Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

L-glutamine Is Safe For Coeliac?


  • Please log in to reply

13 replies to this topic

#1 asad86

 
asad86

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 01:11 PM

Hi,

i have recently started with L-Glutamine but i don't know if it is safe to take because have coeliac disease...
i haven't take any of the L-Glutamine today and am not going to take it anymore untill i am confirmed that is safe to take with Coeliac. on a internet website i found this information... and according to it, Coeliac is caused by "glutamine gluten proteins"....

i just want to confirm this with experts in this forum.

please do help me...

thanks in advance

Coeliac disease is also known as gluten enteropathy because it is
caused by immune reactivity triggered by glutamine- and proline-rich
gluten proteins

src: http://www.blackwell.....of Keshav.pdf


  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 elonwy

 
elonwy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,071 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 01:34 PM

L-glutamine is an amino acid, and is not related to gluten, so as long as the specific product you are taking is gluten free, ie: any added binders or the capsules themselves, you're just fine. :)
  • 0
Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05
Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05
gluten-free since 7/23/05
Never felt better.


"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

#3 asad86

 
asad86

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 01:41 PM

thanks for quick reply...

they are tablets but i don't know if they are gluten free but i will post the ingredients for you then you can tell me if it is gluten free or not....

thanks again
  • 0

#4 elonwy

 
elonwy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,071 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 01:45 PM

A better way may be to call the manufacturer, which is what I tend to do with drugs and supplements. Feel free to post the ingredients and I'll give them a gander, but I can't promise I can say for sure.
  • 0
Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05
Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05
gluten-free since 7/23/05
Never felt better.


"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

#5 asad86

 
asad86

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 02:14 PM

thanks again for quick reply...

yeah i will contact the manufacturer tomorrow morning....also i got the ingredients for you...if you have spare time then please do look at the ingredients...and thanks again...

L-Glutamine, Bulking Agents (Microcrystalline Cellulose,
Dicalcium Phosphate), Anti-Caking Agents (Calcium Silicate, Silicon
Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate), Firming Agent (Povidone), Sodium
Carboxymethylcellulose, Glycerine, Sodium Citrate.


  • 0

#6 Heather22

 
Heather22

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 95 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 03:54 PM

L-Glutamine is an essential amino acid. It is not derived from any gluten containing food. Therefore, it is ok for Celiacs to use glutamine supplementation - it is particularily good as a fuel for the cells of the intestinal lining (good for Celiac recovery) and also good for muscle repair (from weight lifting/working out).
However, it is important to ensure that the company that supplies it is gluten free. It is possible for cross-contamination to occur if they produce gluten-containing supplements in the the same production line as the glutamine. I would write to or call the company to ensure there is no risk of cc.

I have used glutamine in the past and got really good results from it.

Heather : )

Hi,

i have recently started with L-Glutamine but i don't know if it is safe to take because have coeliac disease...
i haven't take any of the L-Glutamine today and am not going to take it anymore untill i am confirmed that is safe to take with Coeliac. on a internet website i found this information... and according to it, Coeliac is caused by "glutamine gluten proteins"....

i just want to confirm this with experts in this forum.

please do help me...

thanks in advance


  • 0

#7 elonwy

 
elonwy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,071 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 04:37 PM

The cellulose could be wheat derived, I would definitely ask them. I look for supplements that say gluten free these days, as so many do now. I know you probably had these from before though. I sometimes will take L-glutamine to recover from a CC episode faster as well :)
  • 0
Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05
Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05
gluten-free since 7/23/05
Never felt better.


"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

#8 lorka150

 
lorka150

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,476 posts
 

Posted 10 July 2008 - 06:12 PM

I'd be careful - I was recommended L-glutamine at the beginning of diagnosis and it ended up causing many complications, including liver issues that were very severe.
  • 0
Gluten-free, Vegan

#9 asad86

 
asad86

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 11 July 2008 - 02:04 AM

Guys good news i got reply from the manufacturer. According to this e-mail L-Glutamine which i take is free from wheat/Gluten. so does that mean i can use it...i know this is silly question but want to confirm this last time. :)

e-mail message below:

Thank you for your message

The product is wheat/gluten free. If a product contains these ingredients it will be list on the label under allergy advice.

Regards
Lin
Customer Services


  • 0

#10 adoty

 
adoty

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
 

Posted 08 August 2008 - 09:50 PM

L-Glutamine is an amino acid, that naturally occurs in your body. It does not contain gluten, despite its name. In fact, beef, chicken, eggs, beans, spinach all contain glutamine. I take Fiber Smart Lignan-Rich Organic Flax Fiber pills. They contain probiotics and L-Glutamine. It says on the label that it is gluten free. I am very, very sensitive to gluten, and I have been taking them for 6+ months, and I have no problems :)
  • 0

#11 gfp

 
gfp

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,311 posts
 

Posted 09 August 2008 - 02:37 AM

L-Glutamine is an essential amino acid. It is not derived from any gluten containing food.

Well it can be derived from almost any source, animal or vegetable.
I would say the important thing is how its derived and how pure it is.
Glutamine is not related to gluten except in the way that say water is related to ice-cream. (In a very broad sense)..
Ice cream contains milk and milk contains water (just like every vegetable and animal) ... but just because you have a diary allergy wouldn't make you allergic to water....

