Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Knorr Bouillon
0

20 posts in this topic

I thought I remember reading this was on the safe list....I read the package and the only thing that seems suspect is carmel color. Does anyone know for sure?

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Knorr will clearly disclose gluten. If you don't see it listed by the name of the grain, it isn't there. Caramel color is not a concern.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Knorr will clearly disclose gluten. If you don't see it listed by the name of the grain, it isn't there. Caramel color is not a concern.

does any one know if Tones chicken bouillon is gluten free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Herb Ox boullion cubes are gluten-free. They say so right on the package. I can't find them at Walmart or Frys (Krogger store) buy Safeway here carries them. I don't know about Knorr. I was happy to find the Herb Ox. I love when products are actually labeled gluten-free. Makes shopping so much easier!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing that you have to pay attention to re: Knorr Bouillon and other Bouillons and Bouillon Cubes is that they are loaded with MSG. MSG is very bad for you. Also beware of "modified food starch" as this actually wheat starch which is a thickening agent.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I've recently bought both Herb-Ox chicken and beef instant bouillon (not cubes) at my local WalMart Supercenter. Both jars say "Gluten Free" and "No MSG Added" on the front of the label. Since it's made by Hormel, they're one of the companies that are good about labeling their products.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also beware of "modified food starch" as this actually wheat starch which is a thickening agent.

This is simply not true. While in theory, it could be wheat, in my experience it never is. In the US, it would be required by law to be labeled as "wheat."

Knorr is a Unilever brand, and Unilever (like Kraft, Con Agra, General Mills and others) will always clearly label any gluten-containing ingredient by naming the grain source.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing that you have to pay attention to re: Knorr Bouillon and other Bouillons and Bouillon Cubes is that they are loaded with MSG. MSG is very bad for you. Also beware of "modified food starch" as this actually wheat starch which is a thickening agent.

The comment about MFS is just flat-out wrong.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It says caramel coloring on it though, I know it is supposed to be fine if made within the US but on the packaging it says "product of Mexico." I'm worried about using it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It says caramel coloring on it though, I know it is supposed to be fine if made within the US but on the packaging it says "product of Mexico." I'm worried about using it!

If its sold in the US, they must label wheat. Carmel coloring is not a concern in the US as far as gluten.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To repeat, Unilever will clearly disclose all gluten sources on the label. If you don't see the name of a gluten grain, the product is gluten-free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A friend of mine just sent me a little care package of what is supposed to be gluten-free foods. There is a box of Knorr vegetable bullion. One ingredient is autolyzed yeast extract. There is also a package of vegetable dip mix (Knorr). The vegetable dip mix says autolyzed yeast extract (barley). The bullion does not use the word barley. So, is this autolyzed yeast extract safe if it is not barley based? Very confusing!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To repeat, Unilever will clearly disclose all gluten sources on the label. If you don't see the name of a gluten grain, the product is gluten-free.

For the third time, Unilever will clearly disclose any gluten in any of their products. If you do not see a gluten grain named on the label, there is no gluten in the product. The product that mentions barley contains small amounts of gluten. The other product is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I noticed a few months ago that the Chicken Knorr Bouillon Cubes are fine (the Knorr chicken powder has gluten) and the Beef cubes also have gluten. I had to go to a health food store to find gluten-free Beef Bouillon. Could be I was just confused. I will have to check it out next time I go shopping.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the third time, Unilever will clearly disclose any gluten in any of their products. If you do not see a gluten grain named on the label, there is no gluten in the product. The product that mentions barley contains small amounts of gluten. The other product is gluten-free.

It is true, Unilever does mention the origin of the grain in their products, worldwide, which is exceptional.

However what they don't care about is that the gluten in their seasoning products ruins entire dishes for us.

Are the gluten in the seasoning products really necessary taste wise? That is the big question.

Could the same result not be achieved with non-gluten variations?

I hope companies like Unilever become more aware of our problems and will only use gluten when they are strictly necessary for the product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It doesn't show any wheat in this product ingredients. It has a lot of " unnatural" things someone might want to avoid.

I guess what in saying is that this doesn't seem to be a very reliable site. They look like they say it has wheat in it, but there is none listed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some Herb Ox brand chicken bullion is soy free and gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any ingredient that knowingly has gluten in it must be on a label. Therefore if the caramel color has gluten it would be on the label. Note that possible cross contamination doesn't have to be on a label though. If you want to know email a company and specifcally ask them if it's gluten free. If they say yes, then eat it without worry. If they start to explain the law to you and throw in there that they won't guarantee it's gluten free is when you may not want to trust the product. It may, of course, still be safe to eat.

I think when I first when gluten-free I had some knorr bouillon cubes I had to throw out. But they were probably 2 years old by now and the labelling laws to clearly indicate wheat in Canada I don't think had come into effect.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any ingredient that knowingly has gluten in it must be on a label.

Labeling of wheat in Canada has been required for many years as a "priority allergen." The other gluten sources were added effective August 4, 2012, for foods packaged on or after that date.

In the US, wheat must be disclosed, but disclosure of barley, rye and oats remains voluntary. Some manufacturers have a clear gluten disclosure policy. They include Unilever, Kraft, Con Agra, General Mills and others.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,642
    • Total Posts
      921,564
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I really am iffy on talking about this side of my gluten issues, I think I am about to ruin my reputation on this forum coming about as some extreme crazy guy saying this but I wanted to get this off my chest and perhaps see if anyone else might share a similar trauma. I get emotional recalling it, this side of my reactions, as it is most ingrained and very traumatizing experience, and I am not proud of it as the mentality I have now disgust me but I am going to come out about it. One of the scariest things in this world is when your own mind turns against you, when you can not think about what you want to think about, when you can not do what you know you should be able to do. When I got glutened really bad these where things I felt with my own mind would start looping, and thoughts would not come together. I would loose comprehension, feel like I know I should be able to think about something but my mind was not working. The same thing looped over and over and over like a broken record, This led to anger, anxiety, depression, panic, top it off with loss of feeling in my hands and feet, and the pains in the gut......it was a nightmare. I would go as far as beating my head against walls and punching them out of frustration as to why my own body and mind where not working, I just wanted it to end the pain to stop. I still have scars on my fist from punching into a nail in a stud once and kept going.....I scared everyone and myself distanced my self from loved ones. And started running a bucket list accepting that I was going to die soon. Hell to this day parts of the brain damage seem to be permanent as I can no longer do computer programing or some forms of math, they just no longer make any sense or connect. Then we learned what was causing it, and once the symptoms started to fade, I would get very angry if someone in the shared house did something stupid and got me sick again. The fear of going back to that caused violent and drastic actions to get away from what was making me sick. The sheer fear of my own mind turning on me led me to drastic actions to prevent it, throwing everything away I thought could make me sick, making sure no one else used that kitchen, used freezer paper and gloves when fixing my foods and working in there. I really destroyed and burned all bridges I had then and alienated myself from others. In the end it motivated me to learn how to cook, to get and renovate my own apartment in a building downtown, and start a business to pay for my new diet, by selling safe food to others with this issues locally at farmer markets. But it changed me on a very deep level, that traumatic experience to this day I have a issue looking at others and dealing with other humans who eat that stuff.......the stuff that breaks my mind and body so horrifically. If I have to compare it to something its like watching aliens drinking antifreeze and eating poison.....it causes a subconscious level of disgust and slight envy. I really can not even look at the stuff without recall what it does and feeling a twitch. I know I am the alien here, but it feels vise versa, and I look down on the normal people as odd creatures.  I go to the store and find myself overly avoiding contamination, keeping stuff in my own bags, asking the cashier to scan and bag it as I pass it not letting it touch that flour I see on the belt. I am hyper sensitive to the stuff I know and that fear semi dominates my mind as crazy as it sounds.  I am recovering and am forcing myself to try to mingle with other humans overlooking that one thing, but that deep rooted trauma still flares up as a protective measure especially around foods.  I could talk on and on about the other side effects but this one is the hardest to talk about it, and I feel others might be able to relate to it.    
    • Time.  You need time to heal.  Yeah, I am like a broken record!  😄 So...Lycra is your best friend for now (that and old baggy sweats!).  Hang in there!  Hugs!     
    • So far dairy seems to be OK, as are eggs. I like canned chickpeas so will carry on with those. Beans I had ruled out at one point with the doctor's recommendation to go with the low FODMAPs diet but will reintroduce those now I know it probably wasn't that causing the problems.
    • Welcome!   I am confused.  Did you have a negative celiac blood test or a negative biopsy (taken via endoscopy)?
    • In addition to cheese made with yogurt, hard cheeses like cheddar, romano, parmesaen etc are also going to be lactose free. Eggs are also a good source of protein if you eat them. Do bear in mind that celiac can really mess with your head. It can cause depression and anxiety that can get worse for a short time when you first go gluten free. your life is not over by any means. The reason why you see more people on boards and in forums that are having problems is because most when they heal go on with their lives. We don't hear from them with the exception of a few that stick around to help people that are still struggling. Hang in there it will get better.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,644
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Jross69
    Joined