Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Pre-packaged Kellogg's Rice Krispie Treats?


  • Please log in to reply

5 replies to this topic

#1 scott_in_pa

 
scott_in_pa

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 07 June 2008 - 03:59 PM

Hello everyone. I'm confused about the allergen listing on the pre-packaged Kellogg's brand Rice Krispie treats-- my son loves these and takes them with his lunch sometimes as a snack. I'm wondering if I could eat them too (I'm the celiac in the house)? Kellogg's lists only the following: CONTAINS MILK AND SOY INGREDIENTS. Are the ingredients in these different from the regular cereal boxes? Malt is still listed as an ingredient. What gives?
  • 0
Diagnosed March 2008
Gluten free since March 20, 2008

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Fiddle-Faddle

 
Fiddle-Faddle

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,159 posts
 

Posted 07 June 2008 - 04:03 PM

Malt does not come from wheat, it comes from barley. Barley IS a gluten-containing grain, but it is not one of the "top 8" allergens that are required to be listed.

Food manufacturers are not required to list gluten, only the top 8 allergens.
  • 0

#3 Lisa

 
Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts
 

Posted 07 June 2008 - 04:07 PM

Hello everyone. I'm confused about the allergen listing on the pre-packaged Kellogg's brand Rice Krispie treats-- my son loves these and takes them with his lunch sometimes as a snack. I'm wondering if I could eat them too (I'm the celiac in the house)? Kellogg's lists only the following: CONTAINS MILK AND SOY INGREDIENTS. Are the ingredients in these different from the regular cereal boxes? Malt is still listed as an ingredient. What gives?


Wheat and Soy are one of the top eight allergens which by law must be listed either in the ingredient listing or in an allergen statement. Barley, malt and rye do not have to be listed and may be hidden in "natural flavors".

Here is a list of companies who will clearly list all forms of gluten to include barley, rye and malt:

http://www.glutenfre...donothidegluten

Kellogg's Rice Krispies are not gluten free. (as you stated, malt is an ingredient.)
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#4 scott_in_pa

 
scott_in_pa

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 07 June 2008 - 04:16 PM

Thanks, you guys, for coming through yet again with fast & accurate information!

Cheers,
Scott_in_PA
  • 0
Diagnosed March 2008
Gluten free since March 20, 2008

#5 GlutenGalAZ

 
GlutenGalAZ

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 543 posts
 

Posted 09 June 2008 - 07:08 PM

scott_in_pa

If you like Rice Krispie Treats...

The other month I got Erewhon brand cereal -- 100% Whole Grain Cereal Crispy Brown Rice (gluten free) and made krispie treats using Kraft Jet Puffed marshmallows. Still used the recipe on the bag (making sure all ingredients were gluten free) and split it in half so I didn't have to make a lot. They turned out good. My husband who can eat gluten liked them better than real rice krispie treats.
  • 0
Rebecca

Partial Gluten Free March 2007
Completely Gluten Free February 2008
Tapioca Starch/Flour Free April 2008
No MSG July 2008
Cut out Nitrates//Nitrites January 2009
Problems with Tomatoes and Potatoes -- Cut out Nightshades Aug '09

#6 Juliebove

 
Juliebove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts
 

Posted 09 June 2008 - 07:26 PM

These are gluten free. Daughter likes the plain ones better than the chocolate.

http://www.glennys.c...3bc311852c11256

They are gluten-free but do have a "May contain traces of ___" disclaimer so if you have other allergies, they might not work for you.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: