Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Tuna Fish


  • Please log in to reply

15 replies to this topic

#16 kbgirl

 
kbgirl

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 30 January 2013 - 09:25 AM

Here is what I got from Glutenfreeliving.com (Also here is a number for Bumble Bee Tuina if you would like to talk with them directly about this. )



Q: Is vegetable broth gluten free?
A: The Food and Drug Administration
has a specific definition of vegetable
broth when it is used in canned tuna,
but does not detail the exact ingredients
in other cases. Vegetable broth in tuna
has to be made from two or more of the
following vegetables: beans, cabbage,
celery, garlic, onions, parsley, peas, potatoes, green or red bell peppers, spinach
or tomatoes. That means the broth used
in canned tuna is gluten free, as is plain
canned tuna. The beans used may include soy beans, in which case soy has
to be noted on the label as required by
the Food Allergen and Consumer
Protection Act. While this has nothing to
do with the gluten-free status of tuna, it
might affect those who have soy allergies in addition to celiac disease.
In general, broth is defined as the
liquid resulting from cooking vegetables, meat or fish in water. By that definition it would always be gluten free.
But canned vegetable broth can
contain other ingredients as well. For
example, Swanson’s Vegetarian Vegetable broth contains high fructose corn
syrup, sugar and potato flour. The Swanson broth, as well as College Inn,
Imagine Foods, and Pacific Foods
brands are all gluten free. In fact, it is
unlikely that you would find a vegetable
broth that was not gluten free. Vegetable
broth is more likely to be gluten free
than chicken or beef broth, which sometimes contain hydrolyzed wheat protein.
But you have to read the ingredients
label to be sure.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: