El Bell

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 January 2005 - 07:53 PM

[FONT=Geneva][FONT=Arial][SIZE=5][COLOR=purple]

Hey

I was diagnosed with celiac about 2 months ago and I've completely implemented the gluten-free diet. So far I'm feeling mostly worse! I never had GI symptoms before (instead I was plagued with heat intolerance, inability to sleep, fatigue, loss of focus, exhaustion and the like). Now I have a lot of tummy aches bloating and gas too (yum, I know) and I can't eat any of the good stuff. I'm having a hard time finding gluten-free options in NYC ... I don't really know where to look. I've gained about 10 pounds since changing my diet (I used to eat all whole grains, and now I've got none in my diet) and that is bugging me. I'm really healthy; I work as a personal trainer and I'm studying nutrition - but I can't seem to get a handle on this.

Looking forward to some support from here ... don't know any other celiac folks and not really sure who to turn to for some advice on this. I figured you folks would know best! =)

Thanks
El

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

lovegrov

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,534 posts

Posted 22 January 2005 - 08:19 PM

One suggestion is to try to quit looking for gluten-free "options." gluten-free replacement foods are loaded with empty calories. Just eat fresh meat, vegetables, and fruit.

richard

#3 MySuicidalTurtle

MySuicidalTurtle

"Like a rolling stone?"

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts

Posted 22 January 2005 - 08:24 PM

I love going to NYC!

Here is some stuff:
http://www.glutenfre...?showtopic=4418

#4 lbsteenwyk

lbsteenwyk

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 22 January 2005 - 10:16 PM