Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Getting Glutened By Hero Jam
0

13 posts in this topic

Hope this story will help someone. I wish I knew that even jam might contain traces of guten, it would save us a lot of money because in the search of the source of gluten / cross-contamination we changed all utensils, all pots and frying pans, most of small appliances, and recently even dinnerware and silverware. My toiletries are gluten-free. I cook almost everything from scratch. Our household (me and my husband) is completely gluten-free and I still felt that I was getting glutened somehow.

This weekend it was time to buy a new jam and we usually go to another store for that because all other jams we consider to be too sweet and this one (Hero jam) doesn't have that much sugar in it. Just by habit I read ingredients, see glucose syrup in it and it hits me: just today I read on this forum that glucose syrup might be derived from wheat! It might be my jam! Of all things I have always thought that jam would be safe and I did not associate glucose syrup with wheat. So I came home, e-mailed Hero North America and today I got the following reply: "The glucose syrup is made from wheat. However the amount of gluten from the glucose syrup is extremely small. (Less than 100 ppm)."

I guess I react to this small amount of gluten. Here is their website http://www.herousa.com/

I am glad to finally figure it out and hope that now I will recover faster.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Oh, good grief. :angry:

Does anyone know of a safe, gluten free brand of jam or jelly that also does not have artificial flavoring or coloring or any of that weird crap in it ? Sugar is okay. You know, plain sugar, like things used to be made of back in the ancient times.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Oh, good grief. :angry:

Does anyone know of a safe, gluten free brand of jam or jelly that also does not have artificial flavoring or coloring or any of that weird crap in it ? Sugar is okay. You know, plain sugar, like things used to be made of back in the ancient times.

Smuckers Jams and Jellies are all gluten free. I don't know what you consider "all that weird crap", though. Regarding Glucose Syrup, if it is derived from wheat, it would be required by law to be listed on the ingredients, such as "Glucose Syrup (wheat), in the United States.

..............................

Corn syrup

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search

Tate & Lyle brand Corn Syrup being moved by tank carCorn syrup is a syrup, made using corn starch as a feedstock, and composed mainly of glucose. A series of two enzymatic reactions are used to convert the corn starch to corn syrup. Its major use is in commercially prepared foods as a thickener and for its moisture-retaining (humectant) properties which keep foods moist and help to maintain freshness. Because of its mild sweetness, corn syrup may be used in conjunction with highly-intense sweeteners.

Corn syrup is used to soften texture, add volume, prohibit crystallization and enhance flavor. [1]

The more general term glucose syrup is often used synonymously with corn syrup, since the former is most commonly made from corn starch.[2] Technically, though, glucose syrup is any liquid starch hydrolysate of mono, di, and higher saccharides[3] and can be made from from any sources of starch; wheat, rice and potatoes are the most common sources.

High-fructose corn syrup (HFCS) is a variant in which other enzymes are used to convert some of the glucose into fructose. The resulting syrup is sweeter and more soluble.

Until recently, a corn syrup variant used to be sold in the retail market, say in supermarkets, had a high glucose content. HFCS is also appearing in retail products. The largest and most popular market in the United States for corn syrup is Karo Syrup, a fructose/glucose syrup.[4]

It is in trend for corn syrup to be flavored with vanilla extract.[citation needed]

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Regarding Glucose Syrup, if it is derived from wheat, it would be required by law to be listed on the ingredients, such as "Glucose Syrup (wheat), in the United States.

I live in Canada and unfortunately Canada doesn't have allergen laws like in US. It is not required by law to list wheat or any other allergens here in Canada. Some manufactirers do that voluntarily, unfortunately not all of them. I realize that in US this situation would not be possible. However, this Hero company is based in Switzerland and they do supply jams to USA as well, I wonder if they have different labels in US.

I just never associated glucose syrup with gluten and wheat. I thought that this is just sugar dissolved in water. If not for this forum it would never have occured to me that jam might contain gluten. By the way, it is now a week since I stopped eating it and I do feel much better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, at least the Smucker's website is good at listing ingredients and ease of navigating the site. http://www.smuckers.com

I was looking recently at jellies and the first few jars of Smuckers I picked up either had food coloring, (the low sugar marmalade) "natural flavors" or corn syrup in them. When I am in a hurry or tired if I pick up 3 or 4 different flavors of a brand and see it has those things, I tend to put it back on the shelf, if I can't get my built in memory chip to kick in with "did I look this company up on the internet already?" :blink:

It looks like the "simply fruit" kind of Smuckers (fruit syrup, the fruit, lemon juice, pectin, natural flavors) would work if the natural flavors are trustworthy.

I pulled up the Simply Fruit Marmalade page and it has fruit syrup, orange peel, orange juice, lemon juice, pectin, natural orange flavor.

http://www.smuckers.com/fg/pds/default.asp...6&prodid=55

The question is why does the store not stock that, which I would have taken home, and instead had the stuff with the

"WATER*, SUGAR, ORANGE PEEL, ORANGE JUICE, FRUIT PECTIN, CITRIC ACID, LOCUST BEAN GUM*, POTASSIUM SORBATE ADDED AS A PRESERVATIVE, CALCIUM CHLORIDE*, NATURAL ORANGE FLAVOR, YELLOW 5*, YELLOW 6*. *INGREDIENTS NOT IN REGULAR MARMALADE."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Oh, good grief. :angry:

Does anyone know of a safe, gluten free brand of jam or jelly that also does not have artificial flavoring or coloring or any of that weird crap in it ? Sugar is okay. You know, plain sugar, like things used to be made of back in the ancient times.

There are a couple that I use one is Crofter's Organic and the other is the Polaner All Fruit and that one is marked gluten-free (in very tiny letters). It is so hard to find jams and jellies that don't have all kinds of stuff in them. I avoid high fructose corn syrup in addition to gluten and had a real hard time finding one that was just fruit.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, can HFCS possibly have gluten in it? Or is it exclusively corn?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So, can HFCS possibly have gluten in it? Or is it exclusively corn?

It's corn, but it's very bad for you. Plain corn syrup, not so bad. High fructose, very bad!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you so much for the warning! I just e-mailed the company to say, "way to go!" for using wheat!

Anyway, it is so easy to make your own jams. I mean, seriously simple. And if the pecting fails, you now have syrup, lol! So usually I make my own. Strawberries are in right now where I live and I have a good dozen jars made this afternoon. You should look into it. Simple, really easy and you KNOW it is safe!

When I want something different, I always have "Welch's" stuck in my head. They are listed as gluten-free in Cecelia's as well.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I buy ST.DALFOUR jam/jelly. The ingredients in one of the many flavors I have is: cranberries, blueberries, concentrated grape juice, fruit pectin. That's it! And they have more than a dozen flavors. My favorite is the Royal Fig.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is from 2008. 

 

Any info about products mentioned 7 years ago should be checked to see if it is still accurate.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with Celiac disease in 1981 after Celiac pushed my body to malabsorption which took my almost 6 ft frame down to 124 lbs. In the last 30-plus years, I have become a label reader. While there are lots more choices for gluten free, there are still some

differences in company's definition of Gluten Free.   So when I found Blackberry Jam by Hero at the market and noticed the Gluten Free

on the front label,I grabbed it.  I sometimes have it on toast 2 or 3 times a week when I have gluten-free bread or rice cakes in the house. I even tried the blackberry Hero in plain yogurt - yummy.

I was sick 2 days in a row this week.  A single attack is pretty rare since I am very careful. So a second day really knocked me down. I could not think of anything that could have eaten that would cause the attack. Then as I was about to add jam to my toast this morning, I decided to read the label on the Hero jam.  What? What is "wheat syrup"?  And how can those two words exist on the same label with the words "gluten free"?  

I found this topic on celiac.com from 2008 and still there are questions about if Hero jam is really gluten free seven years later.

 

Any ideas, comments or advice?

Linda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is likely glucose syrup. That is a highly refined sugar that is gluten-free even if made from wheat as the original source.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,667
    • Total Posts
      921,670
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Marip, Have you been diagnosed with celiac disease or Non-celiac Gluten Intolerance?  I notice you joined in 2014.  Did you ever go guten free?  How can we help?   Sorry, I'm not a stool expert!  You could Google it...  Malabsorption?  Standard lab tests that check for anemia and vitamin deficiencies, etc.  should help make that diagnosis.  
    • You can eat just a slice or two (or equivalent) of bread a day for accurate testing.   I understand about the high deductibles.  We're self-employed and we pay for our health insurance. 
    • Sure, if it's gluten free, then fine.  I am very allergic (like anaphylactic) to ibuprofen and aspirin.  So, in my case, I would just tough it out.  Go to bed.  Sleep it off.....eventually. My money is on the garlic and onions.  I can't consume those either (damn that zonulin/leaky gut -- google it along with Dr. Fasano).  I just season with salt, pepper.  Boring.  But no gut issues.  I'm hoping like my lactose intolerance (resolved), that I will get garlic and onions back.   Finally, sometimes just eating anything can hurt when you still have intestinal damage.  Hopefully, you'll feel better in two or three hours if it's celiac related.  Longer if it's an intolerance (leaky gut thing....) Hugs!      
    • I read on their website that all Advil is gluten free, I had such bad pinching cramping today(which I don't why since I prepared all my food at home today.) I made a pot roast, salt garlic, onions...No gluten but still pain, That's the only thing I ate today..I don't eat breakfast or anything.   Anyways.   Is it a good idea to take Advil for the cramping? That's how I would describe it like someone is reaching inside me and pinching me and twisting my insides.    This is what I took  
    • I'll give my PCP a call tomorrow and see what they can offer. My only worry is the expense as anymore tests will put me behind in being able to afford to see the GI. I have high deductible insurance but get money put into my HSA. I'm still trying to pay off the CT scan though. Which is why I'm trying to pick and choose which poses the greatest risk for me right now and what can wait. (Though I would prefer not to wait on any of it.)

      I really do hope its only IBS. Though I always worry IBS is more or less a doctors way of saying "I have no clue" at that point. :C

      Again, I'll be sure to give my PCP a call tomorrow then and see what the options are. I can feel a lot better trying the blood work first. however, once that is done, do I still need to be on a gluten diet before the endoscopy? Also, is it ok if I still mildly reduce the gluten. As in, can I avoid a whole wheat pasta dinner, but still be eating the peanut butter crackers? That sort of thing. Again I guess that is more of a doctor related question. I just wasn't sure if in order to raise your chance, you have to mass consume gluten or not. (Its already in just about everything to begin with.)   --Edit--
      I just now reread the part that you still need to be on the gluten foods even for biopsy so I'll be sure to do that too.
       
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,664
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Britliac
    Joined