Soy Lecithin, Soy In General
Posted 29 May 2008 - 01:21 PM
Posted 29 May 2008 - 01:56 PM
Many products contain soy lecithin. Is this a gluten-based ingredient? Do soy derivatives in general contain gluten? What about emulsifiers?
Lecithin is a fatty substance. Gluten is a protein. There is no gluten in soy, but many people who cannot tolerate gluten cannot tolerate soy, either. I know that many people who are allergic to soy are allergic to the soy protein and can actually eat products that contain soy lecithin.
If you suspect you may have issues with soy, you should probably try eliminating it and see what happens. You may be able to tolerate lecithin but not soy protein.
There is a good easy-to-understand explanation of emulsifiers here: http://www.foodaddit...mulsifiers.html
"You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows" probably was not referring to us . . .
"For the love of
The person we most dislike is still a soul for whom Christ died. (David Jeremiah)
Posted 29 May 2008 - 04:52 PM
gluten-free since 4/22/07; SF since 7/07; 3/08 & 7/08 high sugar levels in stool (i.e. cannot break down carbs) digestive enzymes for carbs didn't help; 7/18/08 started SCD as prescribed by my physician (MD).
10/2000 dx LYME disease; 2008 clinical dx CELIAC; Other: hypothyroid, allergies, dupuytrens, high mercury levels
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users