gluten only occurs in wheat, so I don't know if they even understand gluten.

I was about to eat some of their premium light tuna in a pouch, which lists vegetable broth on the ingredient list, but I have read sometimes vegie broth includes gluten (ACK!!) or MSG (can you spell "headache?"). This is pretty inconvenient, I'm just returning it to the store and eating another brand willing to take our concerns more seriously.

From the Bumble Bee website:

Are Bumble Bee Products Gluten Free?

  • Most of Bumble Bee's products are gluten free. To comply with government regulations, major allergens such as wheat (gluten), soy, egg, milk, tree and pine nuts, peanuts, fish, and shellfish will be called out in the ingredient list of the label.

They're saying that they will list the 8 major allegens on the label if the product contains them. If the vegetable broth contained gluten, it would be listed.


Do Bumble Bee products contain MSG?
  • Bumble Bee's fish products do not contain MSG. Some of our non-fish products may contain MSG. MSG is required by regulation to be declared on the label. If you are sensitive to MSG, please carefully read the ingredient panel on the label.

Seems pretty clear to me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wild Planet tuna is vacuum packed w/o anything added (well, they do add salt to some). it's pretty delicious, if pricey compared to the low end chunk light.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is what I got from Glutenfreeliving.com (Also here is a number for Bumble Bee Tuina if you would like to talk with them directly about this. )

Q: Is vegetable broth gluten free?

A: The Food and Drug Administration

has a specific definition of vegetable

broth when it is used in canned tuna,

but does not detail the exact ingredients

in other cases. Vegetable broth in tuna

has to be made from two or more of the

following vegetables: beans, cabbage,

celery, garlic, onions, parsley, peas, potatoes, green or red bell peppers, spinach

or tomatoes. That means the broth used

in canned tuna is gluten free, as is plain

canned tuna. The beans used may include soy beans, in which case soy has

to be noted on the label as required by

the Food Allergen and Consumer

Protection Act. While this has nothing to

do with the gluten-free status of tuna, it

might affect those who have soy allergies in addition to celiac disease.

In general, broth is defined as the

liquid resulting from cooking vegetables, meat or fish in water. By that definition it would always be gluten free.

But canned vegetable broth can

contain other ingredients as well. For

example, Swanson’s Vegetarian Vegetable broth contains high fructose corn

syrup, sugar and potato flour. The Swanson broth, as well as College Inn,

Imagine Foods, and Pacific Foods

brands are all gluten free. In fact, it is

unlikely that you would find a vegetable

broth that was not gluten free. Vegetable

broth is more likely to be gluten free

than chicken or beef broth, which sometimes contain hydrolyzed wheat protein.

But you have to read the ingredients

label to be sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,353
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
    • I think that we have to remember that celiacs often develop intolerances due to our  damaged guts.  Our guts do not ncessarily heal either (usually adults) for  a variety of reasons even if their symptoms improve (see links below).   Nuts are just plain hard to digest.   I can not tolerate almonds, but can handle walnuts and cashews in small amounts.  I can eat peanuts too, but resort to Peanutbutter after a Glutening as it is easier to digest (maybe I have to learn to chew better!  😀)  My nut symptoms have  nothing to do with gluten as I have purchased certified gluten-free nuts and suffered with the same symptoms.  .   https://www.verywell.com/celiac-disease-when-will-your-small-intestine-recover-562341 http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/treatment/ http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23936873 i call the manufacturer when I suspect the manufacturer is sharing the line or if I just want to know.  I bought some Black English walnuts and called the company.  Those are the only nuts they process and they do not have any flavored nuts.   if you really want to test your theory out, buy some nuts from Nuts.com (certified gluten-free).   See if you get a reaction or ask your GI to retest your antibodies (which should be done annually anyway).   I just hate to have Planters get a bum rap when you do not really know for sure.......😥    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,133
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Mycaringkidsmom
    Joined