Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Getting Glutened By Hero Jam
0

13 posts in this topic

Hope this story will help someone. I wish I knew that even jam might contain traces of guten, it would save us a lot of money because in the search of the source of gluten / cross-contamination we changed all utensils, all pots and frying pans, most of small appliances, and recently even dinnerware and silverware. My toiletries are gluten-free. I cook almost everything from scratch. Our household (me and my husband) is completely gluten-free and I still felt that I was getting glutened somehow.

This weekend it was time to buy a new jam and we usually go to another store for that because all other jams we consider to be too sweet and this one (Hero jam) doesn't have that much sugar in it. Just by habit I read ingredients, see glucose syrup in it and it hits me: just today I read on this forum that glucose syrup might be derived from wheat! It might be my jam! Of all things I have always thought that jam would be safe and I did not associate glucose syrup with wheat. So I came home, e-mailed Hero North America and today I got the following reply: "The glucose syrup is made from wheat. However the amount of gluten from the glucose syrup is extremely small. (Less than 100 ppm)."

I guess I react to this small amount of gluten. Here is their website http://www.herousa.com/

I am glad to finally figure it out and hope that now I will recover faster.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Oh, good grief. :angry:

Does anyone know of a safe, gluten free brand of jam or jelly that also does not have artificial flavoring or coloring or any of that weird crap in it ? Sugar is okay. You know, plain sugar, like things used to be made of back in the ancient times.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Oh, good grief. :angry:

Does anyone know of a safe, gluten free brand of jam or jelly that also does not have artificial flavoring or coloring or any of that weird crap in it ? Sugar is okay. You know, plain sugar, like things used to be made of back in the ancient times.

Smuckers Jams and Jellies are all gluten free. I don't know what you consider "all that weird crap", though. Regarding Glucose Syrup, if it is derived from wheat, it would be required by law to be listed on the ingredients, such as "Glucose Syrup (wheat), in the United States.

..............................

Corn syrup

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search

Tate & Lyle brand Corn Syrup being moved by tank carCorn syrup is a syrup, made using corn starch as a feedstock, and composed mainly of glucose. A series of two enzymatic reactions are used to convert the corn starch to corn syrup. Its major use is in commercially prepared foods as a thickener and for its moisture-retaining (humectant) properties which keep foods moist and help to maintain freshness. Because of its mild sweetness, corn syrup may be used in conjunction with highly-intense sweeteners.

Corn syrup is used to soften texture, add volume, prohibit crystallization and enhance flavor. [1]

The more general term glucose syrup is often used synonymously with corn syrup, since the former is most commonly made from corn starch.[2] Technically, though, glucose syrup is any liquid starch hydrolysate of mono, di, and higher saccharides[3] and can be made from from any sources of starch; wheat, rice and potatoes are the most common sources.

High-fructose corn syrup (HFCS) is a variant in which other enzymes are used to convert some of the glucose into fructose. The resulting syrup is sweeter and more soluble.

Until recently, a corn syrup variant used to be sold in the retail market, say in supermarkets, had a high glucose content. HFCS is also appearing in retail products. The largest and most popular market in the United States for corn syrup is Karo Syrup, a fructose/glucose syrup.[4]

It is in trend for corn syrup to be flavored with vanilla extract.[citation needed]

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Regarding Glucose Syrup, if it is derived from wheat, it would be required by law to be listed on the ingredients, such as "Glucose Syrup (wheat), in the United States.

I live in Canada and unfortunately Canada doesn't have allergen laws like in US. It is not required by law to list wheat or any other allergens here in Canada. Some manufactirers do that voluntarily, unfortunately not all of them. I realize that in US this situation would not be possible. However, this Hero company is based in Switzerland and they do supply jams to USA as well, I wonder if they have different labels in US.

I just never associated glucose syrup with gluten and wheat. I thought that this is just sugar dissolved in water. If not for this forum it would never have occured to me that jam might contain gluten. By the way, it is now a week since I stopped eating it and I do feel much better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, at least the Smucker's website is good at listing ingredients and ease of navigating the site. http://www.smuckers.com

I was looking recently at jellies and the first few jars of Smuckers I picked up either had food coloring, (the low sugar marmalade) "natural flavors" or corn syrup in them. When I am in a hurry or tired if I pick up 3 or 4 different flavors of a brand and see it has those things, I tend to put it back on the shelf, if I can't get my built in memory chip to kick in with "did I look this company up on the internet already?" :blink:

It looks like the "simply fruit" kind of Smuckers (fruit syrup, the fruit, lemon juice, pectin, natural flavors) would work if the natural flavors are trustworthy.

I pulled up the Simply Fruit Marmalade page and it has fruit syrup, orange peel, orange juice, lemon juice, pectin, natural orange flavor.

http://www.smuckers.com/fg/pds/default.asp...6&prodid=55

The question is why does the store not stock that, which I would have taken home, and instead had the stuff with the

"WATER*, SUGAR, ORANGE PEEL, ORANGE JUICE, FRUIT PECTIN, CITRIC ACID, LOCUST BEAN GUM*, POTASSIUM SORBATE ADDED AS A PRESERVATIVE, CALCIUM CHLORIDE*, NATURAL ORANGE FLAVOR, YELLOW 5*, YELLOW 6*. *INGREDIENTS NOT IN REGULAR MARMALADE."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Oh, good grief. :angry:

Does anyone know of a safe, gluten free brand of jam or jelly that also does not have artificial flavoring or coloring or any of that weird crap in it ? Sugar is okay. You know, plain sugar, like things used to be made of back in the ancient times.

There are a couple that I use one is Crofter's Organic and the other is the Polaner All Fruit and that one is marked gluten-free (in very tiny letters). It is so hard to find jams and jellies that don't have all kinds of stuff in them. I avoid high fructose corn syrup in addition to gluten and had a real hard time finding one that was just fruit.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, can HFCS possibly have gluten in it? Or is it exclusively corn?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So, can HFCS possibly have gluten in it? Or is it exclusively corn?

It's corn, but it's very bad for you. Plain corn syrup, not so bad. High fructose, very bad!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you so much for the warning! I just e-mailed the company to say, "way to go!" for using wheat!

Anyway, it is so easy to make your own jams. I mean, seriously simple. And if the pecting fails, you now have syrup, lol! So usually I make my own. Strawberries are in right now where I live and I have a good dozen jars made this afternoon. You should look into it. Simple, really easy and you KNOW it is safe!

When I want something different, I always have "Welch's" stuck in my head. They are listed as gluten-free in Cecelia's as well.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I buy ST.DALFOUR jam/jelly. The ingredients in one of the many flavors I have is: cranberries, blueberries, concentrated grape juice, fruit pectin. That's it! And they have more than a dozen flavors. My favorite is the Royal Fig.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is from 2008. 

 

Any info about products mentioned 7 years ago should be checked to see if it is still accurate.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with Celiac disease in 1981 after Celiac pushed my body to malabsorption which took my almost 6 ft frame down to 124 lbs. In the last 30-plus years, I have become a label reader. While there are lots more choices for gluten free, there are still some

differences in company's definition of Gluten Free.   So when I found Blackberry Jam by Hero at the market and noticed the Gluten Free

on the front label,I grabbed it.  I sometimes have it on toast 2 or 3 times a week when I have gluten-free bread or rice cakes in the house. I even tried the blackberry Hero in plain yogurt - yummy.

I was sick 2 days in a row this week.  A single attack is pretty rare since I am very careful. So a second day really knocked me down. I could not think of anything that could have eaten that would cause the attack. Then as I was about to add jam to my toast this morning, I decided to read the label on the Hero jam.  What? What is "wheat syrup"?  And how can those two words exist on the same label with the words "gluten free"?  

I found this topic on celiac.com from 2008 and still there are questions about if Hero jam is really gluten free seven years later.

 

Any ideas, comments or advice?

Linda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is likely glucose syrup. That is a highly refined sugar that is gluten-free even if made from wheat as the original source.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,653
    • Total Posts
      918,480
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Newly diagnosed and totally overwhelmed
      Hi!  I know I'll never forget the day I was told after an endo- and colonoscopy that I indeed had celiac disease.  I immediately went to a Trader Joe's grocery store and bought some gluten-free things to eat. about a month later I had a Total meltdown in my car outside a grocery store---feeling So Sorry for myself!   I cried and said I'll Never to able to eat what I want to again! that was 10 years ago and gluten-free foods have come a long way.... I love having a gluten-free everything bagel and delicious gluten-free 'Oreo cookies'----neither of which there were 10years ago. Everyone who has responded so far have Great Tips!  The best news is that your Diet will cure you!  I do not know of any other condition where this is true!! BTW---some of your friends and family Will understand and will make sure you aren't hung out to dry foodwise........and others just won't/can't understand and will think that just avoiding bread is enough..... Be kind, but don't risk your health to be nice to someone who forgot or doesn't understand. keep reading!  Keep trying different gluten-free foods to find what you like!   Best wishes!!  
    • Milling vs buying gluten-free flour
      It has never even been turned on. As I recall, it is capable of milling oats as well as popcorn. I don't know about coconut or other nuts but I can find out.
    • Milling vs buying gluten-free flour
      The very first question is.... Was that Retsel grain mill used for gluten before your diagnosis? If the answer is yes then the 2nd question is can it be COMPLETELY DISASSEMBLED and cleaned in every single nook & cranny? If the answer to that is no, then you can't use that grain mill because you will be continually cross contaminating yourself.  3rd question: Will that mill do things like coconut? The grains that are oily. Some mills won't. Better check that out. I got a NutriMill & it can not do oily grains or things like coconut. No oats as they're oily, same for nuts. Rice flour it does a great job on & gets it as fine as I can buy it.
    • Food tolerance issues post-diagnosis
      Boy, you've sure had a rough time of it! My heart goes out to you! I love your positive attitude about coping until your villi heal more. THAT is your greatest ally in this journey. Okay, now to your problems...... Your gut is still damaged. You aren't healed yet - you know that as you've stated it. It can be really wonky for the first 6 months to a year. It's like being on a roller coaster ride & you can have good days & sucko days & good weeks & weeks that are the absolute pits. My advice would be to ditch all the processed gluten free foods. You'll heal faster & have less problems eating "whole foods" --- fresh or frozen fruits & veggies, meats & dairy as long as you can tolerate it. Forget the corn flakes & rice krispies. They may be gluten free but it's still processed food & therefore full of all kinds of chemicals & preservatives & stuff you don't need. We always tell people to spend at least the 1st 6 months avoiding the processed foods. Time enough to get into those after you heal right? How about for breakfast you have a couple eggs, either fried or pan scrambled. Some fruit -- bananas, pears, whatever floats your boat, a glass of milk, some yogurt. You may need to have well cooked foods for a while & that means mushy veggies as well as fruit. From the sound of the extent of damage you had I would say that's where you ought to be at this point. You don't want to make things any harder on your gut than necessary for the time being. You do have one great big thing in your favor & that's your age. You're young & will by all rights heal up much faster than us old geezers who weren't diagnosed until our 50's, 60's & 70's after a lifetime of damage. Please read our Newbie 101 & follow the links contained within the threads. This will give you a ton of valuable information. Just click on it:  
    • Biopsy confirmed?
      Okay, this makes more sense now. Was the celiac test in 2014 part of the checking to find out what was wrong with you which resulted in the Barrets dx?  NO, a colonoscopy will not diagnose celiac disease at all. The biopsies for celiac disease are taken in the small intestine not the colon. You need to get your records, both past & present. If you could post them here then we'd have a much better idea of what's going on and be more able to tell you what you might be looking at. When we say you might not have been given the right celiac blood panel, we mean the FULL, CURRENT panel and not just a primary screening. The screening is good but it does miss celiacs. We have members who tested negative on all but the DgP portions so when one has a situation like yours, you need to cover all the bases & have the complete panel done. Here it is: Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgA
      Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgG
      Anti-Endomysial (EMA) IgA
      Anti-Tissue Transglutaminase (tTG) IgA
      Deamidated Gliadin Peptide (DGP) IgA and IgG
      Total Serum IgA   
      Also can be termed this way: Endomysial Antibody IgA
      Tissue Transglutaminase IgA 
      GLIADIN IgG
      GLIADIN IgA
      Total Serum IgA 
      Deamidated Gliadin Peptide (DGP) IgA and IgG   If you post your results on the blood work make sure to post the reference ranges listed because different labs have different ranges. It would be imperative to know if the doc took biopsies for celiac when he was doing the endoscopy. How many & where exactly from? Some docs just rely on visual & that's not good enough to dx celiac disease. Biopsies are the only way.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,745
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    komac
    Joined