Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Natural Flavors Vs. Natural Flavorings?
0

10 posts in this topic

On May 1, 2008, my blood test came back with a highly positive reading of 271 for the gluten antibodies. I am having a biopsy on Monday. I have thrown every kind of suspect food item out my house. Or so I think. However, so many of the labels say natural flavors, or natural flavorings. Are these safe for us? Please help. I'm really afraid that with how positive my test came back I'm going to have to be EXTREMELY careful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I sure hope you have not been gluten free since May 1st as your biopsy might come up negative as your villi might have healed to a point where the biopsy will not pick up damage.

The villi begin healing as soon as you cut gluten out of your diet and some people heal VERY quickly (within weeks). So if you are gluten free and have been for more than a few weeks, dont be surprised if the biopsy comes back negative and you do not get a Dx of Celiac.

But with your blood YOU ARE Celiac. So try not to be lulled into a sense of security based on the biopsy. If you continue to eat gluten you will be damaging yourself and setting yourself up for auto-immune, cancer, etc.

***Now to answer your question. I avoid both of these things because I am sensitive to MSG and both of these contain it. MSG comes from seaweed, so they can still call it "natural". I personally do not buy any product that does not list everything out individually.

I WOULD NOT buy this product:

Ingredients: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, modified palm oil, spices and natural flavoring.

But I WOULD buy this one:

Ingrediets: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, palm oil, thyme, parsley, rosemary and sea salt.

***Manufacturers now know that we look for "hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated" so they use "modified" to fool us and since the Govt allows some trans fats and they can still claim zero trans fats, this is how they get around it and trick us into buying their crap. If the oil has been modified in anyway they have to claim that. They just dont have to tell you "how" it was modified.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten can hide in natural flavorings, but many mainstream companies have policies of disclosing any gluten in their ingredients. If the product is not from a company that discloses gluten and it does not say gluten free, then I contact the company before I let my son eat it. When you do call companies, ask if the have a gluten labeling policy. It's best if they have a policy for disclosing gluten, so we don't have to rely on lists that can change. Also ask who their parent company is, as they will likely have the same policy. For example if you call La Choy and speak to them about their soy sauce, you could possibly miss that the parent company Con Agra discloses gluten in ALL of their MANY products.

These companies disclose gluten (it won't hide in natural flavorings, spices, etc.):

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I sure hope you have not been gluten free since May 1st as your biopsy might come up negative as your villi might have healed to a point where the biopsy will not pick up damage.

The villi begin healing as soon as you cut gluten out of your diet and some people heal VERY quickly (within weeks). So if you are gluten free and have been for more than a few weeks, dont be surprised if the biopsy comes back negative and you do not get a Dx of Celiac.

But with your blood YOU ARE Celiac. So try not to be lulled into a sense of security based on the biopsy. If you continue to eat gluten you will be damaging yourself and setting yourself up for auto-immune, cancer, etc.

***Now to answer your question. I avoid both of these things because I am sensitive to MSG and both of these contain it. MSG comes from seaweed, so they can still call it "natural". I personally do not buy any product that does not list everything out individually.

I WOULD NOT buy this product:

Ingredients: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, modified palm oil, spices and natural flavoring.

But I WOULD buy this one:

Ingrediets: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, palm oil, thyme, parsley, rosemary and sea salt.

***Manufacturers now know that we look for "hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated" so they use "modified" to fool us and since the Govt allows some trans fats and they can still claim zero trans fats, this is how they get around it and trick us into buying their crap. If the oil has been modified in anyway they have to claim that. They just dont have to tell you "how" it was modified.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thank you for all the information. No I have not been gluten free since May 1st, I will officially gluten free tomorrow. I am lucky enough to have found this web site, and knew that I could heal within the time in between my blood test and biopsy. It has given me time to get ready mentally also. Because although I know most of the foods I have been eating are making me sick, I am very fond of them. So now I am ready.

I had the same reaction to ingredients that are generically listed as "spices". I threw all of those away just to be safe. Thankfully my husband is really supportive and is even given up his bread for his beloved sandwiches. :)

Again thank you for all the information.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gluten can hide in natural flavorings, but many mainstream companies have policies of disclosing any gluten in their ingredients. If the product is not from a company that discloses gluten and it does not say gluten free, then I contact the company before I let my son eat it. When you do call companies, ask if the have a gluten labeling policy. It's best if they have a policy for disclosing gluten, so we don't have to rely on lists that can change. Also ask who their parent company is, as they will likely have the same policy. For example if you call La Choy and speak to them about their soy sauce, you could possibly miss that the parent company Con Agra discloses gluten in ALL of their MANY products.

These companies disclose gluten (it won't hide in natural flavorings, spices, etc.):

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gluten can hide in natural flavorings, but many mainstream companies have policies of disclosing any gluten in their ingredients. If the product is not from a company that discloses gluten and it does not say gluten free, then I contact the company before I let my son eat it. When you do call companies, ask if the have a gluten labeling policy. It's best if they have a policy for disclosing gluten, so we don't have to rely on lists that can change. Also ask who their parent company is, as they will likely have the same policy. For example if you call La Choy and speak to them about their soy sauce, you could possibly miss that the parent company Con Agra discloses gluten in ALL of their MANY products.

These companies disclose gluten (it won't hide in natural flavorings, spices, etc.):

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Some flavorings can contain gluten, so it is best to verify by looking on the company website and/or contacting them by phone or email.

In case you haven't yet seen this, here's a link to some lists of safe and unsafe ingredients:

http://www.celiac.com/categories/Safe-Glut...3B-Ingredients/

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me this info. I don't know what I would have done with out this site to find people that give such great support.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
.....I had the same reaction to ingredients that are generically listed as "spices". I threw all of those away just to be safe. Thankfully my husband is really supportive and is even given up his bread for his beloved sandwiches......

If you haven't been gluten-free until tomorrow, how do you know you react to "spices"? Any possible gluten contained in spice ingredients (which I wouldn't worry about anyway since wheat is not a spice) would be infinitesimally small compared to the major gluten you eat before going gluten-free.

Why does your husband have to go on a gluten-free diet? He doesn't have Celiac Disease. I make my wife sandwiches; hasn't made me sick.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,662
    • Total Posts
      918,515
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Costco
      This forum post came up when I Google searched Kirkland Dish Soap. I called them today and they said there is no gluten in the dish soap. Janis 
    • Food tolerance issues post-diagnosis
      In light of the studies that found some probiotics that are labeled gluten-free yet tested over 20ppm I wouldn't touch them. Now those would be the powder or pill forms. Yogurt is not affected by that. Since you don't have a problem with dairy then I would say eat some yogurt every day. I like Chobani Greek because it has more kinds of cultures. Remember now that powder or pill forms of probiotics do not come under the gluten-free labeling law. The same for OTC & prescription meds. You need to check every single one of those. There are a few online sites where you can check things like that or ask here but as far as prescription meds -- call the manufacturer EVERY TIME. I also wanted to tell you in case you didn't already know that since celiac is genetic and can present at ANY age then all your first degree relatives need to be tested every 2 years in the absence of symptoms and immediately if symptoms present between the 2 year periods. As far as the digestive enzymes go, I tried Digest Gold for a short time & it really didn't seem to do anything for me however I will say I had a lot of issues going on at the time so I might not know if they helped or not. I decided to quit them in order to take that out of the equation so I could try to pin down what was causing me distress. The fewer things in the mix you know. I have heard people report the same as your consultant said. Some say they helped & some say they didn't. Remember Jammy, you're just in the beginning stages. I KNOW you want to heal & heal FAST. Been there, done that! It's like this: you didn't get sick overnight & you're not going to heal overnight. Patience is the watchword here. It's hard I know! You just want to get on with your life. We can all relate.  Again, I'm going to say to eat foods easy on your gut. WELL cooked foods. No raw carrots, coconut, nuts & stuff like that. Easier on your gut would be nut butters.... peanut butter, cashew butter, almond butter etc.... It's sort of like being a baby ---  soft, easy to digest foods. Bone broth is a great healer for you gut & extremely nutritious as well as being easy on the digestion. Here's just one recipe: http://wellnessmama.com/5888/how-to-make-bone-broth/
    • Food tolerance issues post-diagnosis
      Thanks for the tip! Will try that out in the next few days. By the way, has anyone had any joy with probiotics or digestive enzymes in terms of symptom relief/speeding up the healing process? I asked my consultant about this when I saw him last week and he said that some people find them beneficial while others don't, but obviously I'm keen to try anything that may help, with uncomfortable fullness/bloating/gas still being my main issue  - is it worth giving them a go?
    • Are The Following Gluten-free?
      I realize that this is an old thread but I would just like to say something about label reading. Just because a product says gluten free on the label doesn't mean that you don't have to read any further and can have complete trust in the product.  There are a lot of products that state that they are gluten free on the package and then you find out that they are processed in plants that also produce wheat products. If you are super sensitive, you need to know that information. I am afraid that there is no escaping reading labels in supermarkets unless you know that the company makes it's products in a truly gluten free environment (even then you should read labels because ingredients can and do change, even in products made in gluten free facilities), It's a pain to stand there and read labels but if you are super sensitive, you might just have to do that. For example, I am gluten and lactose intolerant but also sensitive to nuts and sesame. While it may be fine for other gluten intolerant people to eat something that's labeled gluten free which is produced in a gluten free facility that also processes nuts, for me it is not.. 
    • Golden Bell Pepper Soup (Gluten-Free)
      Dipping your spoon into this bell pepper–sweet potato combo is like dipping into a bowl of sunshine. It's stunning—and the perfect antidote to a gloomy winter's day. This soup also freezes well, so if you're not serving a crowd, store the leftovers for a later date (or make a double batch). I like to enjoy this soup accompanied by my Massaged Kale Salad with Spicy Hazelnuts View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,753
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    The sweet cheeks
    Joined