This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Wheat Flour In Ice Cream!?!?!

HAK1031

HAK1031 Enthusiast

I work as a camp lifeguard/counselor, and today as a fourth of july treat we had ice cream sundaes. there were 3 flavors: vanilla, cookies and cream, and napolitan (sp? the kind with three flavors). Obviously the cookies and cream was out, so I went to go check the napolitan ingredients, feeling 85% sure it was safe. Well lo and behold, the ingredients listed WHEAT FLOUR!!! Why on earth is that necessary?? Luckily, the vanilla was safe, so I took a clean spoon and dished some out for myself before it could be contaminated. But I don't generally check ingredients on ice cream when ordering it at restaurants, etc. because I stick to simple flavors. Apparently, that's a bad idea. This was some generic foodservice brand. So let this be a lesson to you- assume a food is unsafe until proven otherwise, no matter how mundane it may seem! The last thing I need is a glutening at camp- nine hour days in the hot sun are tough on a gluten-ravaged body.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Juliebove Rising Star

Wow. We don't eat ice cream because of dairy allergies. But it always surprises me when I find something like that in a food where you wouldn't expect it.

ShayFL Enthusiast

Decent restaurants will have Edy's or Hagen Daz. If you stick to vanilla or chocolate that is your best bet.

EALincoln Newbie