Put another way (trying to be non technical) ... amino acids are basically building blocks for proteins...
Its like having a set of different colored lego.... (on a much smaller scale)...
So the amino acids are made of C-N-H but that's pretty much as irrelevant as the lego being made of plastic :D
Amino acids stick together in long chains... many of these chains occur in lots of different species... (well mostly its a limited number)
A certain set of these possible tens of thousands of combinations (lets say yellow 4x4 square/blue 4x8/green 8x8/green 8x8 ..etc...) make up a common protein sequence... this protein sequence is common to say wheat, rye and barley....
In lego world this is like say making a generic house ... 4 windows and 1 door on the front ...

If we have enough lego we can make a generic lego town.... but when we build a firestation etc. the generic doesn't work,we invent a new one...

gluten is like the completed house.... with 4 front windows, 4 at the back and a front and rear door, roof and all.
rye is like we take a similar model but we have 6 windows or a double window at the front ... and perhaps barley we have a porch...
oats is a similar looking house but we use a different set of lego for the roof ....

In this context the protein sequences are like the "generic door" or generic windows.... the amino acids are the lego bricks... and the protein is the completed unit....

So stepping back....
Without researching how amino acid suppliments are manufactured I don't know if they are derived from proteins which are broken down by enzymes ... or synthetically produced ...

Neither do I know the purity a preperation need be to be called 'l-glutamine' ...
It is possible that 90% is good enough.... for instance melon flesh (not seeds) contain almost 90% of one single amino acid...
(This was actually a undergrad research project I did nearly 20 yrs ago) potatoes contain nearly exclusively methinonine (from memory) ...
So if 90% is good enough then a dried out melon protein could be 'sold' as a amino acid suppliment...

Further to this amino acids are not harmless suppliments
Changing the bodies amino acid balance can have VERY drastic effects....
pure amino acid suppliments can completely change a metabolism... for better and for worse ....
Although unrelated to gluten and celiac just because they are simple and natural doesn't make them harmless..
Salt is very simple and natural and our body requires it to function and occurs in all our foods but supplimenting it in large quantities can have big effects!

This is completely misleading....
http://www.bodybuild...ts-benefits.htm

because glutamine occurs naturally in the body ....

This is complete BS.... or worse.... arsenic also occurs naturally in the body.... indeed we would die without a tiny amount of it but too much soon leads to health problems... (the only natural {sub uranic} element with no known use in the body is mercury ... ) I'm not saying no known health risks for L-Glutamine is incorrect, I'm saying their reasoning is beyond fundamentally flawed and dangerous!!!

phenylalinine (basically splenda) is also a naturally occurring amino acid found naturally in the body....
Small amounts of it can in sensitive people reduce them to morons (medical definition IQ<20)

The reasoning of things in the internet like the above link are EXTREMELY DANGEROUS....
They are the online equivalents of the heathfood shop hippy telling you that "this is whole wheat it's not processed and can't make you ill". just because something is natural or normally found in the body DOES NOT mean its harmless!
  • 0
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (JC, De Bello Gallico Liber III/XVIII)

#12 Rya

 
Rya

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 126 posts
 

Posted 15 August 2008 - 08:37 PM

phenylalinine (basically splenda) is also a naturally occurring amino acid found naturally in the body....
Small amounts of it can in sensitive people reduce them to morons (medical definition IQ<20)


I agree just because something is natural it is not necessarily safe. However, the phenylalanine issue is stretching the justification of the point a bit - those people have a genetic mutation in which they lack an enzyme.

In any case, if you don't go crazy about supplementing glutamine and you eat a well-balanced diet, there should not be any issues.

I think the problem arises because of competitive uptake. Some amino acids beat out others when it comes to absorption. If you supplement lots of one, it can mean you give your body less of another. This issue really should be resolved if you take your supplement independently of your meals, and once again don't go overboard.
  • 0
Celiac Disease 2007
Spinal Fusion 2006
Grave's Disease 2000


There is a way around every obstacle.

#13 gfp

 
gfp

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,311 posts
 

Posted 16 August 2008 - 12:02 AM

I agree just because something is natural it is not necessarily safe. However, the phenylalanine issue is stretching the justification of the point a bit - those people have a genetic mutation in which they lack an enzyme.

In any case, if you don't go crazy about supplementing glutamine and you eat a well-balanced diet, there should not be any issues.

I think the problem arises because of competitive uptake. Some amino acids beat out others when it comes to absorption. If you supplement lots of one, it can mean you give your body less of another. This issue really should be resolved if you take your supplement independently of your meals, and once again don't go overboard.

True, however it's oft as well to stress an obvious case since we are "educating" against the sort of advertisements that make rather wide and meaningless statements.

Almost everyone on here at some point will be told "but its organic wheat, it won't do you any harm". etc.

There are often threads on different supplements from trace elements to herbal often because someone has been "sold" a natural remedy on the grounds of "its natural so its safe".
  • 0
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (JC, De Bello Gallico Liber III/XVIII)

#14 clock

 
clock

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 05 December 2010 - 09:41 AM

Forgot to add - That last bit spoke mostly about glutamine - if it is gluten-free, it is likely to be L-glutamine, which is what was asked about and which would be what you would want to get.

True, however it's oft as well to stress an obvious case since we are "educating" against the sort of advertisements that make rather wide and meaningless statements.

Almost everyone on here at some point will be told "but its organic wheat, it won't do you any harm". etc.

There are often threads on different supplements from trace elements to herbal often because someone has been "sold" a natural remedy on the grounds of "its natural so its safe".


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: